We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We rented a 3 bed/2 bath villa for my 2 children, MIL and my husband and I for two weeks in mid-April. It was beautifully designed and extremely comfortable. The views are lovely from the villa overlooking the ocean. The rainforest around the property is exceptionally fun and interesting with a huge diversity of wildlife, though you need not venture from your villa to encounter an amazing assortment of animals, birds and insects.

We all love having our personal pool, also. The beaches nearby are pristine. We are pushing the rainy season, though the cloud cover has helped keep down the temperatures.

Service, however, needs improvement. There have been various small issues with the villa, and we have had many people come by, but not much gets done. I understand that is an issue the resort management is confronting and attempting to change, however.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    85
    47
    17
    10
See reviews for
159
176
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is a real gem. The villa was beautiful, spacious, with exquisite views. There was lots to do and lots of beautiful places to do nothing. Friendly, knowledgeable staff were more interested in helping us find the experience we were looking for than selling some high-margin, off-the-shelf package. Prices for activities were reasonable and all were top notch. We heard the zip line canopy tour was one of the best in Central America, and it lived up to its reputation. The leaders, Renee and Ali, managed a diverse group of people with grace, tailoring their approach to each participant in ways that allowed all of us to be safe and have a great time. Richard, resident naturalist and tour guide, who also happens to be a trained EMT, led us on a magical night hike through the jungle where we saw great wildlife large and small. Ludo helped us find the perfect all-day excursion with Gambit tours, stopping at Dolphin Bay, Zapatilla Island and Sloth Island. We were not disappointed at any of these sites. We saw all the critters we hoped to see, and a wide variety of colorful coral and fish as we snorkeled at Coral Cay. On the way home, we saw lots of stars (star fish, that is) at a stop they called "Hollywood." We stopped to order lunch at a shore-side spot on our way out to Zapatilla, and it was ready for us when we finished snorkelling. Our guides, Nemo and Barnaby were a font of great information. They, too, were friendly, funny and accommodating to a variety of abilities and desires. We took boat taxis into Bocas Del Toro for shopping and to Bastimentos Town, where we hiked up to the Up in the Hill organic chocolate farm and coffee house. We lapped luxurious coffee and cocoa treats in a eden-esque setting, and watched them grind the cocoa before our very eyes. Santos, our boat captain for several of these trips, was skilled, warm and welcoming. Tom, the chef at Kayukos, an informal restaurant at the resort, served up local delights and good stories, all at very reasonable prices. He was great about helping us find gluten free options as well. At Kayukos, we also met Willie, a staffer who seemed to make friends with everyone, and do whatever needed doing. On our final night on the island, we had a sumptuous seaside dinner at the upscale restaurant on the property, Punta Lava. We took lots of meandering hikes, right from our villa, including four beautiful beaches and trails through the rain forest, one of which led us to a stand of Rainbow Eucalyptus. These were magical trees with striking and vibrant colors that you have to see to believe, punctuated by multiple sightings of, yes, red frogs. We would recommend this place to anyone, and hope we can return soon ourselves

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Something for everyone. Hiking on well maintained jungle paths to Polo beach for a swim in the clear blue waters. Adventuring on a hike to the Coffee shop on Bastimento's. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Enjoy the food at casual open air Kayukas.
The villa's and accommodations far exceeded my expectations for island living. Don't forget to take the boat ride in into "bohemian" bocas town....casual restaurants. Pick up some groceries so you can prepare your own meals back at the Villa. The views and almost undiscovered beaches (ie. Turtle Beach) are amazing. I will definitely be returning to Red Frog Beach resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Wen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed here many times. We always get villa 56. It comes with a golf cart and beautiful pool. Three bedrooms three baths. Couldn't ask for anything else. Very clean, and I'm very picky. Full size washer and dryer. Don't forget, if you are going for the first time, get your groceries in Bocas. They have a small little grocery store on Red Frog, but not much there. Get your eggs, milk, bread, etc. in Bocas. The manager of this place is very kind and will do what he needs to do to make your stay enjoyable. The little beach café right on the beach is cozy and relaxing. Take a good book and sit back and groove on Mother Nature. They open at around 11:00 am and close around 6 if I remember correctly. Had really good rum punch on the beach.

Room Tip: Villa 56, high on the mountain, great views and A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at Red Frog Beach only for 2 nights and were surprised by the beauty of that place !

The beaches are beautiful, it really looks like a postal card and staff there is very friendly. And the villas... Wao, we were completely amazed, we couldn't ask for anything more marvelous!
Isla Bastimentos is a small island, ideal to relax and enjoy the beauty of the nature. There are 2 restaurants, where you can taste some local flavors and one of them is right in front of the beach !
Also don't miss the Zipline experience, it is SO MUCH fun !

So if you're looking for some time for yourself, relaxing in a paradisiacal place, you should definitely go there !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

First visited beautiful Red Frog Beach with family of 5 last summer - stayed in a villa and loved every bit of the experience. Went back with my son over his spring break as a "guys bonding" trip - if possible, it was even better.
This time we stayed in the new "Jungle lodge" - less "posh" (and more cost effective) than the villas, but as there were only 2 of us, didn't need all that room. Beautiful, newly constructed unit. Very comfortable sleeping area with queen bed opens out onto a covered porch with comfortable seating and views that make you sigh and say "THIS is why we came!" Full kitchen, stocked with all the amenities to cook in for days when you don't feel like dining out (though there are 2 very good dining options at Red Frog with food ranging from snack and more typical "bar food", to amazing fresh local seafood delights, as well as restaurants to explore in Bocas).
The lodge has a stone shower, and is made of beautiful hardwoods throughout. The windows are screened and create a great cross breeze so that we never needed to use the air conditioner (though there is one in the lodge) Open windows at night also allow you to fall asleep to the jungle sounds, and even from its vantage point up on a hill for fabulous views, the very clear sounds of the waves from the beaches below fill the night.
Very comfortable, just right for 2, have heard they could bring in an air mattress if traveling with a third. Except for sleeping, most of the time is spent outdoors - exploring the jungle, beaches, ziplining, snorkeling, etc; or on the front porch with the view, or just behind the lodge at a beautiful pool shared by the other jungle lodges (so far, only 1 other lodge) . Even checked out the new spa for a massage ... surrounded by jungle, over a small waterfall ... very nice.
The staff was welcoming and helpful.
Please read the website before booking at Red Frog- it is filled with good information. This is a fabulous place for a vacation adventure, along with all the comforts of a beautiful home. It is not a "have the concierge bring my car around" kind of a place. The complaints I have read about seem to largely be based on incorrect expectations.
We loved our stay at the jungle lodge at Red Frog, and hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We liked the more "authentic" feel of the jungle lodge accommodations - close to nature, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfnbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

If like having a set of nice amenities (beautiful villas with private pools, gorgeous quiet beaches, restaurant w decent food and access to concierge that helps you navigate excursions) but not all inclusive options this is the place for you. Service was excellent! All employees were incredibly friendly and accommodating. This is NOT an all inclusive island that will cater to every whim. If that is what you are looking for, move on. We stayed for a week -- there were 9 of us. Four adults and 5 kids -- ages 3 to 15. Very quiet island which we loved. Holler monkeys, sloths and birds to see. We loved it! Zip line on the island is the BEST we have ever done. Run by an ex us special forces guy...great w kids and adults. We'd go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraw756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#6 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
10.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Property: Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing