We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
68
5
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
5
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the coconut french toast huevos rancheros water taxi best food on the island every morning private deck cheese enchiladas bocas del toro worth the trip checking out fresh ingredients we loved our stay central america owners and staff mosquito net wonderful hosts hot water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 82 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in these beautiful cabanas. Brilliant hosts made the stay even better; from being met at the airport (despite an annoying wait as the airport customs process can be super slow if arriving internationally) to being given a custom tour of the local area with some great recommendations Ryan looked after us super well. The accommodation is perfect for a luxury treat. Highly recommended and keen to visit again!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank timhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place!! We were taken care of from the second we arrived! Ryan and Stacy are adorable and incredibly accommodating. I will, and will continue to tell friends and family of their need to visit this gem. Jumping in the water from your deck, extremely under rated. 20 minute jungle hike to a secluded beach, ummm, yes please. Food, drink, water, boats, and amazingly warm locals. What more could you ask for? I can still picture the view from the bed as you wake. See photo. The Sea Monkey is worth every penny!!

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

My wife and I wanted a Carribean getaway and somehow stumbled upon the Sea Monkey and WOW were we blown away. Not only are the bungalows massive with the best view of the sea i've had...but...the BEDS are what's up---> The most comfortable I have slept in while in the Carribean. The island itself is beautiful with everything u want to do within walking distance or a short boat ride away... but what makes this place special is the hospitality. Ryan and Stacy may be the nicest people i've met while travelling through Central America. Not only are they helpful and friendly hosts they also double as the best bartender and head chef around. By far the best meals we had while in Bocas Del Toro were right there at the Sea Monkey. Writing this review is giving me such FOMO. We are already looking to return next year. Lots of love for this place <3

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Ryan and Stacy are the most gracious hosts ever. In our three weeks traveling around Panama, they were truly the coolest people we met! Due to circumstances beyond their control we were unable to actually stay at their lodge but Ryan and Stacy took great care of us and found lovely, alternative accommodations right on the water! Their guest's well being is truly their first priority. Stacy met us at the dock on Bocas and escorted us to our place over on Bastimentos Island. Once there, Stacy gave us all the information we needed to navigate around the islands. She gave us suggestions of what to do, where to eat, and even a list of boat taxi drivers and tour guides if we wanted them. It amazed me that this couple, who were in the middle of a huge crisis, somehow found the time and energy to take care of us as if we were family and they did it all with sincere smiles! You get the feeling that they really do care about every one of their guests. They were so attentive and quick to respond to our every request. My husband brews beer and wanted to visit the local brewery. Not only did Stacy and Ryan give us clear, concise directions, they met us there and showed us around. It was awesome. A lodge is only as good as the people who run it and these people are genius at the hospitality business. If you are lucky enough to find availability here, don't hesitate, book it.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank losangelesfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2015

We really loved The Sea Monkey - Old Banks on Isla Bastimentos is a town that has the carribean vibe - very relaxed - where wari wari is spoken (creole/patois) and the black population speaks english very well - the bungalow on the water was for us fantastic - the view spectacular and the bungalow itself very stylish, hip and spacious - the restaurant also very relaxed and nice - Stacy and Ryan perfect hosts - very helpful in everything- we think we will go back one day (or maybe earlier ;)) - there is no beach, but relaxing on our own private deck was more than enough for us -

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leen3452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews