We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location for a totally new adventure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful owners!! Ramone led us on a guided tour of the rainforest where we spotted monkeys, red frogs, hummingbird swimming holes and a Mangrove Cookoo.
It's a must do vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmanc92974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 124 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just got back from a four day stay at Tranquilo Bay and can't wait to go back. Renee, Jim, Jay, kids and staff are very welcoming, very knowledgeable and very accomodating. Food is great and the atmosphere is special. Every effort is made to make each guest feel comfortable and welcome. A wide range of activities is available for the individual and/or the family ranging from nature walks through the jungle with on-site naturalists to Tarpon fishing with Jim and Jay. (We caught 7). A trip to remember!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texastraveler011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I was at the lodge for about a week.What a gem!!
There are 6 cabins: they are extremely comfortable and well appointed: great beds,a large bathroom with hairdryer, coffee pot, cookies,soap, plenty of towels and an insulation system that works to perfection, so even in high heat and humidity all one has to do is turn the air conditioner on for 15 minutes, turn it off and switch to the overhead fan.
The cabin’s porches have a sitting area, a hammock, and overhead fans. From the cabins you can walk down through a forested area to the main House which has a comfortable dining room, a bar, and a sitting area. In your short walk you will encounter birds,and other creatures.
The meals were well designed making use of some of the local products in very interesting and flavorful ways.The empanadas were the best I have ever had anywhere,with a light crispy crust....Just the thought of them makes my mouth water!!!!
The staff is very well trained and very attentive without being intrusive. The two guides Ramon and Natalia employed by the lodge were very knowledgeable, delightful to be with, and very kind making every effort to show you what nature has to offer.
The owners, Jim and Renee, along with Jay, offered true Texas hospitality. Jim and Jay are incredible boatmen. They made every effort to make it as easy as possible for us, and paid attention to every possible little details to make their guests comfortable, and making sure that we were properly hydrated bringing along coolers filled with water bottles, and other drinks on every single excursion.
There are a variety of activities available: from bird watching ( which was our main activity) on the island as well as the mainland,kayaking along the shore, photographing birds, butterflies, frogs, and bugs,visiting a local one man shade grown cocoa plantation and chocolate factory, trips to Chiriqui Grande,a trip along an old banana canal, a trip to watch, and photograph Red Billed Tropicbirds on an outcrop in the bay.We did not get a chance to go to the beach, as it was not the focus of our trip, but I hear that the nearby beaches are great.... This is not a place for party lovers, but it is a fabulous place if you want contact with nature, some adventure,and quiet times. I could go on an on....all I can say is that I am planning to go back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solobirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Tranquilo Bay over Christmas break and had a great time. This is our type of vacation and the owners really want you to be happy and have fun. They go out of their way to accommodate excursions that you want to do. My son didn't get enough surfing in so they took him out another day and had someone wade on a boogie board waiting for him to get his fill. The food was wonderful and they were so nice to provide extra meals for my growing teenager!
The owners are so very nice it is amazing they don't get tired repeating their interesting story. Well, maybe they do, but they don't show it. Their kids are lovely and we had a great time socializing with the other guests and the owners. This was truly a relaxing vacation. This would not be for a person who is used to a marble flooring, sterile 5 star experience. You must go into it with adventure in mind and no need to bring the stilettos!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skingKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We love these "off the beaten path" places and there are lots out there to choose from. We are fortunate to have been to quite a few. This is the only one we have ever visited twice, and I am sure round three will happen in the future. Almost all activities were different from our first visit and all were fantastic! The grounds are lovely, the cabins are comfy and beautiful, and the food is top notch. The entire staff works hard to see that you are well cared for. The variety of activities is almost endless - something for everyone. You can do as little or as much as you desire. Did I mention the hammocks? You really should check this place out!

Room Tip: ask for cabin 4 - queen size bed and its at the end with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topsailpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our week at Tranquilo Bay was perfect from start to finish. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the choice of activities perfectly balanced for both interest and relaxation. Even just sitting on the porch of the cabin is an experience with sloths and parrots and woodpeckers and hummingbirds just feet away in the surrounding trees. Renee, Jim and Jay made us feel like part of the family. Their children are delightful. Ramon and Natalie are excellent guides and warm, interesting people whose and enthusiasm and expertise as guides made our expeditions on the island and mainland unforgettable. All the staff were attentive, helpful and genuinely kind. It would be hard to find a more perfect place for a stay in Panama than Tranquilo Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy226_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It's already been said. The whole gang at Tranquilo Bay feels like family. The property is magical. We almost never return to the same place twice, but are already planning a visit again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
8.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
372 reviews
3.5 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge

Address: Facing Zapatilla Cayes, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $335 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilo Bay is a deluxe lodge providing comfort and adventure in the jungle. Our packages include activities, delicious meals, beverages, transportation and very comfortable accommodations. Contact us directly for reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Bay Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing