We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Bastimentos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Bastimentos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Ok hostel, dorms are spacious and there's plenty if sitting areas. Good wifi. Kitchen basic but the fridge really needs cleaned out!
Dorm bed is $8.25 a night once they've added tax, not $6 as I'd thought. No free brekkie.
Nice staff
Cold showers

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
33
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hostel. We decided to call in advance and spoke with the owner Enrique. He was very polite and answered all my questions. He even suggested to bring some fruits from the main island as it could be difficult and pricier in Bastimentos.

Checking in was fast. They show you the rooms that they have available and then you decide how much you want to spend. Private room range from $10-45 night. Dorm is $6

Enrique is very good giving tips about what to do / where to eat. Have a meal with him, it is good to talk to him.

The lady that helps him is very nice. She did out stinky laundry for $5 dollars. I had some stuff drying outside of my room. She moved it to a better place so it could dry faster.

Decoration is very neat. He was able to keep some of the stuff from a "survivor" type show that was filmed there.

The dogs are amazing guards. Somehow they recognize the guests from the locals.

Kitchen is fully equipped.

Good: price, location, customer service.

Bad: nothing

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJnKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is great value, $20 for a 2 double beds private bathroom room per night ($10 each) with awesome views... hammocks, internet... basic kitchen but does the job.. roots is close by which is great for some carribean fare... the hostel is in Bastimentos town which is the most authentic town in the whole Bocas del Toro area... the town is just alive with atmoshpere and reggae beats... this hostel is a staple place full of colour, clean and run by the friendly dickson... you cant go wrong

Room Tip: Top private rooms have the best view, pay that bit extra and enjoy the amazing view, massive bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abediddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you are in Bastimentos, you will not find a better place and price for the quality and the guy who manages it is bomb. His name is Dixon and he loves to entertain his guests with card games including his own made up game named Dixon's Game! I had the best time there and I HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago so I can't speak to its current condition. We did, however, think it was an excellent value. We paid very little for our private room. The rooms were clean and bright, the views lovely, and the staff friendly. They were also very helpful guiding us around and connecting us with local tour guides. This was far nicer (and quieter) than anything we found in Bocastown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

my advise - find another place to stay. this place is infested with bed bugs. worst experience of my life.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for a few nights in a private hoping to get away from the madness of Isla Colon. It was a really relaxed vibe and although a little hard to understand at times the staff were really helpful. Nice to see locals running a place. The kitchen could have been cleaner / had more utensils but overall a really good stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal El Jaguar
Hostal El Jaguar
#6 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Bastimentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Bastimentos

Property: Hostal Bastimentos
Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Bastimentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Bastimentos Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing