We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chef (also owner) is One Amazing Chef!”

The Firefly Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Firefly serves Thai/Caribbean food in an open air, outdoor setting directly on the Caribbean Ocean. We source locally and organically whenever possible and believe in using ingredients readily available to make up our menu. Because of this philosophy, our menu items may change daily. Contact us for special Occasion or private dining! We can create an amazing atmosphere! Contact at least 24 hours in advance if you wish to do a tasting menu, starting at 5 courses. Full bar, Cash only and reservations required. CLOSED TUES/WED
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The chef (also owner) is One Amazing Chef!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A bit of a hike to get to, thru some interesting areas, but worth the culinary experience prepared by chef Lauren and waiter/bartender/et al Ryan (owners from CA). Set on a wood deck right off the rocky beach under palm trees. Bring a flashlight to find your way back to the boat dock, that is, if you are staying in Bocas. (We stayed on site).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    26
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wow. We ordered three of Lauren's dishes and loved each one. Her Asian-fusion cooking blends well with the overall ambiance of the inn. Would definitely recommend the gnocchi and shrimp combo, as well as her homemade coconut ice cream with black sea salt. So. Good. If you're lucky enough to stay here, her (included) breakfasts are killer. The staff is friendly and helpful. Reservations are required, it's a small place. Try one of Ryan's cocktails and enjoy the sunset.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellove4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randle, wa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great drinks...”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We ended up eating almost every one of our meals here on our five day stay. The menu has great variety! The drinks were great! Presentation was perfect! :) we loved everything we ate! Our favorite was the popcorn fish and the green curry!!! Guaranteed you'll love it here!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thebilodeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal in Bocas”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Owners are cool. Its pretty much just them serving, cooking, and making yummy drinks. Their BnB was on House Hunters which is a fun fact. The food is well made and cooked. I couldn't of asked for a better piece of steak on the island. The red meat in the area isn't always so good. They have really yummy drinks. They are different from the usual local beer or frozen drink in other bars in the area. The location is really cool. It is on the other side of Basti. The outdoor seating is comfy and well decorated. Overall one of my favorite meals in Bocas and surprisingly cheap for the quality of the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Island Oriental Gourmet”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Celebrating my wife's birthday in Bocas Town we followed the advise of Trip Advisor's reviewers and visited the unique restaurant on Bastimentos Island. From Bocas Town the water taxi ride was 10 minutes. Although the directions on their website are good, the locals directed us to the 5minute walk alongside the beach to Fireflies. What a unique setting at this small tropical retreat on the water!

The service was great with cocktails of refreshing muddled cucumber and vodka. Presenting a unique menus of small offerings, we selected the Thai steak salad, which was a great start followed by oriental pulled pork. While enjoying an Argentinian white wine, we continued with the braised ribs and shrimp satays. All the dishes were amazingly accented by Oriental and Thai flavors that jump in your mouth! We have not found this quality, taste, or presentation in Panama!
In Bocas...DO NOT MISS FIREFLY!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emilie5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Firefly Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Carenero Island, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to The Firefly Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing