We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bocas Bound is terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bocas Island Lodge
Save
You added Bocas Island Lodge to your Saves list
OKC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bocas Bound is terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Bocas Bound with a group and it was one of my best stays at a hostel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I stayed in a private room which was in excellent condition and very comfortable. The bed was the best out of all the hostels I had stayed, the A/C worked perfect and the bathrooms were immaculate! The food was great at the restaurant and the store had essentials if you needed them. The staff were all friendly, especially Dwan and Steve, they were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KArin2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    32
    27
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
48
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Bocas Bound is a really nice place... I enjoyed it really much. Staff is really helpfull and steve is great

The rooms are clean (great matresses) and atmosphere is very good too... Some awesome beaches around... Totally recomended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrg1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed in the mixed dorm during Semana Santa (Spring Break for university's/Easter week.) The A/C was so cold it made me because of the difference outside. The rooms were clean and the food the restaurant was reasonable and tasted fine. Many beaches to see close by and ziplining was a blast.

I recently called to make another reservation. Correction, I called upwards of 20 times over a week and a half period and no answer. I left a message and sent an email but nothing. We decided to stay on the main island instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Bocas Bound was a perfect location for our group! We had easy access to everything Bocas del Toro had to offer and it felt as if we had our own island. Our group enjoyed the abundance of flora and fauna on the island as well as the easy access to Red Frog Beach. The accommodation was always clean & the staff was incredible! They went out of their way to accommodate our group at the hostel, with activities during the days and even in the evenings with beach parties and nightlife tours. Much love and thanks to the staff and our new Panamanian friends: Dwan, Marlon, Guille, Sharina, Chef Jose and Steve! I recommend Bocas Bound for traveling couples, backpackers, student groups, etc. They have an option for everyone! Keep it up Bocas Bound! See you in January!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OklahomaStudyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Basic accommodation, great food but no atmosphere. Please be aware that this 'hostel' is actually part of the Red Frog Beach Resort, which is a large scale development project on Isla Bastimentos, which has a significant impact on the local environment. You decide whether this is positive or negative. Stay at Palmar Tent Lodge instead, which is ecofriendly and just on Red Frog Beach. Manned by a bunch of friendly, international volunteers with a relaxed vibe and fabulous, cheap family style meals every evening. They also run an excellent cocktail bar!

Room Tip: Be aware that the semi private rooms do not have enclosed ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The entire experience at Bocas Bound exceeded my expectations!The location was breath-taking, there were many activities and beaches nearby. The hostel was clean, the staff friendly, and the scenery perfect. I talked to many other travelers who stayed at nearby hostels who were far from happy about their hostel stay. So if you get a chance, don't miss out!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FURLEE-KIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The super friendly staff make Bocas Bound rise above other hostel experiences in Panama while the location on Red Frog beach is not to be missed. Dwan was a wonderful welcome and went out of her way to introduce travelers to one another and facilitate great atmosphere. The manager Steve is a dyanmo, full of stories, pep, and energy and also keeps the party going nonstop. Whether its a beach BBQ or happy hour or dance class, there is always something fun going on at Bocas Bound. The hike down to the beach feels like an adventure every time (or you can take the slightly longer paved path) and the pristine view that emerges from the jungle is like a dream come true. While the dorms rooms are exactly what you would expect (bunk beds with shared bathroom) the air con is a huge plus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uisePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Bastimentos hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Tent Lodge
Palmar Tent Lodge
#1 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Island Lodge

Property: Bocas Island Lodge
Address: On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama (Formerly Bocas Bound Hostel)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a living rainforest, on a Caribbean island, Bocas Bound is the place to stay and visit in Bocas del Toro. Bocas Bound provides immediate access to surfing, rain forest hikes, kayaking, and beautiful beaches. Bocas Bound is an exotic destination in Bocas del Toro that attracts back-packers, surfers, and cost-conscious families looking for a place that is extraordinarily different from a typical Bocas hotel. Trails from your doorstep lead you through dense jungle to breathtaking beaches and hidden coves. The nightly chorus of nature will cause you to truly appreciate Isla Bastimentos.* 8 min walk to Red Frog Beach * Beach Activity Center* Hiking Trails and Canopy Zipline* 15 minute water taxi to Bocas Town* Air-conditioned rooms* Full Restaurant Bar and Lounge * Community kitchen * Free Breakfast & Coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bocas Bound Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Bocas Island Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing