We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise and off the tourist path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise and off the tourist path”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Awesome place to stay; as we will be going back every year. If Beach living is what you're looking for this is the place to go. The Villas are great with each having it's own infinity pool, Direct TV and Wireless internet.
Do go grocery shopping on Bocas to get snacks beverages to stock your fridge, because there is not much to buy on Bastimentos where Red Frog is located, but you can buy spirits, water and soda from them.
Breakfast is included at the Beach bar Punta Lava. Lunches are easy and would recommend the fish tacos, fresh and resonably priced. Dinners are very good as well as there is a wide variety from homemade pasta, a whole snapper or even a Beef filet which was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    88
    48
    17
    11
See reviews for
165
179
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I spent 4 days at the Red Frog Beach resort - at villa number 8 and so enjoyed my stay. Private pool where I could enjoy swimming without being disrupted, luxury villa and the huge kitchen. I loved preparing my own dinners there and I usually do not like cooking at all. I am a huge nature lover so waking up to the noise of the jungle was amazing, and then all the butterflies, humming birds and flowers around! I even had bananas growing right next to my pool. Plus, driving a golf cart around was part of the adventure, especially after the rain as the roads got all muddy, so much fun. I also walked along the Turtle beach a lot and did spend some time at the famous Red Frog beach too sipping on my favorite coconut water. Ah, and get a massage at the Susurro spa, the spa is right in the jungle, so cool! Ludo, my therapist, was so good at what he was doing and I left like a brand-new person. All the other staff working at Red Frog was super helpful, thumbs up. And if you are up for adventure, go do the the Sky Canopy Tour. It was one of the best ziplines I've ever done, and I do zipline everywhere I go :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazysexyfuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Let's just say that Red Frog Beach was so captivating that we extended our 2 day stay to 5 days.
This is definitely the perfect place for friends and large groups. Our 4 br villa was more than enough for us 4 girls. It was pure heaven to be able to wake up, walk out to our balcony and watch the sunrise over the water, or quickly dive into our private pool. The only drawback was the quality of soap in the villa, but luckily, we learned that the wife of the man who gave us the horseback riding tour, was now supplying the villas with her organic soaps!

As others have mentioned, getting around without a golf cart, is pointless. We were shocked to see people footing it, even in the dark. The roads are unpaved, gravelly, full of potholes, not to mention there are absolutely no lights!

Overall the staff was incredible. Willie in the front office made our stay 99% of what it was! He's hilarious and sweet. I agree, that the staff at the two restaurants were hit or miss. There is virtually no quality control, seeing as how ordering the same thing two or three times yielded wildly different results. Also, you never knew if you would be able to get your order in a timely fashion as the front hostess/waitress would quickly "forget" our orders, and then offer little to no apology. Forget a courtesy smile! Save for those experiences, the overall stay was something you MUST do if you visit Bocas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We needed to escape this horrible winter, so we booked a room in villa 29 for a 3 night stay, which is high up the hill overlooking the Caribbean. The unit had an infinity pool with stunning views and beautiful flora all around. The owners unit was above the room we rented on the main level that had sliding glass doors that opened right out to the patio and pool area- very nice. The owner, Chris, was basically invisible- we met him only a couple of times- very nice guy. He was respectful of our space we felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. The unit was clean and spacious- King bed with double vanity, etc. Towels and a coffee maker were provided and one inclusion was breakfast each morning at one of the two restaurants on the property. This would be the extent of the amenities. Other than that, I would not refer to this place as a resort- anything else you want, you pay extra for- if it works out.

The services are unreliable here. We booked a snorkeling trip and when we went to meet the boat on time to take us out- the desk person said they'd already left or there was a mixup and they never came? What happened wasn't clear, but the bottom line is the tour didn't happen as planned. We ended up hiring our own boat guide to take us out, so in the end it worked out- but only because we took the initiative to make it happen. The attention to detail is seriously lacking. When we approached William who booked the trip the day prior- rather than aplogizing or accepting any responsibilty, he was somewhat defensive and insisted he had made the proper arrangements- not the way to handle it.

In the end- we enjoyed ourselves- as we usually do by making the most of a situation. We discovered some wonderful beaches, hiking trails and met some nice people. After all of this, we would not hurry back or highly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dendau67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Okay so let me be real...the only thing that was paradise about this stay was the island itself and our villa. The amenties on the island were okay. First, in order to access all the amenities, you'll need to rent a golf cart! It's a necessity. There is no other way that you'll be able to navigate the compound in a timely fashion, if you decided to foot-it and not purchase a golf cart. However, even with a golf cart, the roads are unpaved and feels like you're doing off-road driving. You'll really have to hold on for dear life.

Our villa was a 2-story, 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bathroom, lavished home, which was fully furnished with everything from furniture, to a washer and dryer, and even houseware items (pots, plates, silverware, etc). We even had a small pool that over looked the island and beach. The stay was so peaceful and serene. The resort truly attempted to be accomodating in every way possible. The staff was beyond helpful, friendly, attentive.

The resturants were.............okay. For some reason the food and service varied between the morning, afternoon, and the night staff. The afternoon staff was the worst. The waitress/cashier had an attitude, would forget to bring out the orders, and our additional request for condiments. If we ordered fish and chips the night before and ordered it for lunch the following day, it would look and taste completely different from the night before.

Overall, I give the resort a A-/B+! The friendly, affable staff, and the amazing villa is what saved this rating.

Room Tip: The compound is very large and it would behoove you to rent a golf cart , other wise you'll have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NANg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had the pleasure of staying in a truly hidden gem this week. Red frog resort and villas was fabulous and we would come back here in a heart beat. Our villa was absolutely beautiful and luxurious and the pool was warm and the infinity edge made you feel like you are swimming in the jungle. The best parts for me were the beautiful beaches, we spent time on red frog beach and turtle beach and having dinners in Bocas town was also a blast to be a part of the Panamanian culture and also having tons of very affordable choices for dining. I give this place 5 stars and if you are looking for Eco tourism meets luxury resort, you should come here. I came here with my husband and 3 year old son and all had a great time. - Mimi S.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice place, but very poor service. They charge extra for every possible thing. The villa complex has no amenities. Nobody was waiting for us on arrival, we had to wal for miles and rent a boat just to get there. I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fossag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven55, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Fossag:
We are very sorry about your stay. We have an office at the airport so each of our guests should be friendly welcomed to the islands once they arrive. A short beautiful boat ride is required from Bocas Town to Isla Bastimentos where Red Frog Beach is located. A Jungle Cart should get you around so a guest should not have to walk very far.

It is a good note to keep in mind that Red Frog Beach Island Resort is very spread out. Very unlike a commercialized resort that one would experience in Cancun or other traditional locations. We want our guests to realize that we do not offer on demand style service because of the private spacious setting. We have amenities such as a spa, zipline, activity desk, beachfront restaurant and another nearby restaurant lounge area.

We want our guests expectations to be met. If you have questions about the nature of our unique resort please get in touch with us before your stay. For instance we want you to know about the bumpy roads you will experience driving through the nature preserve on the way to your accommodations:-) We can boast some of the best (and most famous) beaches in the country of Panama and splendid nature to experience but we don't have things like a fitness center or a million dollar lobby area. If you like nature and nice beaches this is a great place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
10.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 20 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Property: Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing