We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer beware of false advertising. No pool with house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Isla Bastimentos. Beautiful beaches and rainforest at the same time. However upon arrival we found out that our villa did not have an as advertised private plunge pool. After walking around the resort we found out that only one pool in the whole site was operational. They have a wonderful thing going on here in Bastimentos except for their advertising and communication skills. Just be aware when booking here that the POOL IS NOT THERE !

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osborne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven55, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2010

We do apologize for not communicating to this guest that villa 53 (Vista del Mar) did not have a finished pool. This is the ONLY villa listed on the resort website that does not have a private pool. The pool is currently being built at that residence now. It was an honest mistake and we did apologize to the guest for the error. This incident was unfortunate because at the time of booking several other homes with private pools were available.

The review states that only one pool on the resort is operational—this is NOT accurate. There are exactly eight pools in operation at the resort. If one visits the resort website, written and graphic descriptions are given for each house which clarifies the pool situation at each home. The reviewer also posted a picture of Lot#30 at the resort and labeled it: “finished villa” – This villa is by no means finished and the picture misrepresents the quality that has gone into these homes. We hope reviewers will take the time to understand that these homes are exceptionally finished and extremely comfortable.

These Villas are very nice and the surrounding jungle and beaches are fantastic. Our resort team has sought to paint a realistic picture of going on a vacation here. We are not selling a 5-star hotel experience; this is a non-pretentious place and there is some ongoing construction for example. We have found that most of our guests are looking for something exotic, relaxing and fun. We have loved our guests and appreciate their decision to stay with us.

This particular Villa can sleep up to 7 people. That is less than $50/night per person. We think there is tremendous value for this property. Since the resort is just opening, we invite people to directly contact the project for the latest updates.

Sincerely,
The Resort Service Team at Red Frog Beach…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Red Frog Beach Resort and had a great overall experience.
The resort is a quick 10 minute boat ride from Bocas, but gave us a more remote, out-of-the-way experience of being on a secluded preserve. The villa we stayed at has the full amenities of home for a very comfortable stay, yet the setting and location of the resort made things feel much more private and removed. From the villa's deck, we had a picturesque view of the ocean, and could see and hear the waves coming in. One of our most memorable moments was dipping in the villa's private pool late one night with the full moon out, while looking down on the ocean and waves, with surround sound from nature's nocturnal activities all about us!
Getting to the beach is a nice, quiet 10 minute walk on the stone covered roads in the midst of the forest's lushness. This walk was enjoyable in itself. It was great to be able to rent a boogie board right on the beach. I think kayaks, snorkeling gears, and surfboards are available as well. We would have used them all if we had more time. And check out the yummy homemade chocolate chip cookies and banana bread that's at the restaurant and beach bar too!
We hope to come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhserendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Stayed there over the holidays 2009. The beaches are really, really beautiful. There is also good surf both to the north and south of the resort, with the occasional odd little wave at Red Frog Beach itself. Easy boat access to Bocas town / surf breaks / and all kinds of activities. The nature trails being blazed by the staff are pretty awesome. The villas are a great place to stay with a family or larger group, and the Bocas Bound Hostel seemed like a pretty sweet option too for the backpacker crowd - the hostel looked new and nice.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank modiddyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We spent Christmas week 2009 at Red Frog Beach Resort and it was wonderful. Got perfect weather everyday, beautiful swimming at the beach, nice hikes,a day of snorkellng (only $15.00 each, with equipment) on the other side of the island and great service. Very affordable as well!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LNS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

If you like nature in a pristine setting then this is the place. We loved Costa Rica but wanted to experience something different. We found Red Frog Resort several years ago and spent a week there diving, surfing and just relaxing. It is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. If you like something that is off the beaten path then I recommend Red Frog Resort. It is located in Bastimentos Island in Panama.
The construction is moving along and they have done everything to ensure the ecology of the land has not been disturbed. It is a resort among nature and is absolutely beautiful. You will see exotic birds, monkeys and all the plants indigenous to the rainforests of central america. It is definately a must see.

Cox family
North Carolina

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dayboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I stayed at the Redfrog Beach Resort with some friends and family for a week and we absolutely loved our stay! The villa we stayed in was clean, comfortable, and felt like home, Which throughout my travels I have found to be quite difficult to find. The view is breathtaking and the surroundings are nothing short of a jungle! One thing we enjoyed most were the beautiful beaches. We frequently found ourselves to be the only ones on the beach which was quite enjoyable. The only thing i would reccomend would be to bring bug repelant and wear sunscreen!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kel29_406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I stayed at Red Frog Resort with a small group of friends for a week and absolutely fell in love with the location! Very exclusive area with lots of privacy. Beautiful natural and untouched beaches, green lush vegetation, perfect weather. The house was gorgeous and very clean. I would recommend bug repellent and some close-toed shoes if you want to do any hiking :) I would also strongly recommend any of the tours--Snorkeling in particular was really fun. The only bummer was that the internet wasn't installed yet, but would be within a week or so. There are internet cafes on the main island, so it wasn't a huge problem. I definitely want to go back. Such a surreal environment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikkajayne05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
310 reviews
10.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $134 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas, rooms and Jungle Lodges to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle. Awarded at Panama's most beautiful beach and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing