We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills”
Review of Hostal Bastimentos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Bastimentos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Ok hostel, dorms are spacious and there's plenty if sitting areas. Good wifi. Kitchen basic but the fridge really needs cleaned out!
Dorm bed is $8.25 a night once they've added tax, not $6 as I'd thought. No free brekkie.
Nice staff
Cold showers

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hostel. We decided to call in advance and spoke with the owner Enrique. He was very polite and answered all my questions. He even suggested to bring some fruits from the main island as it could be difficult and pricier in Bastimentos.

Checking in was fast. They show you the rooms that they have available and then you decide how much you want to spend. Private room range from $10-45 night. Dorm is $6

Enrique is very good giving tips about what to do / where to eat. Have a meal with him, it is good to talk to him.

The lady that helps him is very nice. She did out stinky laundry for $5 dollars. I had some stuff drying outside of my room. She moved it to a better place so it could dry faster.

Decoration is very neat. He was able to keep some of the stuff from a "survivor" type show that was filmed there.

The dogs are amazing guards. Somehow they recognize the guests from the locals.

Kitchen is fully equipped.

Good: price, location, customer service.

Bad: nothing

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJnKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is great value, $20 for a 2 double beds private bathroom room per night ($10 each) with awesome views... hammocks, internet... basic kitchen but does the job.. roots is close by which is great for some carribean fare... the hostel is in Bastimentos town which is the most authentic town in the whole Bocas del Toro area... the town is just alive with atmoshpere and reggae beats... this hostel is a staple place full of colour, clean and run by the friendly dickson... you cant go wrong

Room Tip: Top private rooms have the best view, pay that bit extra and enjoy the amazing view, massive bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abediddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you are in Bastimentos, you will not find a better place and price for the quality and the guy who manages it is bomb. His name is Dixon and he loves to entertain his guests with card games including his own made up game named Dixon's Game! I had the best time there and I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago so I can't speak to its current condition. We did, however, think it was an excellent value. We paid very little for our private room. The rooms were clean and bright, the views lovely, and the staff friendly. They were also very helpful guiding us around and connecting us with local tour guides. This was far nicer (and quieter) than anything we found in Bocastown.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sfgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

my advise - find another place to stay. this place is infested with bed bugs. worst experience of my life.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in a private hoping to get away from the madness of Isla Colon. It was a really relaxed vibe and although a little hard to understand at times the staff were really helpful. Nice to see locals running a place. The kitchen could have been cleaner / had more utensils but overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yonbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
6.1 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
74 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 3 in Isla Solarte
406 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hostal El Jaguar
Hostal El Jaguar
#6 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
470 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bastimentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bastimentos

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $14 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Bastimentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Bastimentos Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing