We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved every second of it”
Review of Palmar Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palmar Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
MAlta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“loved every second of it”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Palmar Tent Lodge. At first I was a bit sceptic since camping is not my forte, but this is not the normal camping, the tents are quite big and they are right on the beach. What made the stay unforgettable though was not this, even though they tents are really nice, but the people who manage the place and the animals that live there! The people are so nice and friendly, they make you feel at home! It is as if they have known you for ages! During our first night we did not eat there we walked around 15 mins to a hostel nearby and eat over there, The second night though the food on the menu was pasta, and how can one say no to pasta when there is an Italian involved in its preparation! It was a good choice since it was delicious! Those who decide to take part in the evening meal will eat on one table and like that you can interact with all the people who are staying there, such a relaxing and enjoyable evening it was.

If you love animals that this is the place to be also. They love dogs and are taking good care of Scabies who was sick but is greatly improving thanks to their help. Then there is pippa who comes next to you with those huge and imploring eyes when there is food around and then will snob you any other time! The best one though was the parrot who loved going around on person's shoulders!

It was a pity that we only had two nights there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVELMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    92
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
45
171
72
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I am giving 5 stars but not because this is a 5 star hotel. It is so much more than a 5 star hotel.

Firstly Kristen and Chris answered every one of my crazy emails that I wrote from home, and they were always patient with my questions.

The ride to Isla Bastimentos is a lovely 15 minute skip from Bocas Town (Casa Verde Dock) and the 10 minute path through the jungle is so well maintained it was more like a stroll.

The tents are just fantastic. The beds inside are so comfortable, the wood flooring and cedar trunks are so cute, it really is deluxe camping.

Each tent has a Solar heated water system but there is a nice tiled communal shower too (using a foot pump and rain water that has been stored). There are interesting touches everywhere (including a suggestive conch shell water tap).

The owners AND the volunteers who work there were all such lovely people, it was nice to sit and talk with them when it was raining or at night.

The tents are pretty much right on the beach. Just a few steps really, and what a beach it is! I loved it. Sandy bottom, waves to jump and play in (it can be a little rough so don’t go too deep if you feel that undertow). During the day some people visit the beach from the main island but Palmar is located right in the middle of the beach on the best section and there are chairs for guest use.

The main house is open on the sides and the kitchen is well stocked with all the pots and pans you might need for cooking as well as a fridge for your food. If you run out of anything they make daily trips to town and will pick things up for a nominal fee. There are also drinks and dry food you can buy.

There is no internet but you can charge your Ipod and walk about 10 minutes to a hostel located nearby which has wifi.

These were the best 5 days of my 3 week trip to Panama. Everyday people would walk by and come and ask if there were rooms and there usually were not. This place books up fast because it is so amazing so don’t leave it too late. I loved it there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonmerangue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Palmar Tent Lodge while on honeymoon - a great relaxed communcal area where we met loads of really lovely people, and the tents themselves (we got a private safari tent) are beautiful - comfy beds with mosquito nets, outdoor private showers, lockable trunks etc etc.

Do be careful of the sea - my husband got caught in a riptide not far from the shore and the staff at Palmar had to rescue him. He was not the only person to get caught that day so we know it wasn't just him being a silly tourist (or at least he wasn't the only one!).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We had an amazing time at Palmar. The owners are super friendly and have thought off everything you might need, from a highly equipped kitchen, to a huge fireplace, surfboards and cozy outside lights. The location right at the beach is beautiful. We planned to stay for 3 days and ended up staying over a week.

Room Tip: Go for a safari tent in rainy season, instead of your own, because it can poor down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I havent had the pleasure of visiting the Palmer Tent Lodge but I wanted to give you my most appretiative review of your website. I think this website captures the essence of this property as well as any I have ever scene. Bravo to the property owners and web designers on a job very well done. I hope to visit soon.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mykalsunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stumbled upon the Palmar while visiting Red Frog Beach on our honeymoon. We were had checked into a hostel nearby, but ended up staying at the Palmar instead because we loved it from the start. The location is amazing. You are about a 30 second walk from the beach. You fall asleep to waves crashing and crickets chirping, and wake up to waves crashing and birds singing. The tents and cozy and the site is environmentally friendly, with rainwater showers and solar-powered lights and fans in the tents. The staff were helpful. There was also a great kitchen for your use. A nice peaceful, relaxing ending to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieannm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is an excellent accomodation! If you like the beach, this is the place to be.....It's the most relaxing atmosphere you can imagine!

We stayed here for 4 nights in our Central American roundtrip of 3 months and this was one of the best stays all over! Really nice staff and the tents are amazing!!!

If you go to Panama, go to Palmar!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanKruizinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
353 reviews
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmar Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmar Beach Lodge

Property: Palmar Beach Lodge
Address: Red Frog Beach on Isla Bastimentos | Bocas Del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palmar Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmar Beach Lodge has eco-friendly, affordable beachfront accommodations that are one of a kind in Bocas del Toro. Spend your days on the beach and your nights falling asleep to the sounds of the jungle and ocean. Accommodations range from fully equipped bungalows to safari style tents and a cabin dorm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palmar Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmar Beach Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing