We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Firefly Bocas del Toro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
$75
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$39
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$102
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
178
21
5
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
21
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair bungalowrum punchheather and seangreen currybocas del toromain deckoutdoor showersound of the wavesgnocchiincluded in the room priceceiling fanchic stylecorvina cevichenice attentionnatural soapswooden deckboutique resort
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 210 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Lauren & Ryan have created a perfect retreat in paradise. My friend and I spent 3 nights at the Firefly and did not want to leave! The Firefly is a 5 min walk from the main docks and faces a beautiful and peaceful beach. The rooms are simple yet modern (iPod speakers, comfortable beds etc). We stayed in room 2 which has a great front porch overlooking the patio and the water. Ryan whips up delicious breakfasts every morning (included in the room rate) and Lauren creates fantastic meals for lunch and dinner. The owners are
friendly, super chill and incredibly helpful. They helped us plan our time in Bocas, arranged a bat tour and gave us great recommendations. Everyone on Basti knows and loves them - you will too. Go and enjoy it - We miss it already!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saminish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are staying at Bastimentos, I think this is one of the nicest places I saw around. It is, luckily, a bit far from the main "road", so you don't get the noise of the town.
We stayed for 3 days and it was quite a relaxing time: we spent a lot of time reading and just hanging out on the deck. Lauren and Ryan are really nice and willing to offer advice whenever you want, and that makes a difference. The food, as most people has said, is really good, from breakfast to dinner you can eat tasty thai dishes and, of course, drink some cocktails or beers with a nice view.
Rooms are clean and have the basics, and you sort of get a hype vibe just being on The Firefly.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room that didn't have a view, and it was a good choice, since it is much more private.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Bocas and loved staying at the Firefly. The rooms were spacious and clean and the views were amazing. Lauren and Ryan were excellent hosts and very helpful with activities and planning. The food was amazing and we couldn't wait for our next meal. The place only has three rooms so book well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here last febuary for 3 nights and had a very good time. The weather at the island was bad at that time but we loved the island and the firefly. Ryan and Lauren are very welcomming and try to make you feel welcome. They had some good suggestions about acitvities during the bad weather and were very informating.
The room we stayed in was small but very cosy and stylisch. We loved the bed and the ipod doc in the room. Because there are only three rooms in this B&B the atmosfere is very personal and petit. But it was excatly what we wanted en expected.
The food in the restaurant was one of the most delicious we had during our 2 month trip true central america!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the firefly and didn't want to leave. The place was everything we expected and more. The room was super nice, clean and the bed was comfortable. The balcony was definetely a plus and the views were amazing. We didn't need AC. the fan was more than enough to keep us comfortable at night. What I liked the most was the super huge deck and the bar ;). Oh and the food was out of this world. Lauren is a super cook and Ryan makes the best drinks!!! We couldn't asked for better hosts.

This place only has 3 rooms which makes it even more personal. The other guests were just like us. Travellers at heart and always looking for the next adventure. My husband and I have been travelling around the world and this place is definitely on top of our list. It truly is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melmarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews