We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILLNESS AND NATURAL BEAUTY ABOUND AT TRANQUILO BAY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston Massachusetts
15
Reviewed May 13, 2006

We both really wanted a break from civilization and lots of r and r. Tranquilo Bay turned out to be a perfect get-away. We had a lovely cabana overlooking the water with beautiful lush green surroundings. What's great about staying here is that you can be as laid back or active as you like and it will all be fine. We chose to spend most of our days taking a boat trip to a secluded beach recommended by Jim, one of the proprietors. We would have to say having a stunning white sand beach with crystal clear, blue-green, warm, warm water all to yourself is really a treat. Tranquilo Bay would pack us up a huge cooler with lunch and plenty of treats and drop us at the beach in the morning and pick us up before dusk set in. The owners are extremely accomodating and knowledgeable. They will take you on adventuresome hikes through the rainforest, snorkeling along the reefs, or kayaking wherever you want. On a boat ride into Bocas from Bastimentos we even saw a pod of dolphins frolicing in the water. The accomodations are extremely comfortable and clean. NO BUGS. It's great because even though you are on a secluded island you still have phone and internet service readily available. As for meals they do a good job and will accomodate your dietary preferences as much as possible. The owners Jim, Renee and Jay are extremely gracious. We are already planning a trip back to Tranquilo Bay and the stunning islands of Bocos del Toro. Petra and Cheryl from MASS

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 123 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2006

Everybody said "why Panama?" But once we showed them the pictures of Tranquilo Bay, it was understood immediately why we went. Our vacation last month could not have been any better.

Our hosts at Tranquilo Bay thought of everything. There are three hosts, Renee, Jim and Jay. Renee manages the resort and oversees everything from reservations to the gourmet meals. Jim and Jay are two alumni from the University of Texas, who dreamed up and built Tranquilo Bay from the ground up. They are also the activity and tour guides while you are at Tranquilo Bay. All three of our hosts could not have been any nicer or more personable. By the time we left Tranquilo Bay we felt like we had made new friends.

Our first contact was with Renee, who arranged everything for us, so from the moment we stepped off the plane we were pampered and taken care of every step of the way. Tranquilo Bay is on an island off the mainland of Panama, so we had to go from Panama’s International Airport to the National airport that services all of the islands. Needless to say we were a little intimidated at the thought of transferring through multiple airports and not knowing the language. Our worries vanished once we arrived and were met at the airport by our most gracious and friendly guide, Judy Tovar. Judy has a guide company and takes care of the visitors to Tranquilo Bay. She is full of information and will take you around Panama and treat you as a friend. Judy took us to the National Airport and stayed with us until our tickets, baggage etc, were all squared away and we were ready to get on the plane. We had so much fun with Judy that we arranged to spend a personal day with her, after we left Tranquilo Bay.

We next flew over to the island, which was a beautiful flight, and arrived at the small airport on Isla Colon. We were greeted by Jim and taken to Tranquilo Bay via boat. The place was breathtaking. My husband and I joked about the fact that it was so perfect it reminded us of Disney World, except it was real. Everything detail about the resort had been thought of, from the dock on the bay, where you can watch the tropical fish swim in and out of the coral, to the private cabanas on the hill, where you can lay in the hammock and watch the birds build their hanging nests in the trees and you view the beautiful Caribbean ocean.

Our days were filled with adventure. Our hosts planned our activities so that each day was different. We went snorkeling along a small island where the fish were abundant and of course the water we as clear as clear as a pool. We went kayaking up a river jungle to go cave exploring. We went to a chocolate farm and tasted cocoa right off the tree. We explored and hiked a beautiful island with the most magnificent deserted beach I have ever seen. We kayaked in the bay accompanied by playing dolphins. We went to an Indian village and made friends with the natives and were impressed with how welcoming and open the people were. Each day brought something new and we were always finding new animals and orchids and fish and things we had never seen or experienced before. Each evening we would sit on the veranda of the lodge and have cocktails and horesd’oeuvres and regal of our adventures before dining on gourmet meals and enjoying the company of our hosts and new friends. I will never forget this vacation of a lifetime nor the friends we met.

9  Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Our group of six men has chosen a Caribbean site to Scuba Dive annually for the last 15 years. Tranquilo Bay was the most interesting and pleasant of any place we have stayed. And their story is fascinating! They literally created this first class resort from the Panama jungle. It is clean, modern, and beautifully constructed. There is plenty to do, including visiting a native village. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
17
Reviewed March 22, 2006

We had a blast on our recent stay at Tranquilo Bay. First of all, the area is stunning with no shortage of activities to keep you busy (fishing, snorkeling, jungle hiking, kayaking, white water rafting, beach louging, etc.).
The staff did a first class job taking care of us and the food was excellent. Our cabana was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were very impressed with their attention to detail.
We would highly recommend you and your friends visit the good folks at Tranquilo Bay on your next trip to Panama, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

The name Tranquilo Bay suits the property. A 30 minute boat ride from Bocas, you are secluded and remote from everything. the property sits on a hill overlooking a calm bay where dolphins feed and play in the evening and manta rays swim by the dock in schools. Renee, Jim, Jay and their staff work hard to please their guests and welcome them into their home. the accomodations are upscale,clean and comfortable. the food is wonderful, it's like a dinner party every night! our girls loved tranquilo bay and we always felt safe. we kayaked, snorkled, hiked and relaxed on a pristine beach. the accomodations are more expensive than most, but you pay for the ambiance and the hard work of the owners and staff!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tbrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2006

My mom and I stayed at Tranquilo Bay for 3 days and 3 nights in the middle of January. It was definitely the highlight of our time in Panama. The cabanas were very nice, not to mention air conditioned. However, we didn't spend a ton of time indoors! Jim and Renae were wonderful hosts. During our stay, Mom and I went swimming, snorkeling, hiking, and kayaking. We went for hikes through the jungle and observed sloths, red frogs, and tons of birds. There are unlimited activities to keep you busy for a lifetime. For my mother and I, our time at Tranquilo Bay was the perfect place to engage in all the activities that we love. In addition, the food was incredible. The chef prepared wonderful meals, including fabulous seafood dishes. I cannot say enough good things about Tranquilo Bay. I will definitely be back in the near future!!

Stayed: January 2006
10  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cave Springs, Arkansas
19
Reviewed January 26, 2006

My Wife and I stayed at Tranquilo Bay for 5 nights and 6 days in Jan 06. We had a wonderful time. Jay and Jim run a great place and we really enjoyed ourselves. My wife and I were extremely pleased with the level of service we received. The cabanas were excellent, the level of fit of finish was unbelievable for the location. Tranquilo's chef was outstanding. We ate better every night on Bastimentos than we did in Panama City. The owners are onsite and it is more than apparent they care whether you are having a great time. Renee and her staff took excellent care of us.

We snorkeling off Tranquilo's dock and out of some coral in the bay. Our favorite activity there was tooling around in the sea kayaks in the bay. We saw lots great animals including poison dart frogs,sting ray, sloth, star fish, hugh assortment of tropical fish, and a monkey, not to mention copious amounts of birds.

It was extremely peaceful there. As of matter of fact one night we were out on the dock with the lights turned out. The stars were so bright you could see the milky way. Being from a population center, I had never seen that before.

My wife and I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
8.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
516 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
162 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
366 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge

Address: Facing Zapatilla Cayes, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $293 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilo Bay is a deluxe lodge providing comfort and adventure in the jungle. Our packages include activities, delicious meals, beverages, transportation and very comfortable accommodations. Contact us directly for reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Bay Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing