We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make it your first meal of the trip”

The Firefly Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Firefly serves Thai/Caribbean food in an open air, outdoor setting directly on the Caribbean Ocean. We source locally and organically whenever possible and believe in using ingredients readily available to make up our menu. Because of this philosophy, our menu items may change daily. Contact us for special Occasion or private dining! We can create an amazing atmosphere! Contact at least 24 hours in advance if you wish to do a tasting menu, starting at 5 courses. Full bar, Cash only and reservations required. CLOSED TUES/WED
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“make it your first meal of the trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Whether you're staying at the Firefly BnB and you have a chance to try Ryan's infamous banana pancakes, pineapple smoothies, or the huevos rancheros with homemade pita chips for breakfast OR you're simply stopping by for dinner to try out Lauren's tasty calamari, thai-inspired salads or the fresh fish or rib entrees for dinner.. it's a win win all around. I haven't had a thing on the menu that I didn't enjoy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hayesm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    26
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The food at the Firefly was amazing. We sampled many items and drinks and all were delicious. The ahi tuna and tuna tartar were our favourites. Sitting on the deck next to the ocean adds to the experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Creative-delicious-beautiful presentation-atmosphere-interesting signature drinks-great staff the best overall on Bastimentos

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheyennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Over the Top Delicious!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We took a water taxi in a rain and thunderstorm from a neighboring island and had a bit of trouble finding our way to this place in the dark (Get directions before you go). After arriving looking and feeling like a couple of wet poodles, we thought, "This better be good.", and It was better than good. It was over the top fabulous. On a deck overlooking the beach, we enjoyed sharing 5 delectable tapas dishes, each unique and beautifully presented. It's a little bit Asian, a little bit Caribbean, a lovely fusion of flavors. Loved the seared tuna. Actually, I loved everything!

It was surprising to find such a top-notch restaurant on this remote island. The chef is a professional from California. Do yourself a favor, and try this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEAR TORONTO, ONTARIO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Filet Mignon to die for !”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you are travelling all the way to Bastimentos, or even Bocas Del Toro, do not miss the Firefly. Lauren is a professional chef and it sure shows when your meal arrives. Every detail has been meticulously catered to. For such an isolated locale, the food, the presentation, and even the ambiance are off the charts. Imagine yourself sitting at a table on a deck with the breeze in your hair and the sound of waves gently lapping at the shore. Then the Tapas style meals arrive and the aroma of fine food fills your nostrils. The first bite is the best. Scrumptious...Hmmm hmm. $12.00 for the Filet Mignon..are you kidding me! You will savour every bite! Ryan makes you feel right at home as well. The service was the best in the area. We ate here more than once.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELWAYRULES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Firefly Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to The Firefly Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing