We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disrespect !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disrespect !!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our experience with Red Frog Beach was terrible:

We hired a villa for US 350 a night and did not have hot water for three nights !!! We asked for a compensation but our request - both during and after our stay - was just ignored. They do not reply to e-mails at all. It seems that they just don't care about customer satisfaction.

Contact with the organization before our arrival was also very lousy. They did not reply to e-mails. Their telephone numbers in Panama do not work. It seems that everything is managed from the US.

When we took the boat to the island, it resulted that the boat fee had increased.

At arrival at the pier of the island, there was nobody to receive us. We asked boat men which referred us to a restaurant up hill, ten minutes walking. On our way there, while half an hour had already passed, we met the guy who was supposed to pick us up at the pier. We had expected quite a different reception ....

Although Management is disrespectful, the island itself is very beautiful and the beaches gorgeous. (Do not forget to take repellent as it is full of musquitos !!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven55, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest:
I am sorry for the challenges you experienced during your trip. We are glad you did find that this is a beautiful island and has great beaches. Not sure what happened during your stay but we would have moved you to a different hillside villa if there was any maintenance issues. We do not have many issues with these villas (very few in fact) but if there is an issue we try to respond quickly. We receive very positive feedback on these homes as most visitors do not realize how dramatic the views of the ocean are from the hillside nor do they realize how upscale the villas really are. On behalf of our entire staff we are sorry.

Red Frog is one of the largest employers in this region and we are proud of our team of employees. Most guests enjoy learning from our Villa Hosts of what life was like growing up on these islands and understanding the unique history of the place. None of us are perfect, but our staff genuinely wants our guest's to have a great experience here.

It is rare to find mosquitoes on Bastimentos? It is a rainforest so do use a bug spray (if bugs like you) and you plan to go on a hike through the jungle out to other secluded beaches or plan to be around the mangroves on the back of the island.

We would like to have you back and try again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Team at Red Frog Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    89
    48
    18
    11
See reviews for
165
183
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My brother and I like to travel and one of our favorite destinations is Belize. Recently we switched it up and chose Panama. We stayed at Red Frog Beach Resort which is on the Caribbean side of Panama on its own private island! We stayed in Villa 30 which had the most amazing views of the ocean and jungle. Our particular villa was a 4 bedroom with marble floors, satellite TV, and wi-fi. The back patio was what really impressed us. It had an infinity pool, spa, and BBQ that overlooked the surf. Red Frog offered several tours, but our main interest was fishing and hiking on the beach. Many people staying at the resort recommended we try ziplining and while we were hesitant at first we tried it. We were so glad we did! It was really cool and we'll do it again when we return! We were very excited to explore the island and its beautiful beaches. On our beach hikes we were fortunate enough to observe monkeys, parrots, hummingbirds and sea turtles. On one of the evenings we enjoyed dinner on the beach with a bonfire. Another plus to the resort is the accommodating staff. Anything that we needed they were there to assist us. This trip was amazing and I can say after traveling to Panama, Red Frog Beach will be our new vacation spot!

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I’ve been in Red Frog few times and I did not see or hear what is written in negative review. Looks like to me some people come there to find only negatives. I would like to say about my experience. I found on Red Frog all I need: Clean beach and crystal blue water, a lot of activities and at the same time a lot of privacies. Regarding food: As villa has all you need for normal living we cook easy breakfast and grilled dinner on the Villa, but we eat lunch in Red Frog at Kayak restaurant. Constriction is almost over , but when I ‘ve been there I did not hear anything just saw some working people.
I travel 2-3 times a year and saw a lot of places on Pacific, Atlantic, Indian oceans and Caribbean and can tell that Red Frog is one of the best places I’ve ever been.
They have website www.REDFROGBEACH.com you can book your trip and ask all questions. I talk to USA office.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussianTurist64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The star of this place is the setting and that is not a knock on the resort itself. It is hard to do justice to Bastimentos Island and Red Frog Beach in writing. I would simply say go and experience it for yourself. It is beautiful, spectacular, at times raw and unfinished, but a place that will speak to your soul. It is special.

We traveled to Red Frog as two families. One in the Presidential Villa and another in the Jungle Lodge so we saw the two extremes of the resort. I can report that both were fantastic. If you want something more plush and have the budget opt for a villa. If you want a more rustic experience the Jungle Lodge was fantastic. Can't go wrong in either place...really depends on your personal tastes and budgets.

A word about Panama, particularly this region. It is still a developing country so if you are expecting a refined resort experience you need to re-adjust your expectations. There is still a bit of the "wild, wild west" going on here which, for us, is a positive. We like roughing it a bit. But if you are used to and expecting a cushy resort experience you are better off heading to more developed places.

From an activity standpoint...definitely do the zip line tour. We have done zip lines in many places and none of them compare to this one. It is breathtaking in terms of the sheer size and length of some of the sections.

All in all, if you do your homework and know what to expect in this area of the world you can't go wrong at Red Frog. We had a blast and will return again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our stay was 10 days with a day of travel tacked on each end. The villa was clean with a view of the Caribbean. The resort has a boundary with a national rain forest preserve and is well located for both hiking and surf swimming at Red Frog Beach. That beach is an ideal way to cool down at any time of day. We kayaked on the bay side and saw dolphins there and went through narrow lanes in the mangroves passing Panamanian natives in dugout canoes. On our next visit I would like to kayak on the ocean side as well. The zip line is a must with a well trained and enthusiastic crew of young locals who "know the ropes". Our stay was too short.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in villa 45. It is a luxury villa with an excellent view. We spent many hours on the patio enjoying the spectacular surroundings. It was a great spot to enjoy coffee, read a book, end the day with a drink, and cool off in the private pool. The villa is impeccably designed with all the amenities. The beaches are beautiful as well. Our visit was a wonderful opportunity to experience relaxation and jungle adventure. We observed monkeys, a tree sloth, and iguanas. The zip line is a must. We also enjoyed many local restaurants, just a short boat ride (taxi) to Bocas Town. Our favorite spot was El Ultimo Refugio. Excellent food with great atmosphere. There is so much to see and do, we could not fit it all in. We plan to visit again, and bring our children next time. Great place for families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed with two children aged 10 and 13, 6 days at Red Frog Resort in Villa 47. This 2 floor villa has all you can wish for, like 3 air-conditioned bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a luxurious kitchen, an infinity pool with separate whirlpool, wifi, and an astonishing view on the Caribean Sea. The beaches are beautiful, especially Polo Beach can be recommended when you are looking for more privacy. There are many things to do with children. We took the zip line tour, which was an awesome experience feeling like flying through the rainforest. Furthermore we took a boot trip to Zapatilla Island, which for us was as close as Paradise can be. On our way getting there we had several encounters with dolphins. Also great was the evening encounter with sea turtles on bluff beach on the island of Bocas.
To reach the beach and the restaurant from the villas, esp. the higher located ones it is highly recommended to rent a golf cart.
Since this part of Panama hasn't been explored by mass tourism yet you will find here the through beauty of nature and its wildlife. An unforgettable experience which was completed by the very nice and helpful personnel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold_B_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
415 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
304 reviews
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Property: Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing