We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent on all fronts”
Review of Casa Cayuco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cayuco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent on all fronts”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

There's a reason this resort has a perfect rating on Tripadvisor. For my wife, teenage daughter and me, it started a week before we even got there - owner Dave saved us from being stranded at the airport and took us out of his way to his boat where he dropped us off at our prior accommodation. Dave and Suzanne are great hosts; laid back, funny, very attentive. For example, when there were just a few of us at the resort for mealtime, they would go to the extra trouble of having us eat out on the dock - a real treat. The food was excellent. We were especially thankful for the greens and vegetables after so much rice and chicken elsewhere. The desserts were dangerous! The accommodations are also excellent; tasteful and very comfortable. The bay is very calm near shore but good for sailing the hobie cat further out; a wonderful thing to do any time of the day. Dave was very supportive of our various adventures we planned. There is good snorkelling right out front and spear fishing around the corner. The hike to Pelican Beach is beautiful and remote. They have an excellent Paddleboard, kayaks, etc. The town of Salt Creek is well worth a visit ( we went on the Caimen Trail). It is very untouched and authentic. All in all, a memorable stay.

Room Tip: The cabins on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
129
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The term "special place" gets over used but Casa Cayucos more than qualifies, at least from our experience of five days swimming, kayaking, fishing, visiting indigenous villages, exploring the surrounding rain forest and just laying about at this lovely small inn. Elegantly crafted from tropical hardwoods, the cluster of open-air casitas makes a light footprint between the forest and the sea on a tranquil stretch of island paradise off the northern (Caribbean) coast of Panama. To date, development on this island remains blessedly minimal. The rain forest hovers over Casa Cayucos with no lawn or manicured buffer between you and the jungle. There are bugs and geckos. You fall asleep to the splatter of a tropical downpour and wake up to the chatter of white faced Capuchin monkeys. The inn has a communal feel. Guests eat at one long table in the main lodge and are taken together by boat to fishing, snorkeling and surfing sites and to a nearby chocolate farm. If people want to be by themselves, the owners will readily accommodate, arranging candle light dinners for two on the inn's over water deck or leading private excursions to secluded beaches and surf spots. The food is hearty home cooking with Caribbean accents. A variety of freshly caught fish and locally grown fruit are the staples. Casa Cayuco's distinction owes much to the attentiveness of new owners Dave and Suzanne and to their genuine concern for their natural surroundings and for the well being of their employees. who arrive each day by foot path from a nearby village. The hard work and good cheer of these native islanders help make Casa Cayuco a welcoming destination.

Room Tip: Three of four cabins are virtually on the beach and benefit from sea breezes and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anselmo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Shortly after we reached Casa Cayuco for our three-day stay, there was a moment where I was alone and ended up talking to myself. It was when I realized I had found the simplicity, tranquility and perfection of paradise. Here I was, in a "living room" perched over calm tropical waters punctuated by gentle waves, with a sandbar in front of me and the jungle behind me. Our hosts, a young couple who had bought the eco-lodge only nine months before, made sure that we had three beautifully-prepared meals each day, plus an afternoon snack, made from fresh local food, such as the freshly-caught fish that the local fisherman came to the dock to sell. And they made some wonderfully-creative drinks. Each night we slept well in our simple room to the multi-layered sounds of the jungle, which our room (and our shower) overlooked. During the day, we had numerous choices of things to do, ranging from a walk into the very different world of the indigenous village nearby, to a snorkeling excursion (led by the amazing indigenous free diver Sebastian), a fishing expedition, kayaking, paddle boarding, swimming in the calm water that never seemed to get too deep, hiking through the jungle and around the island or just lolling around. Plus, we got to meet other guests who were interesting, adventurous and fun to be with. We hope to return soon with a bunch of our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days at Casa Cayuco in February. We traveled there with another couple and had a most glorious time. Dave and Suzanne are an enthusiastic young couple who are very dedicated to the enjoyment of their guests. Suzanne is a gourmet cook and, with the help of native women, prepared the most delicious meals. The meals are served either in the open air lodge or, in the evenings,out on their dock always with candle lighting - a very romantic atmosphere! Dave is very energetic and loves taking his guest wherever they want to go. We went on three snorkeling adventures with him and saw the most colorful coral, sponges, and sea life (including a yellow seahorse!) We stayed in the Delphin cabin from which we could see the beach only seconds away. Nestled in a tropical admostphere, we couldn't ask for a more ideal place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I spent four days at Casa Cayuco. And it was very strange, I felt so relaxed that I had the impression as ifI had been there for at least a week. The place is really beautyfull. And the young couple who own Casa Cayuco are just great. They do care about their guests and their staff is very nice too. The cooking is fantastic. We had even lobster one night. They suggest very interesting excursions. What I liked most was the calm at the hotel. No sand flees at the beach, no moskitos while I was there, but many fish around the islands close by. There is even WIFI and that can be a plus. Nice private shower. Electricity. Purified water. Very good matrace and nice sheets. Moskito net. I loved the place!

Room Tip: I had a bungolow, I think it is called Pelicano and the view is wonderfull, you can see the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I have just finished 3 months' of travelling around the world. Casa Cayuco was one of the very best places we stayed at for a whole variety of reasons. The location is fanatstic. The on the beach/edge of jungle setting is stunning, as was our room : we had the use of Pelicano on the beach. We swam and kayaked from the beach in stunningly blue water.
The resort is small so all the guests are on first name terms and the staff are fantastic. Suzanne and Dave are great hosts: they are very relaxed and friendly and this sums up the whole feel of the place. We loved the mangrove snorkelling: it was probably the most extraordinary snorkelling/diving we have ever done. The colours were fantastic and we spotted a yellow seahorse as well. The trip over to the Zapatillas Islands is also highly recommended. The food was great : the peanut butter cheesecake for pudding one night was as heavenly as the display of stars from the beach. The generous wine pour at dinner as advertised is just that and Suzanne mixes a mean cocktail too ! We were very sad to leave after 4 nights though I felt totally relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights, in one of the beach front houses. If we could rate this place 6 stars we would. Everything was perfect, the hosts, Sue and Loydd, the staff, the food, the scenery, the trips, the other guests - we felt like being at home. The food made by Sue was just amazing. Unique and so tasty and with a variety - just incredible. The trips offered were perfect, boat trips to the islands for a day, snorkeling, paddeling, hiking into the rain forest, on the island or just relax. We did everything and did enjoy the unique location far away from Bocas town. (Boat ride to Bocas is expensive, but also not necessary). Unfortunatly Sue and Loydd have left the property to other hosts, so we cannot judge the new hosts. But the loacation and the place is the same, so this is what we can definatly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TitschMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
11.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
8.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
361 reviews
7.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
440 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cayuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cayuco

Property: Casa Cayuco
Address: Punta Vieja, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cayuco is a truely unique and intimate eco-resort that sits directly on the only calm beach in the Bocas del Toro archipelago. If you crave beauty, nature, adventures on land and sea, seclusion, delicious food and local cultures - Casa Cayuco is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cayuco Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Casa Cayuco Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing