We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun, friendly tropical jungle experience.”
Review of Casa Cayuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cayuco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The web site does not do Cayuco justice. It was a perfect jungle setting and the atmosphere was friendly and accommendating. The huts and lodge were quaint and cozy. There is no air conditioning but the breeze and fans were sufficient. The food was amazing (thanks Natilie). I don't know how they get around all the challenges....
The location is story book beautiful.
Tom, the owner is very respectful of the environment and the local population. If spa resorts are your thing, this may not be for you but I would take this experience over the fancy packages.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWyogaretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 335 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

My family of fice with children ages 9,11,13 and my parents(in their early 70s) spent 3 days at Casa Cayuco. It was the highlite of our 10 day Panama trip. What a cool place Tom has created. Neat rooms, awesome food, incredible ambience and great excursions. My kids did not want to leave. We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We just returned from our stay in Casa Cayuco and our enthusiasm will hopefully take us back for another stay someday! This was a unique opportunity off the beaten track but with no lack in enjoyment of great food, excellent hosts, natural beauty and new experiences. Our family and friends took part in a project and this was definitely a bonus experience to participate in the local environment.
Ahead of our trip, we were a little worried that being there in "rainy season" would be uncomfortable, but the moderate heat and occasional rain were no problem and part of the ambience! The snorkeling was great, so this is consistent, though the best locations apparently vary through the year due to visibility. We were guided to some great views on land and sea! Just looking around the island, we felt we had hit the jackpot in the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alarna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My wife and painstakingly researched lodging around the Bocas Del Toro area prior to our trip. We settled on a four night stay at Casa Cayuco based almost exclusively on what their website promised to offer and the existing Trip Advisor reviews. There is nothing more I can add to the other reviews. They are honest and accurate and you should read them carefully. I will post some of the photos I took.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcsmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were fortunate to visit Casa Cayuca over the New Year. If fireworks on the beach, great food, much laughter, pleasant attentive staff, exploring miles of empty fine sand beach, having opportunities to explore other islands, coral reefs, hiking, surfing, snorkelling, touring chocolate farm, spotting dolphins or hanging out in a hammock enjoying the view or having a siesta are of interest then this is the place for you.
Susan & Neil Calgary, Alberta,Canada

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glaciermsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

OFF THE SCALE!!! How this is not the No1 rated hotel in Central America, let alone Bocas Del Toro is a mystery. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and were treated to an amazing four days. I can not rate this place highly enough. We had the room on the beach which looked out over the sea and the room was huge and very clean. We had the place to ourselves for a night and we were treated like royalty. Tom is a great host and the food he cooked was first class; he not too shy with serving the drinks either. Tom's Thai Red Curry is the best outside Bangkok! Tom took us out on his 'tour' and we spent the day snorkeling and kayaking at his secret location. Best day of my 6 weeks in Central America. We loved Casa Cayuco and if you up for chilling out on a quiet beach and reading in a hammock- this place is for you. 6 Stars!!!! Stephen

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TeamToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa Cayuco for 4 nights in June and it was absolutely beautiful. The manager picked us up in Bocas Town and it was about a 45 minute boat ride out to the island and the lodge. It felt very remote, especially since it was the low season so there were not many other tourists around.

We loved that you could go right off their beach to snorkel on an amazing reef. They provided the snorkel gear and a kayak that we could take out (so you wouldn't be too tired from swimming out to the reef) that we could anchor and swim around. The reef was not too far down so you could see it very clearly.

The rooms were beautiful ~ not rustic at all and we had a little porch where we could hang out and read in the afternoons.
We were also very impressed with the meals. My husband and I are vegetarians and he is allergic to wheat and Mary made delicious, thoughtful and creative dishes for every meal ~ she even made a flourless chocolate cake one night for dessert!

We would definitely go back ~ it would be perfect to visit with another couple or a small group, we were the only guests there at the time and would have liked a few more people to mix with at meals. I highly recommend it if you like to be off the beaten track and like to swim, snorkel and relax!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holaquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
11.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
408 reviews
8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
560 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Al Natural Resort
Al Natural Resort
#3 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
351 reviews
5.1 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
15.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 21 in Isla Colon
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cayuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cayuco

Address: Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $137 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cayuco is a truely unique and intimate eco-resort that sits directly on the only calm beach in the Bocas del Toro archipelago. If you crave beauty, nature, adventures on land and sea, seclusion, delicious food and local cultures - Casa Cayuco is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cayuco Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Casa Cayuco Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing