We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Isla Bastimentos
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
428
14
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
428
14
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate farm bat cave open air other guests mr kelly pre breakfast chocolate tour fresh muffins tamales bahia honda making chocolate jungle lodge local school red frog beach delicious lunch gracious hosts an amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 443 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

I’ve had the pleasure to spend 3 nights in La Loma and be attended by the amazingly attentive staff and have to mention Jose who is not only service oriented but communicative and ridiculously comic
La Loma in Bastimentos island is the place to find your true self and dedicate a real quality in a silent and remote place in the middle of the Jungle where you’ll be surrendered by local people, and most importantly local animals like sloths, frogs and different insects and mammals - only accompanied by soundtracks of nature. A place to find tranquility and good food made by the people of the island and served deliciously 3 times a day at the place, all fresh, exotic, and natural to blow your senses and reveal yourself to something different and unique.
The whole environment is so cozy and the staff make you feel like family! The evergreen trees and vegetation with all the animals is just magical, seems like being thrown away to a deserted island just to be able to disconnect from the urbanity and normal life for the vacation you won’t forget! Thank you all!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank sharonmjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

I absolutely love La Loma! The food here is is just amazing! Almost everything is grown on the property. The property is just fantastic and has beautiful walking trails. The staff is super friendly and does everything they can to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. They went above and beyond for my crew when we stayed here. I can’t say enough nice things about them! Lo Loma is one of my favorite places to visit!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

We, a family with two kids 12 and 9, stayed at La Loma for two nights. This was THE highlight of our trip! There is no wifi which was a blessing and got the kids away from their screens, the communal meals make you interact with the other guests and staff and we had many interesting and fun discussions, exchanging everything from travel tips, local and global politics and how to minimize our enviromental impact as a tourist. We took a snorkelling and boat tour to Zapatillos islands and got really lucky when a nest of sea turtles were hatching and we got to help the baby turtles to their first swim. Mr Kelly, Jose and Ariel all gave us an unforgettable memory of the jungle, the wildlife and of the Caribbean Panama. All the best and thank you!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mattias Gillis ... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

The initial inspiration for booking at La Loma came from our 14 year old who was researching places of interest and natural beauty on the Caribbean side of Panama. Being a lover of horticulture, he was taken with the prospect of visiting a chocolate plantation (having previously visited tea / coffee plantations in Sri Lanka). The opportunity to stay in an open air lodge surrounded by the jungle canopy and the possibility of having sloths and monkeys as neighbours was the deciding factor.

From initial contact and questions of availability to transport logistics when traveling from the Pacific coast, Zabrina was outstanding in her efficiency and warmth. Arriving at the jetty surrounded by mangrove trees and having Ariel accompany us to the main lodge whilst explaining what was growing along the way, was just a taster of the passion and knowledge of all those who make La Loma what it is.

The architecture and design of the villas was beyond expectations, from the beautiful wooden furniture and floorboards, to the bedside lamps and strategically placed hammocks. For anyone who appreciates interior design in keeping with the surroundings, La Loma will surely not disappoint. The bathroom was spacious, well appointed and in keeping with the high standards of the bedroom area. Pictures do not do the lodges the justice they deserve.

Those who fear insects and other things that live in the jungle, have no need to worry as there were no unwanted interlopers and mosquitos can be repelled by the coils provided. On the other hand, we did have two sloths ‘hanging out’ directly outside our room and a troop of monkeys passing by on occasion. Leaf cutter ants were seen marching along on the main path minding their own business and of course not forgetting La Loma’s in-house pets, this is a place for those who appreciate the natural world and wildlife.

Food was amazing in its freshness and seasonality, and second helpings not unknown. The produce from the land being made into homemade jams, chutneys, condiments, juices etc. all speaking for the larger vision of sustainability that La Loma represents. The pre-dinner cocktail of the day a wonderful way to bring guests together in conversation prior to sitting down for a meal together. A most special touch as mentioned by others, is the pre-breakfast box delivered first thing in the morning which only goes to further indicate the level of hospitality practiced.

The chocolate tour was enlightening and Mr. Kelly’s knowledge and enthusiasm for the trees and plants growing on the island truly inspiring. For those with a wish to experience something slightly more daring, the tour to the bat cave was also marvelous.

Thank you to everyone at La Loma (including the little cheeky chappy Adonis) for making our three days on Bastimentos the best of our time in Panama.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank HumairaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

We stayed four nights at la loma - and every day was something special. The lodge was stunning and the range of things you can do are plenty - thus the days went by quite fast.
Our personal highlight was the hot chocolate to start the day as well as the food - So many amazing and creative dishes with ingredients right from the garden served in this fantastic enviroment is something you do not easily forget! We will keep these days in very good memory!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alena7543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews