We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“'private' room @ bad location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bocas Island Lodge
Save
You added Bocas Island Lodge to your Saves list
1 review
“'private' room @ bad location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

this hostal is definitly off the beaten track, resp. is away from the beach, away from town & far away of having a charming comen area! The pizzas are really good, but the privacy of rooms are defenitly not. If you think you have a private room you're far away from the truth, the rooms are connected at the top 30cm, enabling the 'romantic' noise to pass through, but not the cold conditioning air. at the end don't forget to check out on time or you'll loose your key deposit...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    32
    27
    19
    17
See reviews for
12
48
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There is a small refrigerator in the room as well as a table and chairs. We had a double bed and two single beds plus two showers, two sinks, and two toilets. There were tons of big closets also. It was not in the best of shape but it was fine. There is a huge common area and a restaurant which was decent. The staff was laid back and friendly.

Room Tip: We could hear the other people talking through the walls but it was probably more because they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Shortcut through the jungle to the beach was nice but better watch out if its too muddy
Common area/ Eating place was a large area, if youre going to cook then that place is separate from this area.
Rooms are small and sometimes they dont have a window. The mattresses are also of poor quality thats why it sagged in the middle.
Bathrooms are shared and spacious

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel last summer. We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom for 3 nights, Basically there is no other decent hostel in the island. Below are our pros and cons:

PROS:
- Nice views, as it is situated on the hill on a beautiful island.
- Good facilities. They have a fussball, ping pong, and pool tables.
- Decent rooms
- Fairly clean
- Free breakfast: 2 pieces of bread, jam and coffee.
- 10 min walk from beautiful Red Frog beach. We saw a lot of wildlife on our way to the beach and back.

CONS:
- Food from the restaurant was very mediocre. Bring your own.
- Rooms were small. First they offered us a very small room where we could very move around. There was not even space for our luggage and the AC was shared with 3 more rooms, which left that room with not much air flowing.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms, some of them might be to small to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darinka84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is a waste of your money. Way too much hype for this place. $33 for a semi private room which literally the double bed barley fits in. I am 5 foot 10 and when laying on the bed I can barley fit. My head and feet touching either wall. There is really no character/atmosphere to the place either. It felt like I was in a jail cell.
There was a pool table with some rips in the fabric and a computer that worked pretty good. The coffee in the morning was $1, and there is no free breakfast anymore. The kitchen near the lodging has no bowls or cups and you have to eat your food in the kitchen not in the restaurant which really disconnects you from any sort of socialization.
Theres quite a few bugs in the restaurant area. One night was enough here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegoldengun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla Bastimentos hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

To be clear, the place is clean and new, which is great compared to a lot of hostels.

The problem is the location and activity center. They tend to run slow (or not run at all). My experience was poor because the front counter staff seemed unwilling to do anything. I came here from a different country to see this beautiful area and I wasted priceless hours shuffling around trying to get answers & service.

While this hostal is on beautiful Isla Bastimentos, it is located behind a large, ugly maintenance area filled with tractors & equipment sitting around. (Not exactly the jungle experience I was expecting)

A side note - Red Frog Beach was far from pristine. Trash everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Bocas Bound is everything you could ask for an a hostel. Great people (literally the friendliest patrons I've met while traveling), awesome and friendly staff and clean, clean, clean. The dorm sleeps 12, but is set up so that you feel like you are in a room of 4. Very clean bathrooms, nice kitchen and a gorgeous walk to a gorgeous beach.

Just come a little prepared. Despite what the website says, breakfast is not included. In Red Frog Beach there are only 2 restaurants (with limited menus) and no super markets. I wished I had gone grocery shopping before coming to the island. The prices are what you would expect for being on an island ($4-6 for breakfast, $10 for dinner).

If you are looking to side step the party Bocas Town, this is the PERFECT alternative and there is still plenty of action to keep you occupied. Wished I had stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chara810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla Bastimentos hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bubba's House
Bubba's House
#4 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Tent Lodge
Palmar Tent Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Island Lodge

Property: Bocas Island Lodge
Address: On A Hill Above Red Frog Beach | 15 min water taxi from Bocas Town, Isla Bastimentos, Panama (Formerly Bocas Bound Hostel)
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a living rainforest, on a Caribbean island, Bocas Bound is the place to stay and visit in Bocas del Toro. Bocas Bound provides immediate access to surfing, rain forest hikes, kayaking, and beautiful beaches. Bocas Bound is an exotic destination in Bocas del Toro that attracts back-packers, surfers, and cost-conscious families looking for a place that is extraordinarily different from a typical Bocas hotel. Trails from your doorstep lead you through dense jungle to breathtaking beaches and hidden coves. The nightly chorus of nature will cause you to truly appreciate Isla Bastimentos.* 8 min walk to Red Frog Beach * Beach Activity Center* Hiking Trails and Canopy Zipline* 15 minute water taxi to Bocas Town* Air-conditioned rooms* Full Restaurant Bar and Lounge * Community kitchen * Free Breakfast & Coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bocas Bound Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Bocas Island Lodge Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing