We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free Spirit Oasis(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmar Beach Lodge(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Los Secretos(Isla Bastimentos)
Book now, pay at stay
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Bastimentos Caribbean Hotel(Isla Bastimentos)
Book now, pay at stay
$50
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostal El Jaguar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$22
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$359
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eclypse de Mar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$242
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Azul Paradise(Isla Bastimentos)
Book now, pay at stay
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
349
2
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
2
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal villagemangrove snorkelingafternoon snackoctopusother guestspaddle boardingfisheco lodgeevery mealwonderful hostschocolate farmdolphin bayyoga retreatour honeymoonopen airthe great barrier reefcrystal clear waters
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 354 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

I liked this place very much because of extremely friendly hosts, clearn and beautiful beach, comfortable accommodation, delicious meals and absolutely all other things. If you are person of nature and want to relax from city and stresful every day life this place is for you. Thousand of thanks for David and Suzanne for hospitality and care!

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Klinikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Thank you for sharing your little slice of paradise with us. The combination of factors that makes this place so great are -- the location, the proprietors, the staff, the food, tasteful and thoughtful comforts -- just wonderful. Dave and Suzanne work so hard to ensure each guest's stay works for them. The food - healthy, delicious, varied - really couldn't be better. Physically everything is so comfortable, yet simple and not overdone. It doesn't feel "resorty" - just tasteful and thoughtful. Hot water is plentiful - they collect it on site, fast and reliable wi-fi for those who need and want this, endless numbers of activities, a wonderful ethos towards the land and the local people and environment. When we arrived there was just one other group of five, which made for intimate conversation and enabled lunch on the dock. We were up to 15 when we left and it still felt like a group environment. Kayaking, snorkeling, reading in a hammock or daybed, a tour of the local village, visit to a local organic chocolate farm. All good. Thank you Dan and Suzanne.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge in Rana. Worked well for one adult and two teens. Don't think there is a bad room.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TGnorcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have travelled to many resorts in the Caribbean and Central American and I don't know how anything will be able to surpass the vacation experience that Casa Cayuco has to offer. The setting feels arriving in paradise. The beauty of the lush tropical rainforest comes out to meet the vast blue sea with its coral reef and just beyond are the mangroves. Everything is within footsteps, a swim, or boat ride away. The accommodations fit in beautifully with the environment, they are simple and clean with ceiling fans and outdoor showers. We stayed in "Delphine", a small round thatched bungalow that felt like "home" very quickly. We went to sleep to the sound of the waves and awoke to the birds - it was magical. Whether you want to take it slow and easy lazing on the dock in a hammock enjoying the breathtaking views and innumerable sunsets, set out on the many excursions (favorite was mangrove snorkeling and visiting the village of the local indigenous tribe) or going out on your own in a kayak or paddle board (loved sunsets in the mangroves) there is much to keep you busy. A highlight for us were the family style meals (the food is out of this world) during which we had a chance to get to know the other guests who came from all over the world. We had never been to a resort that was this small and intimate and beforehand were unsure about communal dining - rest assured, it is a high point of the experience as a fun sense of community develops with interesting conversation. We were fortunate to have made some new friends with whom we intend to stay in touch. Suzanne & Dave (and baby Mina) are what really make Casa Cayuco work. You feel like you have been invited into the home of the most gracious hosts who try to meet your every need. They are personable and work tirelessly to provide the ultimate "off the beaten track" experience in a place that stills feels untouched by consumerism. Hopefully Isla Bastimentos will not change - all I can to is urge you to go.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JTB118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

Casa Cayuco is a protected little gem and we can only hope it stays that way. Suzanne and Dave are incredibly gracious hosts who make you feel at home, and we can't wait to go back... For a third time.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matlignel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

We stayed with Dave and Suzanne at CC for 6 days with our 3 boys (ages 12,10 and 6). We've travelled many places as a family and this was one of our best lodging experiences. CC location and huts were something out of a movie set. Open air into the jungle with captivating night noises. The food was amazing and we loved getting to know other guests. The new lounge they put in place was the perfect place to wait out a rainy afternoon. Finally, the activities for us as a family were amazing - snorkelling was superb, bat caves were a must. Our boys were going from morning to dusk, and as parents we could relax and enjoy the whole experience. Additionally you feel great about spending $ there as Dave and Suzanne do such a nice job working with the local village on development projects. And we loved Mina too!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fhmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews