We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firefly Bocas del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a place that you just don't want to leave. The location is perfect, the vibe is great, people are friendly and the food is the best around. There is more than enough to do while doing absolutely nothing is very tempting.

We would go back tomorrow.

Have a good one!

Elke & Bart

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart_vanden_hout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
You both were so fun! We loved having you, chatting etc. Thanks for the kind words and we would love to have you back so you can "do nothing" on our deck anytime haha ! Hope you are both well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    19
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
123
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the perfect sanctuary nestled on the coast of Isla Bastimentos. It doesn't get much better than this. Lauren and Ryan welcomed us with such a warm greeting and delicious cocktail that we instantly felt comfortable and relaxed. The property is beautiful, the charming mason jars and light decorations were incredibly thoughtful and sweet. Our room was pristine and was simple yet cozy and quite perfect: towels, chaise lounge, ceiling fan. We had the big room with a deck, looking out to the water... Hammocks, outdoor lounges, delicious meals prepared by Chef Lauren...
If you are going to Bocas del Toro, make sure you stay here for a completely wonderful trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thanks to you ladies for staying with us! Such a small world that our mutual friends led you to us. We had a blast having you although next time, make it longer :) Again,thanks so much and we hope to see you in the future!

L & R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Firefly, Ryan and Lauren, and the other guests we met at this incredible B&B were the highlight of our time in Bocas and Panama. The rustic and laid back island vibe is as good as it gets. We stayed 5 nights and that wasn’t enough. Our room was clean and had everything that we needed, including a ceiling fan that kept us cool and a mosquito net that fit perfectly over the canopy (if you’ve slept under a few mosquito nets, you know what I mean). The location of the Firefly is great with wonderful views from both the private patio area of Room 1 and the large deck, which is a great place to hang out and meet other guests. The location is quiet while still being close enough to town to grab a boat when needed. Lauren and Ryan know all the great spots and were always available to answer questions or just talk about how they made their way to Panama. There is plenty to do around Bocas and Bastimentos, but we found ourselves not wanting to leave the comfort and pure relaxation of the Firefly.

The food was easily the best that we had while in Panama! Lauren is an amazing cook and Ryan makes a great breakfast and cocktails…I second the Vidal recommendation!! We had many meals at the Firefly and every dish was fresh and very tasty! They were also very accommodating with my wife’s unique dietary needs. We loved the Thai influence and the creativity of the changing menu!

Lauren and Ryan have built something special! If you’re like us and steer clear of large all inclusive resorts and like to hang out with the locals (people and critters) this is your type of place. We loved Bastimentos and the Firefly so much that we are planning our next trip!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KCbeachbum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hey guys! Thanks so much for the review! We had so much fun having you and our day off with all of the guests was a highlight for us as well so thank you for that. Hopefully, you WILL be back soon and we can help you get started with your own little caribbean dream. Take care!

L&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I would have given more stars, if I could!

The wife and I just got back from a five day/four night stay at The Firefly on the island of Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro, Panama.

We are new Panamanian residents, having moved to Boquete from Texas, earlier this year. I'm in my early sixties and my wife...isn't!

We are both scuba divers. This was our third trip to Bocas del Toro, but our first adventure on the island of Bastimentos to go diving and I must say that we struck gold!

Owners Ryan & Lauren have managed to carve out a little slice of nirvana among the coconut palms and the almond trees. The setting is near perfect, with the waves rolling in close enough to dip your toes in.

The Firefly's main attraction is, without a doubt, the sweet spirit of the team that runs this little Caribbean jewel. Both Ryan and Lauren are soundly committed to creating and maintaining an atmosphere for their guests that blends with the swaying palms and the crashing waves like a Crosby, Stills and Nash harmony.

From the time we first set foot on "Cholo's Dock" (a little bit of an adventure unto itself) and were greeted by Renee, Ryan's "man Friday", until our departure five days and four nights later, we were treated more like close friends than paying guests.

Indeed, by the time we left had, in fact, forged what will undoubtedly be a lasting friendship.

The rooms were comfortably "rustic" and neat as a pin. Lauren's magic in the kitchen is absolutely amazing. Ryan is no slouch, either, particularly when it comes to breakfast. They are expanding as I write this, with a couple of new cabañas to be completed soon.

Excellent food, a great bar & deck, clean & comfortable lodging at a very fair price, beautiful setting run by beautiful people. What are you waiting for? We're headed back, soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
You two were just the kindest, most down to earth couple ever! We loved having you and getting to know both of you. We can honestly say that we will see each other again and we will for sure let you know the next time we are in Boquete. Thanks again for loving what we have created, it means the world to us.
L&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a really incredible time in Bocas, and The Firefly had a lot to do with it. We were lucky enough to get 3 nights at Firefly during our week in Bocas Del Toro.We would have loved to stay longer, but we waited too long to book and it was already booked up. This place is perfect. Lauren and Ryan are fantastic hosts and really gave us an insider scoop on the area and what to do. The property is set in the jungle right on the water and there were lizards, red frogs, blue crabs and exotic birds a few feet outside our wonderfully and simply decorated room. The fan was all we needed to keep cool at night under our mosquito net (which we didn't really need since the breeze on the point seems to keep them at bay). Every day, we could choose to set out on an adventure or just relax on the deck in a hammock or lounger and read and listen to the good tunes coming from the bar.
If you are not lucky enough to get a room there, you can make it up to yourself by going in for lunch or dinner. The drinks are top notch (ask for a :Vidal" if it's not on the menu yet) and Lauren will be busy as a bee in the back whipping up some of the most delicious and creative food you will set your taste buds on. The menu changes daily, and is worth the trip over to Bastmentos for the food alone, never mind the amazing atmosphere and friendly hosts.
If you did get lucky enough to get a room there, Ryan's breakfast will inspire you to wake up with a hangover and haul your butt out of bed. Delicious and so creative. We loved eating with the other guests at the bar turned breakfast bar.
The nice thing about a place like this is that the guests that it seems to attract are usually very friendly and we really enjoyed chatting and having drinks with everyone at the Firefly, including our hosts. It's so lovely and intimate, we really didn't want to leave.
If you read their website, and know what they are all about, and it's up your alley, you will not be disappointed. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Try and grab Room 1 or 2 for ocean view, Room 3 for privacy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks so so much for the awesome review! We loved having you both AND enjoying a day out with you all. We would love to have you back anytime. Hope you, the hubby and the little ones are doing well :)

L&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathewra
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

People are great, owners Ryan and Lauren - and hilarious little dog Finley - who seems to think he owns the place - are very nice. Lauren is a fantastic cook, Every meal she made was superb. We had the beet salad every day. Ryan does a great job with breakfasts too.

The view from the room - in bed looking out at the sea through the glass doors was wonderful.

There was construction going on - success and expansion but the sound of power saws during the day made the place far from idyllic. They knew the construction was going on before we got there - just outside our door. They were closing a week later - perhaps they could have waited to do all that sawing until the guests were gone. But when Ryan noticed any of that going on during breakfast he had the workers stop. And during the day most of the time we were out adventuring so weren't actually too bothered by it.

The trip to the bat cave was world class fun. a boat trip through mangroves, going about walking speed through the shallow channel. Then a hike with the guide, who showed us plants and wildlife along the way. The guide provided LED headlamps and we waded into the bat caves. Beautiful caves with stalactites and stalagmites of all shapes and sizes, and bats sleeping on the walls and cave roof. Depending on rainfall, it can get deep. There were places at least neck deep and a small waterfall into a pool at the end. The pool there is very deep - you can safely jump off a rock ledge into the pool.

We arranged for a boat for a snorkeling and fishing trip. The same boat which took us to the bat caves. $70, The boat provided masks and snorkels (we had our own masks) but the trip ended up to be just snorkeling - no fishing ("I would have had to get sardine bait, etc.) so the price for a snorkeling only trip was too high. We went to a spot with a buoy where many boats tie off and the snorkeling was nice,. We also had a 15 minute snorkel just off shore on the way back. But overpriced for a snorkeling only and disappointing wince we asked for fishing specifically 2 days earlier and found out after the snorkeling.

We got advice from Lauren and Ryan ahead of the trip on booking flights to Bocas from Panama city and a few other things. Listen to *everything* they tell you!

Soon there will be more than 3 rooms soon with the extra 2 cabins they are building - and they are positioned to both have great views. This place will just get better and better and it is already fantastic.

Room Tip: Get room with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks so much for the review! We really enjoyed having the two of you and hope your continued trip on in Panama with friends was amazing as well. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing, and I'm so happy that I chose to stay here during my short time in Bocas del Toro/Isla Bastimentos. If you go to their website, it explains in really good detail how to get to The Firefly from the Bocas airport, which was really helpful for me because I was traveling alone. When you get to the "Cholo's dock," it is a little bit of a trek (about a 5-10min walk) to get to the Firefly, and you do have to carry your luggage there through a small pathway, BUT.... It is totally worth it! You end up at this quaint little place that is right on the water and somewhat secluded and private, with amazing views and amazing people (Lauren and Ryan).

I arrived early in the morning and Ryan greeted me with a warm smile and started making me breakfast before I even was able to check into my room. Their food is awesome, and both Lauren and Ryan are really great cooks! I think I ate dinner there very night and tried something new each time, and was always very impressed with my food. My friend actually recommended this place to me because she thought their food was amazing!

The rooms are clean and simple, but the decor is very cute and has a great feel to it. Two of the rooms have an awesome view of the large porch and the water. The third room has a view of the jungle, which is also great. The large porch has several cozy chairs and a hammock, which are perfect for relaxing and reading a book or socializing.

The Firefly is a short distance from Red Frog Beach and Bocas Town, and you can get to both with about $3-$5 USD. The prices to stay there and for the food are very reasonable as well.

Ryan and Lauren have put so much of their time and energy and love into this place, and they really care about making their guests happy. So I want to give them some love by telling everyone how great they are and how awesome The Firefly has turned out to be! I wish them the very best, and I hope to come back and visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maszak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFireflyBocas, Owner at The Firefly Bocas del Toro, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Hey lady! Thank you so much for the review. We really appreciate it. We had a blast having you and of course hanging out and dancing to classic rock tunes! You must come back and check out the bungalows. Would love to have you!


L&R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
441 reviews
8.7 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firefly Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firefly Bocas del Toro

Property: The Firefly Bocas del Toro
Address: Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firefly is a small, boutique B&B located on Bastimentos in Bocas Del Toro Panama. We are located directly on the Caribbean. Our restaurant/bar is open 6 days a week in high season. Hours in low season vary. Breakfast is included in your stay. We are a 3 minute walk from Basti Town (Old Bank) and an 8 minute boat taxi ride from Bocas Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Firefly Bocas Del Toro Panama/Isla Bastimentos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing