We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Eclypse de Mar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$110
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free Spirit Oasis(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palmar Beach Lodge(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Selina Red Frog(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostal Bastimentos(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal El Jaguar(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Red Frog Beach Island Resort(Isla Bastimentos)
$251
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Azul Paradise(Isla Bastimentos)
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Al Natural Resort(Isla Bastimentos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
138
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation towerbat cavebirding tripcontinental dividebird watchingfishlaundry serviceother guestsplants and animalsbirding groupchocolate farmpanama cityvictor emanuelsnorkeling kayakingbird towerbird guideincluding sloths
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 141 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our week at Tranquilo Bay was perfect from start to finish. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the choice of activities perfectly balanced for both interest and relaxation. Even just sitting on the porch of the cabin is an experience with sloths and parrots and woodpeckers and hummingbirds just feet away in the surrounding trees. Renee, Jim and Jay made us feel like part of the family. Their children are delightful. Ramon and Natalie are excellent guides and warm, interesting people whose and enthusiasm and expertise as guides made our expeditions on the island and mainland unforgettable. All the staff were attentive, helpful and genuinely kind. It would be hard to find a more perfect place for a stay in Panama than Tranquilo Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy226_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It's already been said. The whole gang at Tranquilo Bay feels like family. The property is magical. We almost never return to the same place twice, but are already planning a visit again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The level of service we experienced at Tanquilo Bay far exceeded our expectations. We had Renee make all of our arrangments inside Panama and they were implemented flawlessly. The cabins are above average (especiallly for an eco-resort) with excellent showers, comfortable beds, and air conditioning. Not only are Ramon and Natalie superb birding guides, they were funny, interesting, and attentive to all of our needs. Jim, Renee, and Jay and their kids made us feel at home immediately and there were lively and interesting conversations at every meal. The grounds our beautiful and the birds are awesome. Not only did we bird at the resort, we were taken to the mainland several times and enjoyed a wonderful boat trip through a canal. We highly recommend Tranquilo Bay to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Tranquilo, surrounded by the jungle and rain forest, with a very nice cabin/villa set in verdant gardens. The owners have created a splendid place - much with their own sweat and toil - and obviously enjoy all that they do.
Pick up at the airport, and a 25 minute boat ride to Tranquilo and suddenly you're there - walking through the mangroves up to the main building where a cold beer and warm welcome awaits you.
The two resident naturalists, Ramon and Natalia, are great enthusiasts - and I was especially grateful when Natalia rescued me following over enthusiastic paddling, I managed to overturn mid-ocean!
A great place - perhaps our main constructive suggestion would be placing some benches around the large gardens so guests could more easily quietly enjoy seeing and hearing the birds and the extraordinary three toed sloths.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have found what might be one of the few remaining Shangri-La's in the world. Tranquilo Bay is just such a place.....few people, no roads, and no TV. This plush island is an unbelievable place to spend the morning or afternoon absorbing nature at its best. Birdwatching is awesome here! You can also snorkel, kayak, swim or just explore the amazing flora and fauna.The owners were helpful, friendly and hospitable and their bright and well-behaved children were delightful. Our guide Ramon was extremely knowledgable, but most of all, he had genuine warmth and real dedication to preserving the local ecology. He was a pleasure to be with. All in all, it was an enjoyable and exciting vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews