We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is better during dinner than lunch.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Quetzales Lodge Restaurant

Los Quetzales Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Guadalupe
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Service is better during dinner than lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

There's one menu for both lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the food we had here, but there wasn't a lot of explanation as to what options, if any, there were for breakfast, or what the buffet in the middle of the restaurant was for. That said, it was a very nice, cozy atmosphere in which to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good option, some improvements to do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Like: Friendly staff, willing to help
Dislike: Poor attention in the restaurant and no hot water, just warm

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gapugliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Grown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great food. They grow most of their vegetables and herbs there. While staying at the hotel, we ate breakfast and dinner there everyday. They have a nice selection of wines to choose from. Service was not the best but the warmth and hospitality of the place in general made up for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint ski lodge atmosphere with hearty dinner options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed at the Los Quetzales hostel for one night after hiking El Sendero Los Quetzales and ate at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast the next morning. The restaurant is adorable and HUGE - very much feels like a ski lodge, with couches and books and board games. We were the only patrons for dinner, so the service was attentive and relatively quick.

The dinner menu has a lot of options and it was so nice after a long hike to have a glass of wine and big plate of pasta. I'm not sure how much of my enjoyment of the meal had to do with being bone tired, but the food was good - although not cheap ($10-15 for food, add more for drinks).

I was less impressed with breakfast. Most of us ordered the "American breakfast" which is basically a glorified continental breakfast. Your choice of cereal, oatmeal, toast with jam, scrambled eggs in a warmer, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. It was $6.50 which felt a little steep for the quality. I think you could order items from the kitchen but the menu was pretty limited.

If I were going back I'd still probably get dinner but skip breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
550 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“elaborated dishes, maybe a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

While we stayed at the hotel, we dined in the restaurant. Every day, the daily specials are indicated on a blackboard. We enjoyed the fresh local produce. Service was sometimes slow, but we weren´t in a hurry, so that´s OK.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Quetzales Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing