We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Villas at Red Frog Beach are truly spectacular. With jaw-dropping views of the Caribbean, private pools, and luxurious accommodations- this place offers it all... except for crowds and your standard "package" vacation. So, if you're a little adventurous and looking for something unique, Red Frog Villas offer the vacation of a lifetime. I returned for my 3rd visit to Red Frog last week (I just can't get enough of the place!) and the place seems more spectacular every time I visit. Lush jungle, too many sloths to count (the babies were just born!), and the warm turquoise waters of the Caribbean make this place one of a kind.

At first I was concerned that the villas are a little too remote to enjoy the town of Bocas and nearby island activities, but catching boat taxis was easy to organize and the villas hosts are extraordinarily helpful. The remote location of the villas is an asset- as you essentially have private beaches (turtle beach) and it is a very safe location. The remoteness did not at all cause any inconveniences- taking boat taxis around it an adventure in itself! The cave tour was outstanding! Be prepared to get a little dirty, but exploring the jungle and underground cave systems is fascinating. And the Zipline- I've done the zipline at Red Frog 4 times- SO FUN!

Thanks to Jermaine, Enrique, Winston, and all the staff at Red Frog for their outstanding service and attention. I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhosteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    87
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
163
177
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Red Frog Resort and villas are amazingly beautiful. What a fantastic place to stay! The resort is remote and feels incredibly private. All of the beaches: Red Frog, Turtle Beach and Wizard Beach are stunning, white sandy beaches with hardly a sole around. We went caving, ziiplining, hiking, snorkeling and had plenty of relaxation time. The villas are fantastic. Not only are they luxurious, but they also have everything you need. Our pool had a beutiful view of the ocean and having a kitchen to cook meals in was great. We were also impressed with the two restaurants we went to on the days we weren't up for cooking. The staff is wonderful and incredibly helpful. It's a great place for families or groups of friends. I would recommend staying for at least a week; five days was not long enough! I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 28- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We fell in love with Red Frog and Panama the moment we reached Red Frog beach. The property is amazing....flowers, wildlife, empty beaches to be found. We spent a ton of time exploring the trails, beaches, and beyond. We walked all the way to Bastimentos town which was an adventure involving accidentally trespassing on a local farmer's property (all good...he helped us find the trail again!), being knee deep in muck, and almost disobeying every single 'walking in the jungle' rule out there...but we made it, and it was fun! I feel like we did so much and there was much more to do.

The ziplining scared the living [--] out of me, but it was breathtaking and the guys who run it are incredibly patient with everyone on the tour. Really, it is a MUST DO, but not for the faint of heart/heights!

We saw TONS of wildlife--the sounds at night can not be explained. Various frogs, lizards, 1 sloth--no monkeys--but maybe next time!

Our Villa was gorgeous--Villa 9--which we shared with some other couples. We had the Master Suite which had 2 private balconies and a huge private bathroom--it doesn't get much better. Private pool outside was nice--but we spent most of our time at the beach. Fully stocked Kitchen, tons of room. Washer/ Dryer is so helpful to have, especially if you're coming/going to somewhere else. There are chargers out front for the golf carts, an outdoor grill, outdoor eating area. Wireless internet access that was VERY consistent. There was absolutely nothing to complain about with the Villa--fantastic.

There are some quirks with the property that everyone should know about before they book--we found them irrelevant to our enjoyment, but still good to know. Golf Cart--as mentioned here previously, if you don't like the idea of walking several miles each day (and navigating hills/darkness) then rent a golf cart. We stayed for 5 nights and rented one only 2 days when we had to haul stuff around or were going to be returning back to the dock late at night and didn't want to hike up the hill in the dark. We drunkenly hitched a ride a couple of times too (thanks Chris!)....it was a little obnoxious, but people are so cool here, they didn't seem to mind!

Food/Supplies--you're going to carry them all in from Bocas Town or Bastimentos Town unless you feel like eating at Punta Lava beach bar (Great fish tacos and nachos!) or the main restaurant--we had lunch there one time and it was fine--but nothing to write home about. We spent tonnnnns of time at Punta Lava for great rum punch ($2.50!), beers, and we met so many cool people staying there at the villas or at the hostel. This is a place where everyone is friendly, engages in conversation...it is just a warm environment. And the staff is great--can't say enough about them....Angelo, Jermaine, Enrique--all great, helpful, kind!

Transportation--if you want to go out at night to Bocas town or Bastimentos you are going to have to negotiate the water taxi situation at rates that are not the same as during the day ($5 per person during the day). You might pay $20 one way one night, $30 round trip the next night, just be prepared for this. Gas is expensive there so you just have to suck it up pay what you have to pay :) The staff at the activity center will organize it all for you if you don't want to deal with haggling.

Overall I would highly suggest Red Frog...you can find complete solitude or meet and socialize with a ton of great people--whatever you wish. The only question is....when can we go back...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family (kids 14 and 12) spent a week at Red Frog Beach over Spring Break. The resort is beautiful and the villas are amazing! Every villa has a great view of the ocean and is luxurious and includes a private pool. The resort is large and the golf carts made getting around fun and easy. Rain forest wildlife was abundant with sightings of monkeys, three toed sloths, iguanas, parrots and, of course, the cute little red frogs. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9kasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

My family stayed at Red Frog for two weeks and absolutely loved it. This was our second trip to the island and just had to write a review this time. There are so many things to do. We body surfed at Red Frog, took a jungle walk, hiked the beaches and picked huge conch shells, kayaked, snorkeled, rode the incredible zip line over the jungle floor, took day trips to many wonderful beaches and just hung out by the infinity pool overlooking the beach. The wildlife was great....we saw a sloth hanging in the tree just off our porch, monkeys in the jungle, a manta ray, and numerous beautiful birds.
The villas are first class with all of the amenities. A great place to unwind after a day of adventure. The weather was great...bring lots of sun screen!
Kayoukos is great place to hang out and play pool or ping pong or to grab a bite to eat. When we were there they had an excellent Red Snapper and a delicious Easter brunch. Punta Lava is another restaurant at Red Frog and the food there was also excellent.
The resort staff was attentive and very friendly. We had a blast getting to know them.
I see why there motto is adventure by day and luxury by night. We have been to several places in the Caribbean/Virgin Islands and can't wait to get to Red Frog.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truce22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

For our second stay at Red Frog, we rented Villa #13 for an entire month. This villa is located in the Los Altos part of the resort and commands extraordinary views of the Caribbean and several small cays off shore. The villa was superbly furnished and included a beautiful infinity pool in whiich you could "disappear" into the sea on the horizon. The villa host, Enrique, was extremely helpful in every respect. The entire operation, even while the resort is completing construction of Phase I, is run very smoothly. The service at the resort's eateries, Kayukos and Punta Lava, is excellent allowing for the slower pace and Caribbean vibe. (SHOUT OUT to Rafael, Miquel and Angelo!!!) The weekly dinners, hosted by Pauldi and the guest chef, were delicious and of great value for the money. Needless to say, the beaches are among the most beautiful in the world, some of them are entirely deserted. Slogging through the muddy paths in the surrounding jungle, while not for everyone, brings you closer to the reality of the undisturbed rain forrest and the local critters....every day brought a new insect and a new sort of jungle plant or flower. As there are no cars, recommend rental of a golf cart for at least part of any long stay. Since the province of Bocas del Toros is an archipeligo, getting in and out of boats is a constant if you want to travel between the various islands. The boat captains are very helpful and will, with prior arrangement, take you anywhere in in the archipeligo.....I recommend a trip to Los Cayos Zapatillos. For our next trip, we'll be buying a jungle lodge within the Red Frog resort......this place is THAT beautifu!

Room Tip: Villas in Los Altos provide a nicer view, while villas in Los Bajos provide quicker and easier acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RFTGJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Our vacation at Red Frog Beach Resort was great! My husband, and three kids (ages 12,8 and 6) stayed in a villa that was elegant, comfortable and clean. The view from our balcony and pool area was amazing. The pool was lovely and my kids never wanted to get out unless we were going to the beach!
Turtle Beach was stunningly beautiful and often we were the only people there. The waves were fun for body surfing and the water was clear and warm.
We took the kids for a jungle hike and had an adventure looking for red frogs, sloths and many interesting insects. It was hot and muggy in the depth of the jungle, but there was a pleasant breeze once we returned to our villa.
The zip line canopy tour was one of the many highlight of this trip. Do not miss it! All of the kids went on the zip line and loved it! The "Fly the Sky" staff was great and really helped the kids feel comfortable and safe.
The catamaran sunset cruise was beautiful and relaxing. The dolfins seem to come right on cue as the sun was setting. Our kids loved it!
We ate most of our meals at the villa, but had lunch one day at Punta Lava. The burgers and nachos were good and the rum punch was delicious! We also had dinner one night in Bocas at Refugio and it was excellent.
I can't say enough about how beautiful this area is and how much we enjoyed our stay. The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. Red Frog Beach Resort is the perfect mix of luxury and adventure! We definitely will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank London D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
3.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#6 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.3 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Property: Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle--this is the perfect place. Two restaurants, 4 beaches, Zipline, surfing, snorkeling, hiking, sailing and famous cave tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing