We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite caribbean destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite caribbean destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I consider the Bocas del Toro area the most pure and undefiled cultural area I have ever visited. People are visting from all over the world. The restaurants are fantastic and unique. I would highly recommend staying at the Red Frog Beach resort and spend your days on the Bostimentos Island and take a water taxi into Bocas del Toro once a day to eat or plan days trips through out the Colon Archipelago.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malarchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    85
    47
    17
    10
See reviews for
159
176
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corbett, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

If your looking for a great location, beautiful villas, and an awesome staff, then this is the place for you! Our villa was provided with everything we needed and Jacob and the rest of the staff were more then accommodating. They arranged the snorkeling, zip line, and boat tours for us. All we had to do was ask. All the activities you want to do are centered around the Red Frog beach Resort, which is very convenient, especially if you have children.
The villas are absolutely gorgeous, with travertine floors, granite counter tops, swimming pool, and all the comforts of home.
The restaurant doubled as a central meeting area and provided a nice place to chill with a beer and meet other people. It also had a pool table, ping pong table, and other games to play, (kids will love it too).
The only complaint I have is that the waves were not very good for surfing most of the time I was there. That was the ONLY request that I made that they could not provide!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

The minute Jacob picked us up on his golf cart at the dock, we knew that we were going to have an incredible experience at Red Frog Beach Villas. When we saw our villa we were blown away. Our villa was huge, clean, nicely furnished and had unbelievable ocean views. Sitting at our private plunge pool overlooking the ocean was so relaxing and the whole experience at Red Frog Villas was both luxurious and adventurous. It was a perfect combination for us. We were able to lounge on the gorgeous red frog beach and secluded playa tortuga, hang out with the other people on the island at the island's small but charming eateries, head to the unique (and bohemian) Bocas Town, have adventurous water "taxi" rides to and from the island and then hop in our golf cart go up to our villa and enjoy private luxury. Bocas del Toro is gorgeous and Red Frog Beach (and their staff) really is a great way to enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

My grown daughter, my husband, and myself stayed at Red Frog Villas for four days/nights in mid-January. We were looking for a relaxing holiday by a nice beach away from it all. This place fit the bill perfectly. The resort villas are beautiful and beautifully furnished. We were glad we rented a golf cart to get us to and from the beach and marina, as it is a fair distance. One of the best parts of our experience was the very friendly staff. They are there to help you with excursions (we went snorkeling one day), maintenance problems, or just general questions. We were given a cell phone at check-in to enable quick contact with the staff (our Panama cell phone did not work on Bastimientos). The ONLY negative was the construction going on at the villa directly next to ours. It was an annoyance only out by the pool, as once we were inside our villa we could not hear the noise. If you want a totally relaxing holiday in a remote location, this is the place for you. Excursions to the mainland are costly ($10 per person at night), so we ventured to Bocas town only one evening for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panamabound78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

The villas at Red Frog beach are absolutely amazing. We were able to enjoy incredible ocean views while grilling out on the porch. The villas are absolutely amazing and the service is top of the line. I cannot wait to get back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boglebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Just spent my second vacation in a row at one of the villas at the Red Frog Beach Resort. The amount of work that's been accomplished over the last year is stunning. We left the golf cart (a rental if you want one) behind and walked everywhere.... Red Frog and Turtle Beach were perfect every day, the food was simple and tasty and the sense of community when you're there is taking on a very special feeling.

If you're into a luxury, pampered "click your fingers for service" kind of vacation, go somewhere else. But if a little adventure and break from the ordinary is a goal, you just can't do better. I took the zip line canopy tour one day and was treated with kid gloves by the expert help.... Soka, Jesus, Raphael and Marlo. They knew I had a fear of heights but were so reassuring that I took it on anyway. Very, very safe and accommodating to all sizes and shapes. We went into Bocas del Toro for dinner one night and that was a great, casual evening. You don't get approached by street hawkers the way you do at some places and most of the staffs were able to negotiate in enough English to help out.

All in all, this was one of the best vacations ever. Friendly, warm, lots of walking to keep you fit (I didn't gain any weight!! Yeah!!). I'll be back.... It's just getting better every year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

My husband and I, our two adult children, and mother-in-law shared one of the lovely 3-bedroom villas (#48). It was the perfect layout for an extended family vacation. We practically lived on the veranda when we weren't gadding about. The beaches are beautiful and we spent tons of time hiking and exploring them all. Exploring the jungle was unbelieveable. We felt like we were in uncharted territory. If you look carefully, you'll see plenty of red frogs, we saw a turtle, sloths, hummingbirds, beautiful butterflies, and those crazy ants that carry leaves on their backs. We spent some time at Kayukos playing pool, watching football and eating. Nice area to hang out, grab a beer, a book, a DVD or check e-mail on their computers. We met some of our favorite people who work at the new Punta Lava Bar and Grill - Nairobi, Angelo and Jerome. Real nice beach bar.

The ZipLine course was amazing. I'm actually a little nervous of heights but still just had to do it. The assistance from the guides was outstanding and I felt confident every step of the way. The safetly precautions they take will make you feel comfortable if you're nervous at all. They were all well trained. The course has a variety of features I've never seen anywhere else. It was a blast for the whole family.

Some must dos: Have dinner in Bastimentos town -- Roots was nice, but there are a few others. Go on a day tour with Livingston (ask around you'll find him). Snorkel at Crawl Caye. Visit Salt Creek and Bahia Honda. One of the guides at Bahia Honda (Milton)-- can give you a tour of their famed bat cave. If you're an adventurer, it's a must do. We had a blast. Explore the beaches and jungles. The natural flora was unreal. Take tons of pictures. There were several other things I wish we had had time to do--next time.

The folks running Red Frog Beach Resort are fabulous. Jacob and Winston helped with arrangements for some of the activities we did. The complementary cell phone they give you while you're there is really helpful. And the wi-fi -- nice bonus. The infrastructure in place at Red Frog is impressive. They have their own power generator and water treatment.

I wouldn't think of staying there without renting a golf cart to get around.

We just loved it all. Had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
10.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Property: Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing