We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss you guys already”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Miss you guys already”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It's already been said. The whole gang at Tranquilo Bay feels like family. The property is magical. We almost never return to the same place twice, but are already planning a visit again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The level of service we experienced at Tanquilo Bay far exceeded our expectations. We had Renee make all of our arrangments inside Panama and they were implemented flawlessly. The cabins are above average (especiallly for an eco-resort) with excellent showers, comfortable beds, and air conditioning. Not only are Ramon and Natalie superb birding guides, they were funny, interesting, and attentive to all of our needs. Jim, Renee, and Jay and their kids made us feel at home immediately and there were lively and interesting conversations at every meal. The grounds our beautiful and the birds are awesome. Not only did we bird at the resort, we were taken to the mainland several times and enjoyed a wonderful boat trip through a canal. We highly recommend Tranquilo Bay to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Tranquilo, surrounded by the jungle and rain forest, with a very nice cabin/villa set in verdant gardens. The owners have created a splendid place - much with their own sweat and toil - and obviously enjoy all that they do.
Pick up at the airport, and a 25 minute boat ride to Tranquilo and suddenly you're there - walking through the mangroves up to the main building where a cold beer and warm welcome awaits you.
The two resident naturalists, Ramon and Natalia, are great enthusiasts - and I was especially grateful when Natalia rescued me following over enthusiastic paddling, I managed to overturn mid-ocean!
A great place - perhaps our main constructive suggestion would be placing some benches around the large gardens so guests could more easily quietly enjoy seeing and hearing the birds and the extraordinary three toed sloths.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have found what might be one of the few remaining Shangri-La's in the world. Tranquilo Bay is just such a place.....few people, no roads, and no TV. This plush island is an unbelievable place to spend the morning or afternoon absorbing nature at its best. Birdwatching is awesome here! You can also snorkel, kayak, swim or just explore the amazing flora and fauna.The owners were helpful, friendly and hospitable and their bright and well-behaved children were delightful. Our guide Ramon was extremely knowledgable, but most of all, he had genuine warmth and real dedication to preserving the local ecology. He was a pleasure to be with. All in all, it was an enjoyable and exciting vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend some of our Christmas at Tranquilo Bay. It was awesome! We hiked (with friendly knowledgable guides,) kayaked, surfed, visited bat cave, ate very well and were just so well looked after! The staff is friendly, helpful And the owners helped us plan this wonderful holiday to every detail from getting a guide in Panama City when we arrived to the flight to Bastimentos and even our ride back to the the airport in Panama City to leave and EVERYTHING in between! They are warm and welcoming, knowledgeable accomodating and fun. It was adventurous but relaxing at the same time because you can choose your options/agenda with your guide each day. Our family loved this place and the people who made it so special for us!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We just got back home after spending a week at Tranquilo Bay Eco Resort. Honestly, it was like going to visit friends. Everyone is so nice and helpful. I searched and searched online for a "Ocean/Jungle" location to stay, I couldn't have picked a better place! I loved that some of the jungle paths were paved, walking safely barefoot in the jungle does something for one's soul! And the fact that you can go from a jungle hike right down to the water and snorkel in 5 minutes was amazing! This is a perfect location for those looking for peace while being able to go birding, hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, and- even spelunking! Everything in one place! Paradise! I have Flora & Fauna photos on my flickr, look up Contacting_Lens- Panama Photo Set.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are lovely, all have a great view and A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Given so many wonderful places in the world to travel to and enjoy we rarely go back to he same place. Tranquilo Bay is the only resort we have ever decided to visit again and are so glad we did. Our first visit was 3.5 years ago with our 3 boys. This trip was with one of the boys. Given that the place is close to perfect, we were thrilled to see that very little has changed. Tranquilo Bay is a very special place. It feels like you are visiting your favorite relatives who you haven't seen in a long time and have the most incredible house that you can enjoy without having to share it with anyone else. It offers luxury in the middle of nowhere with so much to see and do or nothing to do whichever your preference.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
7.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
4.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
149 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocolate Farm
La Loma Jungle Lodge and Chocola...
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
361 reviews
6.5 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
440 reviews
4.4 mi away
Garden of Eden Inn
Garden of Eden Inn
#1 of 1 in Isla Solarte
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge

Property: Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge
Address: Facing Zapatilla Cayes, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilo Bay is a deluxe lodge providing comfort and adventure in the jungle. Our packages include activities, delicious meals, beverages, transportation and very comfortable accommodations. Contact us directly for reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Bay Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Tranquilo Bay Eco Adventure Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing