We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at Tranquilo Bay over Christmas break and had a great time. This is our type of vacation and the owners really want you to be happy and have fun. They go out of their way to accommodate excursions that you want to do. My son didn't get enough surfing in so they took him out another day and had someone wade on a boogie board waiting for him to get his fill. The food was wonderful and they were so nice to provide extra meals for my growing teenager!
The owners are so very nice it is amazing they don't get tired repeating their interesting story. Well, maybe they do, but they don't show it. Their kids are lovely and we had a great time socializing with the other guests and the owners. This was truly a relaxing vacation. This would not be for a person who is used to a marble flooring, sterile 5 star experience. You must go into it with adventure in mind and no need to bring the stilettos!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skingKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We love these "off the beaten path" places and there are lots out there to choose from. We are fortunate to have been to quite a few. This is the only one we have ever visited twice, and I am sure round three will happen in the future. Almost all activities were different from our first visit and all were fantastic! The grounds are lovely, the cabins are comfy and beautiful, and the food is top notch. The entire staff works hard to see that you are well cared for. The variety of activities is almost endless - something for everyone. You can do as little or as much as you desire. Did I mention the hammocks? You really should check this place out!

Room Tip: ask for cabin 4 - queen size bed and its at the end with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topsailpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our week at Tranquilo Bay was perfect from start to finish. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the choice of activities perfectly balanced for both interest and relaxation. Even just sitting on the porch of the cabin is an experience with sloths and parrots and woodpeckers and hummingbirds just feet away in the surrounding trees. Renee, Jim and Jay made us feel like part of the family. Their children are delightful. Ramon and Natalie are excellent guides and warm, interesting people whose and enthusiasm and expertise as guides made our expeditions on the island and mainland unforgettable. All the staff were attentive, helpful and genuinely kind. It would be hard to find a more perfect place for a stay in Panama than Tranquilo Bay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy226_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

It's already been said. The whole gang at Tranquilo Bay feels like family. The property is magical. We almost never return to the same place twice, but are already planning a visit again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

The level of service we experienced at Tanquilo Bay far exceeded our expectations. We had Renee make all of our arrangments inside Panama and they were implemented flawlessly. The cabins are above average (especiallly for an eco-resort) with excellent showers, comfortable beds, and air conditioning. Not only are Ramon and Natalie superb birding guides, they were funny, interesting, and attentive to all of our needs. Jim, Renee, and Jay and their kids made us feel at home immediately and there were lively and interesting conversations at every meal. The grounds our beautiful and the birds are awesome. Not only did we bird at the resort, we were taken to the mainland several times and enjoyed a wonderful boat trip through a canal. We highly recommend Tranquilo Bay to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Tranquilo, surrounded by the jungle and rain forest, with a very nice cabin/villa set in verdant gardens. The owners have created a splendid place - much with their own sweat and toil - and obviously enjoy all that they do.
Pick up at the airport, and a 25 minute boat ride to Tranquilo and suddenly you're there - walking through the mangroves up to the main building where a cold beer and warm welcome awaits you.
The two resident naturalists, Ramon and Natalia, are great enthusiasts - and I was especially grateful when Natalia rescued me following over enthusiastic paddling, I managed to overturn mid-ocean!
A great place - perhaps our main constructive suggestion would be placing some benches around the large gardens so guests could more easily quietly enjoy seeing and hearing the birds and the extraordinary three toed sloths.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have found what might be one of the few remaining Shangri-La's in the world. Tranquilo Bay is just such a place.....few people, no roads, and no TV. This plush island is an unbelievable place to spend the morning or afternoon absorbing nature at its best. Birdwatching is awesome here! You can also snorkel, kayak, swim or just explore the amazing flora and fauna.The owners were helpful, friendly and hospitable and their bright and well-behaved children were delightful. Our guide Ramon was extremely knowledgable, but most of all, he had genuine warmth and real dedication to preserving the local ecology. He was a pleasure to be with. All in all, it was an enjoyable and exciting vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
7.5 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.5 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge

Property: Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Address: Facing Zapatilla Cayes, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilo Bay is a deluxe lodge providing comfort and adventure in the jungle. Our packages include activities, delicious meals, beverages, transportation and very comfortable accommodations. Contact us directly for reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Bay Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing