We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and concept but staff an owner are unprofessional” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmar Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palmar Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place and concept but staff an owner are unprofessional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The whole eco lodge place and concept is really good, the tents are well done, beds very comfortable and you just hear the sound of the jungle and the sea. The location of course is also great. It's good for surfing since the beach is oriented to open sea. For snorkeling there are better places elsewere in Bocas since the sea is rough. You can follow trails along the beach to other beaches of the island but it can be sometimes difficult since the jungle arrives right to the sea. There are no hiking trails inland, just some horse trails that get really muddy and lead to the luxury villas that are in the Red Frog project.

The negative points are that staff and owner are unprofessional. I agree with another reviewer that they spent most of time talking to each other or entertaining themselves. They were not friendly to us, specially the owner that didn't speak to us the whole time. The kitchen is dirty and bad organized. We had our food spoiled and the staff was unapologetic about it blaming the monkeys, we are in the jungle bla bla bla, when in reality was due to the dog of the owner. We saw it happened to other people as well when we were there. And this was really annoying since you cannot buy bread an other food in the island, just a few snacks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarTentLodge, Owner at Palmar Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
As the owner you referred to in your review (Kristin), I would like to begin by apologizing for my lack of personal attention to you during your stay. During the two nights you were staying with us I was trying to run the operations of the tent lodge on my own (as Chris had just left for a trip to the US) while I was incredibly sick with the stomach flu. Between trying to make sure that everything ran smoothly (boats coming and going, batteries being charged, broken pipes being fixed etc), running to the bathroom every 30 minutes and trying to ward off a fever in tropical heat I’m afraid to say I was not as social with the guests as I would normally have been. It was far from my finest moment as a host and I’m sorry if you took it personally. I do know that the one time that we did speak, it was when I was apologizing profusely for your bread having been stolen during the night. I explained the situation and even offered to buy you a new loaf of bread to be brought in right away on our morning boat but you assured me that it wasn’t a big deal and you didn’t need a replacement. I understand that you were upset about it but that is no reason to be dishonest in your review and say that the staff was unapologetic, as you definitely received apologies not only from me but as well as from other staff members.

As I told you, our dogs sleep inside our house at night and absolutely did not sneak out of a locked door and locked gate in the middle of the night to break into your food bin in the kitchen. I don’t understand why you didn’t believe the legitimate and true explanation that wild animals stole your food from an open-air kitchen in the jungle and instead assumed that I was lying to you. As I explained, on occasion we have critters (we suspect monkeys or possibly raccoons) that get into the kitchen and steal people’s bread. We have built elaborate barriers to secure the food shelves at night which were working very well but they clearly figured out a way to still get in and we have already installed more secure system that will hopefully keep them out for good.

I’m glad you overall liked the tent lodge despite the bread mishap. Again, I am sorry, and if you feel that there is a more professional way that we could have handled it please feel free to email me and I will be happy to discuss it with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    89
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
44
164
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My Husband and I spent two nights of our honeymoon at Palmar and LOVED it! It was magical! The romantic tents, the private beach, the spunky volunteers (whom we loved), the managers Chris and Christine....we absolutely fell in love with the place. Our little love tent was decorate with adorable swans made out of towels, and our bed was sprinkled with flower petals. There was a fan, a lockable trunk, our own private solar shower and two cozy chairs out front of our love shack. The lounge/bar/dining area had a comfy couch with funky pillows, a bookshelf full of games and books. We are still talking about our delicious veggie burritos made by one of the volunteers and the toasted marshmallows she made us. Roscoe who was also volunteering entertained us with his fireside ghost stories and his infectious personality. We took advantage of all the gorgeous beaches, snorkeled, spearfished, hiked around the jungle and took loads of pictures. We hope you love this place as much as we did!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooseManchego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed a few nights at Palmar tent lodge and in general we had a good time, but we were a bit unlucky with the weather. Take this into account when reading this review, however some of our 'complaints' have nothing to do with the weather...

Location: very nice, between the trees, direct access to the beautiful Red Frog beach. Nice beaches for snorkeling aout 30m away. Getting to Palmar is possible in the morning and afternoon with their 'discount' boat, but you can also arrange your own boat for usd 5 and get off at Vanderburg dock, from there a ten minute walk.

Permanent tents: nice, 'real' bed, fan (endless breeze, not really endless so it can get warm), mosquito nets (not perfect ones but ok), small light, japanese style floor seating, solar shower (the well known black bags, so not really a shower). Tents are on big sticks (safe and dry) and this showed to be necessary during the rainy season.

Communal areas: bathroom is fine, but not superclean. shower is so so, almost no water (standing in the rain will do a better job). Kitchen for guest use is not really clean, no water pressure, stove not enough power, good freezer. Bring your own food... No wifi (they 'hide' the ssid, haha!) for guests.

Staff: volunteers are not helpful and hospitable. Mostly only worrying about themselves having a good time. There were way too much volunteers. Eg. Asking a staff member to help you, he/she walks away cause there is something more important (their own groceries arriving, scabby the dog or whatever, but nothing guest related).
Some days staff ask you to join lunch or dinner which they will prepare. Fine if they want to earn some money. But usd 8.50 for a mixed pasta dish (spaghetti, farfalle, fusilli, all leftovers) and 1/6 of a broccoli is just too much. A good rice dish we had by another staff member for 5 usd was well worth the money.
Staff have no knowledge about the surf boards they are renting out. No knowledge of the area, not even about the opening times of the restaurant five minutes away.
Staff is a lot of the time only talking with eachother at the bar. Not interested in their guests. Staff internetting at the bar while no wifi for guests. Communal seating area almost no light bulbs but staff area at the bar is like times square ;-) Old surf boards for rental.

Eco: not really. Recharging car batteries (used in every tent) with solar power might look eco but offcourse isnt.

If you stay here you definitely can have a good time as long as you dont mind the staff and poor kitchen/shower facilities. If you setup your own tent it is a good cheap option. But paying almost 50usd for a tent a night you would expect more...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingJulianNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmarTentLodge, Owner at Palmar Beach Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time overall despite the bad weather that we experienced in July. Concerning your complaints there are easy explanations for all of them.

First and foremost you need to understand that a big part of the experience of Palmar is that it is completely off the grid, immersed in the jungle while only a stones throw away from one of the prettiest beaches in Bocas. With that said we have come up with systems to conserve our precious resources like electricity and water. The water pressure is not the greatest because we use foot pumps and gravity in an effort to conserve the precious rainwater that we collect off the roofs. Since it was raining during your stay this may not have seemed relevant but we can go weeks without seeing a drop. Most people are totally fine dealing with mediocre water pressure for a few days during their stay because it is done in an effort to be eco-friendly and conservation minded. The same goes for lighting in the Great House. We use low voltage LED lights that many people think gives the place a romantic feel. The lighting behind the bar/reception area is slightly brighter because we use different bulbs and fixtures but we are not trying to keep guests in the dark. The bar is there for you to sit at! In regards to the car batteries used in the tents, it is fairly clear that you don’t understand how solar power works. In any sort of alternative energy scheme on the scale that we have at Palmar, you harvest energy (through solar cells, wind turbine, etc) and store the energy in batteries so that you can use the power even when the sun isn’t shining or the wind isn’t blowing. We are always happy to explain how our systems work, all you need to do is ask!

We apologize if you didn’t feel that the staff were friendly. Yes the staff spend a good amount of time in the bar area because that is where they work. Volunteers often are the ones to start up a group board game or rally people to go play volleyball but at the same time, many of our guests are couples who want some amount of privacy and relaxation so it is a fine line to tread and we apologize if you did not feel included. During the time that you were here we only had 2 volunteers on staff so I’m not sure how this was way too many—maybe you were confused about who actually worked there? We work with a non-profit volunteer group that teaches local school children and they often spend their free time at Palmar so maybe this is where the confusion stemmed from. As far as staff knowledge, we will make an effort in the future to let all guests know who are the owners and who are Palmar’s volunteers. If volunteers don't know the answer to a question they should definitely defer to Chris or Kristin who have lived in Bocas for over three and half years and likely have the answer.

Regarding the internet--we don’t have some evil plot to “hide” wifi from our guests and hoarde it all to the staff, we don’t even have wifi! We have an iPad that runs off a SIM card data network that is available for guests to rent. We have a sign advertising this on the wall in the Great House and this is also explained in multiple locations on our website. If you had asked we would have been happy to explain this to you. The staff often use the iPad at the bar because this is the spot where the signal works best and they are living at Palmar for weeks or months at a time—that is the only place (without hiking to the other hostel or going to Bocas Town) that they can email to keep in touch with family or friends. The iPad is also used constantly for business purposes to keep track of reservations and business emails.

In conclusion—at Palmar we are offering you easily the most affordable beachfront accommodations in all of Bocas del Toro at $44 for a private tent. Coming to stay with us is an experience—you get a taste of what it is like to live off the grid in such a gorgeous location. While this may mean sacrificing a long, hot, powerful shower, manually pumping your water to wash dishes or going without wifi for a couple days, you get to immerse yourself in the sounds of the jungle and wake up each day just steps away from one of Bocas’ most incredible beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmvale, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Palmar is a dream come true. Luxe canvas tents set in a gorgeous tropical jungle setting, steps from an amazing beach with incredible surf and nearly empty beach. We loved everything about it, from the stunning setting, to the super helpful owners, to the wonderful volunteers, to adorable Scabby. We were sad to leave - a huge highlight of our three weeks in Panama. Go now! Oh, and bring your food - there aren't many options on Red Frog Beach - but the margherita pizza at Bocas Bound up the hill is perfectly done.

Room Tip: We had the Maracuya tent and it was total perfection. If the front desk staff at Casa Verde - Palma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Jungle, Ocean, Beach, Coconuts - all on your doorsteps

its an amazing place a pimped eco lodge

it has a kitchen, tents and then the best that nature made

we did have some rainy days which were grim but the sun came out for christmas and WOW it couldnt get better than this. Fun Fun Fun

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelButtefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great place if you like camping. basic tents here and some very comfy permanent tents too, all set in a nice garden. Excellent atmosphere in the bar/communal area. Has kitchen for guests use. Does some food. Showers are very basic.
The beach is just yards away and is beautiful. Even nicer ones 30 mins walk from here with pretty good snorkelling.
Chris is really nice. I celebrated my birthday here with him and some of the other guests 2 days after I left for a nearby hotel. (It was my 45th birthday...I deserved a bit of luxury!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This review is super late as we stayed here over Thanksgiving vacation last year (2011). But we loved it so much I really wanted to to write a review. I can't say enough good things about Palmar. For one, it is so cool to be able to sleep in the jungle while falling asleep to the sound of the ocean just a couple hundred yards away. Second, the owners/managers were great. They remembered our names from the second they met us and were always there to help with anything we asked. Coupled with the incredible location, you couldn't find a better place in the Bocas area! We have many places that we still need to visit but if we make it back to Panama we will definitely make a point to stay at the tent lodge again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtravelerTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmar Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmar Beach Lodge

Property: Palmar Beach Lodge
Address: Red Frog Beach on Isla Bastimentos | Bocas Del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palmar Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmar Beach Lodge has eco-friendly, affordable beachfront accommodations that are one of a kind in Bocas del Toro. Spend your days on the beach and your nights falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle and ocean. Accommodations range from fully equipped bungalows to safari style tents and a cabin dorm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Palmar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmar Beach Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing