We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top 5 fave place in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmar Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palmar Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Top 5 fave place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you like the beach and are okay with camping, you will LOVE palmar. My husband and I stayed in one of the safari tents (with 2 twin beds- only one available) for 3 nights. Red frog beach is absolutely stunning and the tents are right on it. There are chairs, umbrellas, surfboards, body boards, volleyball, and plenty of other activities. The main area is beautiful and a great place to chat with staff/guests. The kitchen is pretty easy to use given it's Eco-friendly quirks; same with the bathroom. Obviously if you hate bugs or can't handle no AC, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    89
    35
    15
    9
See reviews for
44
164
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Palmar Tent lodge is an oasis or perfection. Nestled snugly into the cool canopy of the dense tropical rainforest you will find heaven. The ocean breeze whispers through the trees reminding you that the clear Caribbean is only steps away. Palmar is the kind of place you visit and instantly find yourself at home. The overall atmosphere will teach even the worst workaholic to deeply relax. Whatever suits your fancy, with the abundance of activities available, you can find endless excitement. The Island of Bastimentos where Palmar is located resembles every magical postcard of the tropics you have ever seen. When darkness comes you can drift to sleep while the lullaby of the jungle soothes your body. Palmar is a must see, i recommend it for anyone who wants to indulge in the exhilarating experience of tropical existence.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

What a wonderful place to just unwind... you really couldn't ask for a better location or better amenties for camping on the beach! The beach here is perfection and falling asleep every night listening to the ocean and the sounds of the jungle was amazing. Great little bar/lodge, very convenient communal kitchen, and walking distance of a couple of places to buy breakfast/lunch if you are so inclined. I loved this concept- Palmar has a very low-key vibe and everyone that worked or volunteered on my visit was so helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Welcoming and helpful staff who manage to get in some play time, too.(Volleyball, body surfing)
Atmosphere is relaxed and cheerful. Young and old welcomed with the same genuine attitude.
Unbeatable location right on a white sand beach with lounge chairs provided.Grounds are well groomed. Bathrooms are clean. Showers are a trip. I loved pumping the rainwater via foot pump to the holding tank.
An intimate experience with only 5 safari tents and simple accomodations with everything you need and nothing wasted or wasteful. The shared kitchen was a way to meet and bond with staff and other guests.
Other campers and staff even threw me a birthday party and made a lime and coconut cake. (THanks, Grace, Alex and Lawrence).
A perfect, totally wonderful and laid back way to spend my 64th birthday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a must stay if you are going to be spending anytime in Bocas. It has the best beachfront location on red frogs beach with tents set amongst a jungle. It is the perfect atmosphere for any traveler fin budget backpackers who can either bring their own tent or rent one that they provide (5-7$ per person per night) and a dorm tent (15$) to those with money to spend on the luxurious safari tents(44$). Its easy to get to from the main Island isla calon, just go to the hostel Casa Verde whom have a water taxi in the morning and afternoon for 4$ 7$ round trip.

You will not regret your stay here, I love every minute of mine, even though it was raining quite a bit, what do you expect when you are on the rain forest beach. The staff and volunteers are all very friendly and healthy and are quick to invite you into their 'family' and activities(beach volly, corn hole, a wide assortment of board games, etc...). Its nice to be in the nature with a handful of great iteresting people, there is no wifi here but if your really in need of getting connected they have a iPad that people can pay a little to use or you can go on a jungle walk to a nerby hostel and use theirs. Palmar is also very animal friendly there are always dogs around, with the favorite being one they have adopted and saved from a horrible skin fungus and mange, named Scabby who has bounced back and gained most of his hair back and lost most of his scabs, he is sure to steal any dog lovers heart! There are also the two parrots that are taken care of by Einstein the tall Norwegian volunteer often seen walking and working with one on his head

If your lucky the great chef Andres and Eva Marie will be there making paninis' for lunch and a family dinner in the evening which is always a good way to get know the other guests. The bar also offers all the drinks you'll need when relaxing by the beach. If your wanting to stay in bocas for a few weeks I would recommend trying to volunteer here, work for 15 hrs a week to stay for free.
I will certainly be back and recommend everyone I know!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shibideewoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I came here in March 2012 when I was traveling with my sister. We loved our tent. It was such a reasonable deal! It was very comfy. This place was very eco-friendly. The employees were helpful and friendly. My favorite thing was the location. It's on Red Frog Beach by the volleyball court area. It was amazing to walk out to the an extremely beautiful beach. Palmar also allows guests to use the boogie board and beach chairs free of charge. The hammocks were very nice to relax on too. The bar was also a nice mellow, fun way to end the day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great all around experience! This place is a one of a kind place in an unbeatable location accompanied by a great staff. Its on a secluded beach and only a 10 minute water taxi ride away from the the craziness that is Bocas del Toro although I found myself not wanting to make the trip because I was already in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmar Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmar Beach Lodge

Property: Palmar Beach Lodge
Address: Red Frog Beach on Isla Bastimentos | Bocas Del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palmar Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmar Beach Lodge has eco-friendly, affordable beachfront accommodations that are one of a kind in Bocas del Toro. Spend your days on the beach and your nights falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle and ocean. Accommodations range from fully equipped bungalows to safari style tents and a cabin dorm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmar Beach Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing