We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Luxury - Luxury at its best!”
Review of Al Natural Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al Natural Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Staid 2 nights there, welcomed by Michel in Bocas, and by Vincent & Martin at the lodge. Had my best nature moment in years. Why?
>Gorgeous location: remote enough to feel cut from everything, combining tropical forest and paradise like beaches; bungalows offer a dream sight and nights are a delight for your ears
>Very friendly staff (especially Vincent & Michel)
>B-E-S-T food in panama :) (thanks to the talented Vincent, nurturing his guests with a kitchen made with love, combining fresh ingredients & creative recipes from around the world.... Get your tastebuds ready :) (cherry on the cake: amazing rhum cocktails....)
>Great guests: everybody is very open & relaxed, nice sharing takes place naturally!

hope to be back soon :)

Oli (Belgium)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier_VE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 348 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

I went to this resort with my boyfriend in 2008 and loved it so much that when we decided to get married in 2011, it was the only place that he and I thought of to have our wedding. Our wedding on New Year's Eve of 2011 was the most amazing time of our lives. Michel took care of everything for us and made our wedding perfect. We will be celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary there this year and look forward to celebrating with the entire staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDHamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The service, the food and the ocean near Al Natural are all spectacular. Surprisingly, the sound of the waves at night led to some of the best sleep my wife and I have ever had on a vacation. We loved every bit of it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Obadwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My experience in Al Natural was awesome, really nice people, the location is incredible and the concept of the Hotel is really good!! I like they work with their surrounding community, building very peaceful and comfortable Bungalows with the best view ever. The food was simply perfect and a big surprise, taking into account we were in the middle of nowhere. We spent very good time with people from all over the world in a dinner table to remember. I will definitely come back in the future to be unplugged again.
Kudos to Vincent with his great humor, excellent service and of course the food!
Only missing part was the host at the airport as promised, after having a celebration the night before the person that supposed to pick us up never arrived but everything was compensated when we arrived to our final destination.
Many things to do and relax: kayaking, sailing, diving or simply enjoy reading.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank BBoscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It takes a while to get there, which usually is the whole idea of staying in a remote area… part of the fun! While sailing to Isla Bastimentos it just gets better and better. Al Natural is a beautiful place to stay for a couple of days. It is very comfortable. The cabins are so pretty, each of them overlooking the ocean. There is plenty to do around here. We went snorkelling, diving, dolphin spotting and we visited several beautiful islands. The water around here gives you a wonderful opportunity to see some of the sea life. I was surprised to find such a good spot in Panama.

Perhaps the best thing about this lodge is their food. I’m not sure if he is always around, but the kind Belgian guy Vincent turned out to be the most fantastic cook. No matter what he serves, it always tastes heavenly! Since we are vegetarian it’s not always easy to find a place to eat well, but Vincent made the most delicious dishes for us in a blink of an eye. At night dinner is served by candlelight while the cutest monkeys you’ve ever seen give notice of their presence: Western night monkeys. They will eat banana out of your hand.

Al Natural provides you with a perfect combination of seeing and doing things and relaxing. It’s so peaceful, the only sound here comes from the breaking of the waves and the insects. There are no mosquito’s to worry about, only when you set foot in the jungle, which is about 5 meters behind the cabins. So weird…

Everybody was happy around here. People enjoyed their stay, whether they stayed for only 2 days or for a longer period. It was nice to share our great experiences during the night or in the morning. Very nice location, perfectly organised by the beautiful Selva Bananito Lodge (Costa Rica) in one of their tour packages. We highly recommend to combine these two lodges! Take a look at their new website for further details.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groenepepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After 5 weeks of backpacking through Colombia and Panama my girlfriend and I wanted a treat to end our travels and this was the perfect place to completely unwind. Although a lot more expensive then other places we had stayed during our trip, we felt it was money well spent. The Al Natural is in a very beautiful and remote location on Isla Bastimentos with carefully designed cabins right on the beach. The food was absolutely delicious and we felt very well looked after. I just wished we could have stayed a little longer.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Al Natural Resort ended up being so much better than we expected! It was like we were in a magazine on top destinations or something. The rooms on the water were fantastic. We stayed in the 'Natural House' and did the all inclusive with food and alcohol. Vincent, the manager, was so helpful and friendly and the food was absolutely amazing! I'm talking three and four course meals (mostly seafood). I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to feel like you are secluded in the wilderness with an ocean view. Listening to the waves and monkeys at night while falling asleep was so surreal. Great for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: Natural House is the best room, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
11.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
435 reviews
8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
549 reviews
1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
317 reviews
5.1 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Natural Resort

Address: Old Point, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $242 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Al Natural Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Natural Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Al Natural Resort Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing