We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Nearby Hotels
Red Frog Bungalows(Isla Bastimentos)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Eclypse de Mar(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmar Beach Lodge(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Los Secretos(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bubba's House(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azul Paradise(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free Spirit Oasis(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
393
13
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate farmbat cavehomemade muffinsother guestsopen aircacao treeschocolate dessertsingredients grownpre breakfastevery morningchocolate tourbahia hondatravel experiencejungle lodgetamalesred frog beachmaking chocolate
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 407 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

La Loma met or exceeded our expectations in every way. The food was excellent, the rooms are gorgeous, well designed and very private, nestled in the forest with minimal disruption to the surrounding environment. We were lucky enough to have the 3rd cabin, at the top of the hill. Though it is a hike, it is completely worth it for the privacy and gorgeous setting. (Especially recommended for couples - this is the most remote cabin and farthest from the main lodge). The owners have a great attention to detail and clearly have invested much time and energy in every aspect of the lodge, including environmental concerns, needs of the local people, fair labor practices, etc.

The guides and excursions were excellent and well priced. Zapatillos snorkeling trip ends with a trip to an idyllic island with crystal waters and white sands that is one of the best we have been to anywhere. The bat cave adventure was superior in every way and one of the highlights of the trip. However, if the weather is bad, you won't have a bad day just hanging out in your lovely room and reading for the day - the solar powered fan and mosquito nets make things comfortable and the setting cannot be beat.

The resident dog and cat are friendly and well cared for and it was nice to get to interact with them. The only "negative" about this place was that the owners have a small child (3) who is quite loud at times, with a few tantrums, etc. Though the owners kept him out from underfoot most of the time, he does live there, and if you don't like kids, just know going in that there is a resident kid and also apparently kids often stay at the lodge. We were lucky enough not to have any there when we visited but given the community dining, if you visit when kids are there you will have no way to avoid them, so plan accordingly - if you are going to honeymoon or do not want to have to deal with kids on your vacation inquire ahead of time. Aside from that, the setting was serene and you can enjoy the sounds of wildlife and nature around you.

Room Tip: Cabin three is the most remote!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went to La Loma for four nights last July during a two week trip to Panama. It was the rainy season, and there was quite a bit of it at La Loma while we were there - but it didn't stop us from having an unbelievable time. We stayed in the fourth cabin (the one most recently built). It was in a secluded spot with a lot of privacy and beautiful views. The bathroom was particularly nice, as well (yay outdoor showers!). The coffee and muffins delivered up the hill to us each morning were a huge hit, as were the three amazing meals each day and the fun cocktail each night. We went on the snorkeling trip to the Zapatillas, which I highly recommend. We became great friends with the other guests at the hotel and still keep in touch with them. I think that's a testament to the atmosphere of La Loma overall! Go there. You will love it!

Room Tip: Cabin 4 is the best!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was an amazing experience. Henry and Margaret are the perfect hosts. The rancho's are beautiful and the staff are so friendly. We love that it is quant with only 4 rancho's and enjoyed the communal dining with the other guests. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent! They certainly go above and beyond and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at La Loma. The setting is so peaceful and the view from the cabin overlooking the bay was beautiful. Henry and Margaret were very friendly and provided great recommendations. The food was all prepared on the spot using local ingredients and was very tasty and healthy. Even the chocolate deserts seemed healthy since they were made from the chocolate from their farm.... We had to leave earlier than planned as my wife had a minor medical condition that came up but Henry was terrific in helping us change our flights, etc. Overall a wonderful stay in a beautiful place. The beaches on the island were relaxing and the bat cave tour was fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korcoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were overwhelmed by the personal service we enjoyed as guests by our gracious hosts. When the small boat sent for us arrived at the tiny dock surrounded by mangroves, we walked along handmade walkways to a jungle paradise we had dreamed of all winter long. Our bags were brought up the steep winding trail of steps leading to our treehouse platform deep in the hillside jungle. A luxurious bathroomand outdoor shower were in the back, a glorious open air deck overlooked the bay through the trees.. Monkeys wre spotted in the morning, and I woke up our kids, snuggly asleep in ther beds surrounded by netting. The staff quietly delivered a hot thermos of delicious Panamanian coffe, fresly squeezed juice and home made muffins... They were left quietly on a shelf outside our door.... We watched the sunrise before taking the lovely jungle walk down to the main open air lodge for a full breakfast and the best granola in the world. Outings included a river tour in a local dug out canoe to explore a cave, dolphin spotting along the way... Snorkeling trips, and a scenic 10 minute boat ride to red frog beach for awesome boogie boarding(you can rent them there for 5 bucks.....
Dinners were served at the long communal table in the main lodge. Most everything was made using naturally sourced fish and organic produce..... First class food served so simply while dining with a handful of interesting fellow guests... Our kids ages 8 and 14 loved every minute, the daily adventures as well as the quiet moments we spent on our deck. We would love to return to be so pampered and welcome again... Next time we hope to spend an entire day in our treehouse!

Room Tip: Bugs were not a big deal... We brought too much spray, and the owner provided coils to light at dusk and dawn to foil the no see ums.... Electrical outlets were available to charge our gadgets( for reading!) at the lodge... Electric light solar wad available in the treehouse, as was hot water in the gorgeous outdoor shower.....
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews