We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous forest eco-lodge!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 1, 2012

La Loma met or exceeded our expectations in every way. The food was excellent, the rooms are gorgeous, well designed and very private, nestled in the forest with minimal disruption to the surrounding environment. We were lucky enough to have the 3rd cabin, at the top of the hill. Though it is a hike, it is completely worth it for the privacy and gorgeous setting. (Especially recommended for couples - this is the most remote cabin and farthest from the main lodge). The owners have a great attention to detail and clearly have invested much time and energy in every aspect of the lodge, including environmental concerns, needs of the local people, fair labor practices, etc.

The guides and excursions were excellent and well priced. Zapatillos snorkeling trip ends with a trip to an idyllic island with crystal waters and white sands that is one of the best we have been to anywhere. The bat cave adventure was superior in every way and one of the highlights of the trip. However, if the weather is bad, you won't have a bad day just hanging out in your lovely room and reading for the day - the solar powered fan and mosquito nets make things comfortable and the setting cannot be beat.

The resident dog and cat are friendly and well cared for and it was nice to get to interact with them. The only "negative" about this place was that the owners have a small child (3) who is quite loud at times, with a few tantrums, etc. Though the owners kept him out from underfoot most of the time, he does live there, and if you don't like kids, just know going in that there is a resident kid and also apparently kids often stay at the lodge. We were lucky enough not to have any there when we visited but given the community dining, if you visit when kids are there you will have no way to avoid them, so plan accordingly - if you are going to honeymoon or do not want to have to deal with kids on your vacation inquire ahead of time. Aside from that, the setting was serene and you can enjoy the sounds of wildlife and nature around you.

Room Tip: Cabin three is the most remote!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 376 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went to La Loma for four nights last July during a two week trip to Panama. It was the rainy season, and there was quite a bit of it at La Loma while we were there - but it didn't stop us from having an unbelievable time. We stayed in the fourth cabin (the one most recently built). It was in a secluded spot with a lot of privacy and beautiful views. The bathroom was particularly nice, as well (yay outdoor showers!). The coffee and muffins delivered up the hill to us each morning were a huge hit, as were the three amazing meals each day and the fun cocktail each night. We went on the snorkeling trip to the Zapatillas, which I highly recommend. We became great friends with the other guests at the hotel and still keep in touch with them. I think that's a testament to the atmosphere of La Loma overall! Go there. You will love it!

Room Tip: Cabin 4 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was an amazing experience. Henry and Margaret are the perfect hosts. The rancho's are beautiful and the staff are so friendly. We love that it is quant with only 4 rancho's and enjoyed the communal dining with the other guests. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were excellent! They certainly go above and beyond and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at La Loma. The setting is so peaceful and the view from the cabin overlooking the bay was beautiful. Henry and Margaret were very friendly and provided great recommendations. The food was all prepared on the spot using local ingredients and was very tasty and healthy. Even the chocolate deserts seemed healthy since they were made from the chocolate from their farm.... We had to leave earlier than planned as my wife had a minor medical condition that came up but Henry was terrific in helping us change our flights, etc. Overall a wonderful stay in a beautiful place. The beaches on the island were relaxing and the bat cave tour was fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korcoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were overwhelmed by the personal service we enjoyed as guests by our gracious hosts. When the small boat sent for us arrived at the tiny dock surrounded by mangroves, we walked along handmade walkways to a jungle paradise we had dreamed of all winter long. Our bags were brought up the steep winding trail of steps leading to our treehouse platform deep in the hillside jungle. A luxurious bathroomand outdoor shower were in the back, a glorious open air deck overlooked the bay through the trees.. Monkeys wre spotted in the morning, and I woke up our kids, snuggly asleep in ther beds surrounded by netting. The staff quietly delivered a hot thermos of delicious Panamanian coffe, fresly squeezed juice and home made muffins... They were left quietly on a shelf outside our door.... We watched the sunrise before taking the lovely jungle walk down to the main open air lodge for a full breakfast and the best granola in the world. Outings included a river tour in a local dug out canoe to explore a cave, dolphin spotting along the way... Snorkeling trips, and a scenic 10 minute boat ride to red frog beach for awesome boogie boarding(you can rent them there for 5 bucks.....
Dinners were served at the long communal table in the main lodge. Most everything was made using naturally sourced fish and organic produce..... First class food served so simply while dining with a handful of interesting fellow guests... Our kids ages 8 and 14 loved every minute, the daily adventures as well as the quiet moments we spent on our deck. We would love to return to be so pampered and welcome again... Next time we hope to spend an entire day in our treehouse!

Room Tip: Bugs were not a big deal... We brought too much spray, and the owner provided coils to light at dusk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

La loma jungle lodge, bocas - April 2012
This place was fantastic. The owners were so friendly and hospitable as were every other member of staff. The food presented to us each night was amazing. The price we paid in April 2012 was $200 per night which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. Both breakfast and dinner were always amazing as was lunch if you ate at the lodge. Dinner was gourmet each night which was amazing given you are in the middle of the jungle! The only negative thing we could say about this place (and this is being rather picky) was the the packed lunch provided on days when we were on a full day activity did not live up to the standard of the other meals but then again it is a packed lunch.....
Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

All I can say is WOW. La Loma Jungle Lodge exceeds expectations! Wow, wow, wow! Henry and Margaret, thank you for a marvelous time!

It's hard to convey just how special La Loma is: The location is gorgeous and dense with vegetation and wildlife; Henry and Margaret are remarkably gracious hosts; and the ranchos are exquisitely beautiful--thoughtfully designed for maximum exposure to the jungle while retaining guest privacy and comfort.

Every morning we kicked back on the beds or hammocks and sipped coffee while enjoying what we called "monkeyvision" -- a distant parade of capuchin monkeys climbing and leaping from tree to tree!

After full breakfast down at the lodge (eggs if you want them, Henry's homemade bread, yogurt, granola, juice, coffee, etc), Henry provides an overview of activities available to guests each day. Whatever you decide (whether to set forth on an adventure or lay low on a hammock), Henry and Margaret make it happen according to your own schedule, and set you up with snacks or a meal to tide you over if needed.

One of the highlights for our family was a trip to the bat cave led by Roger and Tio. On the boat ride there, they cut the engines once the waterway narrowed, and we silently glided through pristine, lush jungle, listening and watching for birds, sloths and caimans. It was a breathtakingly beautiful experience! As for the caves, the trip involves wading through chest deep water at times--and with bats overhead! What an adventure! It's not far to the interior pool where you can swim in deep water or jump off a ledge for the big splash.

Back at the lodge, Henry offers a special cocktail each evening, and the ensuing meal is a true culinary delight. The guests all hit it off during our stay, so dinner each evening lasted a good three hours as conversation by lamplight lingered on ... so enjoyable ...

Our kids say this visit to Panama was the BEST vacation we've had--we are ready to go back!! Thank you for the memories, Henry, Margaret, Lucho, and everyone at La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
5.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
554 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
466 reviews
7.4 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Al Natural Resort
Al Natural Resort
#3 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm

Address: Bahia Honda, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $215 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience something a little different. La Loma is a working cacao farm that also accepts a small number of overnight guests.vIf you want to escape everyday life, relax in comfort in a hillside rancho overlooking a secluded bay, participate in tropical farm life or engage in a range of activities designed to bring you closer to the natural environment and local communities of this spectacular island, La Loma is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Hotel Isla Bastimentos
La Loma Jungle Lodge And Chocolate Farm Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing