We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Caribbean View(Isla Bastimentos)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Buccaneer Resort(Carenero Island)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bocas del Toro(Bocas Town)
$131
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
385
103
55
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
103
55
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolgolf cartpunta lavared frogbedroom villazip liningwater taxifull kitchencanopy touractivity centerwasher and dryerla rosabuy groceriesjungle villageplaya tortugapanama citybeach bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 585 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

VIsited Red Frog Beach on my two day trip to Bocas del Toro. Lunch at their restaurant was very good and then spent the rest of the day on the beach. Saw some “Red Frogs” and had some drinks at the Punta Lava Beach Bar. The water is so clear and the color is amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Turner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've been on this island for 5 days and I can describe my experience as magic, is like being in a castle in the middle of the jungle. The villas are beautiful, comfortable and luxury. They have an amazing landscaping, each villa has a private pool and they are all different, beautiful view.

They have a restaurant name Kayukos that provides a very good attention and delicius Panamenian food, fish and sea food. Red Frog Beach is in my opinion the best beach in Bocas Del Toro, There are more beaches on the island but unfortunately the community does not clean them. I totally recommend visiting this place and enjoying all the activities that they offer. We had a fantastic experience there.

Room Tip: All Villas have beautiful views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Red Frog Beach in October and had a wonderful experience. We traveled as 2 couples so it was wonderful to rent a villa with two master bedroom suites with private baths. The quality of construction was very good and the furnishings were of high quality. The view off the balcony was breathtaking and a joy to wake up to. I especially enjoy the morning walk on the beautiful soft sand beach, as well as the afternoon swim in the warm, clear water.

We saw sloths, capuchin monkeys, many red frogs, and enjoyed the jungle surroundings with all the comforts of home in the beautiful villas.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurants, while not plentiful at this point, served tasty food at reasonable prices.

I would recommend this resort to anyone, and I am confident it will be an even greater experience next year when the villas are completed and the roads are paved. I strongly believe this resort will rival and exceed any beach resort in the world!

Room Tip: Seemed like most villas had beautiful views. #13 was great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We did not stay at the resort but made a day visit to the beach, which was a disappointment. The beach is full of all kind of garbage (PET bottles, cans, plastic bags, used dipers etc.) flushed up by the sea. They charge $3/person to enter the island, the resort, chair renters, restaurants and bars all make benefits from the visitors but nobody seems to care about to keep it clean.

Room Tip: If you look for a clean beach, do not go to this island
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Cosmopolitan_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raven55, Guest Relations Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Day visitors are always welcome to come visit and enjoy Red Frog Beach.

We regularly clean our beaches and sometimes there is a storm that can bring in debris. Keep in mind that Red Frog Beach is a long beach and this review does not reveal if any of this trash was noticed at our restaurant, boardwalk peninsula or in the general vicinity of the resort. Most all of the time, our portion of Red Frog Beach is clean and our guests appreciate the serene and wild beauty!

Keep in mind that the villa accommodations are located above Turtle Beach which is more private than Red Frog Beach. Guests enjoy being able to access Red Frog Beach where they will see other day visitors from Bocas Town coming to ride the zipline, eat at Punta Lava or just relax on one of Panama's best beaches - but villa guests also have access to other beaches where they will find nearly no one there - nice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There was a lot to like about Red Frog. The grounds were a beautiful combination of wild jungle and manicured flowering plants. We enjoyed watching the birds, butterflies and capuchin monkeys. There was access to nice tours such as Coral Key where the coral was the most colorful I have ever seen. The food at the restaurant was simple but tasty and reasonably priced and the ladies who work there were very nice and always smiling.
The resort says the villas are discounted due to construction but we did not find the construction to be a problem. We were disappointed, however, by the quality of the villa, the many added costs and the trash on the beach.
Our Villa 54 was pretty but has been allowed to deteriorate with stains on the sofas, curtains, pillow cases, towels and rugs and holes in the sofa and floor. The owner really needs to fix up.
No beach amenities whatsoever are provided to guests. Everything from chairs to boogie boards must be rented which adds up. A golf cart is essential. Roads are unpaved and rugged, distances are long and there are no lights. This will cost another $200 per week.
The resort charges guests for what they deem to be extra electric usage. They say this is a "conservation tactic." We were charged a small fee even though we were rarely there during the day. At night we had no choice but to use air conditioning because there were no screens on the windows and lots of bugs. There were cool ocean breezes and had there been screens we would not have needed the air conditioner. Wouldn't a better conservation tactic be to install screens?
Also, we were saddened by the amount of trash lining the beach from Turtle to Polo beaches. Trash is washed in by the tides but we did not see anyone tasked with removing it during the entire week we were there. Shouldn't a clean beach be a top priority for a beach resort?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank suntravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews