We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing slice of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Firefly Bocas del Toro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Firefly Bocas del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Lauren & Ryan have created a perfect retreat in paradise. My friend and I spent 3 nights at the Firefly and did not want to leave! The Firefly is a 5 min walk from the main docks and faces a beautiful and peaceful beach. The rooms are simple yet modern (iPod speakers, comfortable beds etc). We stayed in room 2 which has a great front porch overlooking the patio and the water. Ryan whips up delicious breakfasts every morning (included in the room rate) and Lauren creates fantastic meals for lunch and dinner. The owners are
friendly, super chill and incredibly helpful. They helped us plan our time in Bocas, arranged a bat tour and gave us great recommendations. Everyone on Basti knows and loves them - you will too. Go and enjoy it - We miss it already!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    17
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
117
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are staying at Bastimentos, I think this is one of the nicest places I saw around. It is, luckily, a bit far from the main "road", so you don't get the noise of the town.
We stayed for 3 days and it was quite a relaxing time: we spent a lot of time reading and just hanging out on the deck. Lauren and Ryan are really nice and willing to offer advice whenever you want, and that makes a difference. The food, as most people has said, is really good, from breakfast to dinner you can eat tasty thai dishes and, of course, drink some cocktails or beers with a nice view.
Rooms are clean and have the basics, and you sort of get a hype vibe just being on The Firefly.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room that didn't have a view, and it was a good choice, since it is much more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Bocas and loved staying at the Firefly. The rooms were spacious and clean and the views were amazing. Lauren and Ryan were excellent hosts and very helpful with activities and planning. The food was amazing and we couldn't wait for our next meal. The place only has three rooms so book well in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here last febuary for 3 nights and had a very good time. The weather at the island was bad at that time but we loved the island and the firefly. Ryan and Lauren are very welcomming and try to make you feel welcome. They had some good suggestions about acitvities during the bad weather and were very informating.
The room we stayed in was small but very cosy and stylisch. We loved the bed and the ipod doc in the room. Because there are only three rooms in this B&B the atmosfere is very personal and petit. But it was excatly what we wanted en expected.
The food in the restaurant was one of the most delicious we had during our 2 month trip true central america!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the firefly and didn't want to leave. The place was everything we expected and more. The room was super nice, clean and the bed was comfortable. The balcony was definetely a plus and the views were amazing. We didn't need AC. the fan was more than enough to keep us comfortable at night. What I liked the most was the super huge deck and the bar ;). Oh and the food was out of this world. Lauren is a super cook and Ryan makes the best drinks!!! We couldn't asked for better hosts.

This place only has 3 rooms which makes it even more personal. The other guests were just like us. Travellers at heart and always looking for the next adventure. My husband and I have been travelling around the world and this place is definitely on top of our list. It truly is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melmarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Firefly and loved every minute of it, particularly our time spent lounging/reading/dining on the deck overlooking the water. The deck was a picturesque place to start our day (the food is amazing, by the way!) and relax between hiking, snorkeling, and our many other adventures. Our room was cozy and our bed comfortable. And, of course, you can't beat waking up each morning to the sound of waves just a few yards away. The bathroom, while small, was plenty sufficient for our stay. But the real highlights of the Firefly were the people we met there. The owners, Ryan and Lauren, couldn't have been nicer, and it was inspiring to hear the story behind how they created the Firefly. They made excellent recommendations for local restaurants and activities, and we also appreciated that they let us use their snorkeling equipment at no charge. To address what a couple of other reviewers have said about "third world challenges," we did not find these to be a deterrent. It's Panama, not Cancun...and anyone traveling there who has done sufficient research in advance shouldn't be surprised at the ltrash issues, water restrictions, or lack of A/C. All in all, if you're looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay on Bastimentos and value atmosphere and interaction as much as a cute place to sleep and shower, this is the place!

Room Tip: While the two oceanview rooms have nice patios, the jungle-side room is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meddy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was looking for a new place to surf in Central America and a buddy recommended Bocas Del Toro. Thanks to Trip Advisor I found the Firefly and couldn't have been happier. Out of all of Central America this is the best place I have surfed or stayed and the Firefly fits in perfectly. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and priced accurately with million dollar views. The owners Ryan and Lauren are 2 fun and loving people that make you feel right at home. The Restaurant/Bar has amazing Thai style food and a fun atmosphere that inspires everyone to commingle. I had such an amazing time I returned 3 weeks later with my girlfriend and another couple. (See review below “Quiet Paradise” by kjdunne) I can't wait to return next season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Daws0n_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firefly Bocas del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firefly Bocas del Toro

Property: The Firefly Bocas del Toro
Address: Old Bank, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firefly is a small, boutique B&B located on Bastimentos in Bocas Del Toro Panama. We are located directly on the Caribbean. Our restaurant/bar is open 6 days a week in high season. Hours in low season vary. Breakfast is included in your stay. We are a 3 minute walk from Basti Town (Old Bank) and an 8 minute boat taxi ride from Bocas Town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Firefly Bocas Del Toro Panama/Isla Bastimentos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing