We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to the Bocas airport on Christmas Eve, and were greeted by the very friendly Mr. Kelley. We took a small motor boat to the lodge, and on the way Mr. Kelley gave us a mini tour naming out all the islands around us in his wonderful island accent.

I don't want to spoil too much, but I will say that the arrival at the dock was a magical experience. Stepping into the jungle, greeted by the dogs and the lodge owners, Henry and Marguerite, made us feel instantly welcome.

We stayed at the back lodge, so we got to walk past all of the rooms on our way. Each cabin was well spaced from the next, and all offered quite a good amount of privacy.

Despite being surrounded by jungle and nature, and despite there being no walls, the cabin was incredibly clean. The amenities are very well thought out, with a beautiful bathroom, two hammocks, and a very comfortable bed. They also bring coffee or tea with homemade muffins to your doorstep in the morning, which we thought was an amazing touch.

Dinner is served family style with the owners and other guests, which we really enjoyed. The food and custom cocktails were also delicious.

We unfortunately only had one night because that's all the availability that they had over the Christmas break. We booked almost two months in advance too, so if you are planning to go in December, book early!

They offer lots of great activities, from adventurous treks to relaxing massages. Our time was limited so we asked for their top adventure recommendation for the day. With their recommendation, we did the bat cave tour, which ended up being our favorite adventure during the 5 nights we spent in Bocas.

We are definitely going back to Bocas again, and we will be sure to plan ahead so that we can enjoy several more nights at La Loma.

Thank you Henry, Marguerite, Lucho, Mr. Kelley, Milton, Mike, Kitty, and all the staff and guests that we met for an unforgettable experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oaklandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
92
199
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Linda and I loved our dinners, loved our cocktails and we loved our "rancho" that we stayed in with our 22 year old daughter. Margaret and Henry were terrific hosts. Such high quality food, perfect portions and just wonderful! We are foodies and we loved it! Our guides were so gracious and knowledgeable. We went on beautiful snorkeling trips and island adventures and bat cave explorations.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We only spend two night here, but it was the two best nights ever! Everything was so Perfect, the welcoming, the room, the food, the services. All the smal extra things like the trey with muffin and coffe at 7 in the morning outside of your door, the little survival kit in the room, made the stay very plesent!
Of coures the owner Henry and Margret were super nice and always avilable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikSandberg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I know there are nothing but rave reviews about La Loma – believe them: this is an unbelievable place in a beautiful location. The “ranchos” are so comfortable (even the mattresses are wonderful), private, large and the views are beautiful! The food is nothing short of gourmet cuisine – which is remarkable when you remember where you are. Best of all is the real connection with your environment – every effort is made to allow you to experience the jungle without compromising your comfort. And pray for a night of rain so you can relish the sound on the roof – absolutely heavenly! Daytrips are always available – to the bat caves (very cool), to beautiful white sand beaches, snorkeling....But even more amazing are the hosts - Margaret, Henry, Brie and Jack have to be some of the nicest, most interesting, most caring people we have ever met! I wish I could invite them over for dinner!! Our kids, ages 16, 20 and 21 loved every minute of it. But do know, this isn’t a Four Seasons and if that is what you are looking for, this isn’t your place (or as my daughter said, if you need a room with four walls, maybe this wouldn't work for you) You need to want to experience a real environment – and enjoy a little rustic lodging and the sounds of the jungle at night time... We loved it - can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woody creek
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at la loma for a week and it was by far the highlight of our three weeks in the bocas del toro area. The food is amazing, the people are great, the location feels like its secluded but its close to everything as well. Lots to do around there, trips to secluded beaches, snorkeling, bat caves, trips to town, hiking, spending time exploring the farm, relaxing and reading. We had a sloth in the trees in front of our cabin the entire time we were there. Start with la loma and build your trip around it. They have the names of other cool places to stay around there as well that was very helpful for us.

Room Tip: All the "cabins" are good, we stayed in #1 as its the shortest walk from the lodge and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I took our 14 year old grandson on a trip around Panama. I can honestly say that La Loma was our favorite place. We arrived on Christmas day and felt as if we had joined our long lost family for dinner. You could not ask for better host than Henry and Margaret - as well as their adorable son and their great dogs. Sitting in the platform cabin in the middle of the jungle , drinking the Panamanian coffee that is delivered to your room early each morning, with a sloth just feet away is beyond describable. We hiked with Roger and the dogs, Goose and Jelly (love them) through the jungle where we saw several troops of monkeys, sloths and too many red frogs to count. We ended up on one of the most beautiful beaches that we have ever seen. Very pristine and not a person in sight. I could go on and on. Beautiful place with beautiful people. Oh, don't forget to see the "Bat Caves"!

Room Tip: If you like remote, wildlife, simple yet elegant jungle open-air rooms then this place if for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a stay that I will talk about and remember for many years to come. I always say that you only leave this world (hopefully) with your memories and experiences. Henry and Margaret have created an atmosphere that breeds good memories.

When we were there, we stayed four nights. For all but one day, Jack and Bree were filling in as hosts, since Margaret's parents were visiting. They were both great hosts. Jack was always friendly and concerned about us and how we were doing. Bree was the chief of the all important lunches and dinners, all of which were fantastic....tasty and healthy. Even our otherwise fussy 14 year old survived with Bree's great creations.

During our days, we did the full day "Long Beach" hike with Mr. Kelly. It was several miles through the jungle and along deserted beaches. We walked nearly the whole way barefoot as our footwear kept getting stuck in knee deep mud. It was a blast....we laughed it off as an experience. Mr. Kelly barely got his shoes dirty! One day we did the "Bat Cave" tour with Roger and his young son and nephew. Our 14 year old will remember this excursion for many years. It was surreal very cool. One day we spent time at the pre-school which La Loma supports on the property as well as a neighbouring school. We interacted with the kids which was great fun. The same day, we went fishing with Roger in a traditional manner. I caught a couple small fish and while trolling caught a 1 pound barracuda.

We saw a variety of wildlife including monkeys, sloths, birds, bats, interesting bugs, several types of ant. In went for a stroll and watched for a long time a looooong column of army ants march past me. It was fascinating.

We stayed in cabin 4 which was one of the higher cabins. It was nice though as it was bright and there were very few bugs. In 5 days, I barely had any bites and never wore bug spray. The worst issue was when I stepped on a colony of fire ants....but this was on the beach on the other side of the island.

You won't be disappointed with this special place. We even felt at home as they had a cat and two dogs on site....we were starting to miss our cats, so Cat, Jelly and Goose filled the void.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
5.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
391 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
449 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
363 reviews
4.2 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm

Property: La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Address: Bahia Honda, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience something a little different. La Loma is a working cacao farm that also accepts a small number of overnight guests.vIf you want to escape everyday life, relax in comfort in a hillside rancho overlooking a secluded bay, participate in tropical farm life or engage in a range of activities designed to bring you closer to the natural environment and local communities of this spectacular island, La Loma is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Hotel Isla Bastimentos
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing