We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful island resort secluded in one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been on”
Review of Red Frog Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Frog Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Red Frog bungalows is the place to stay...my friend and I went to relax after staying in the town of Bocas for a couple of nights and it was everything that we expected. Scott picked us up by boat and it was only a short boat ride over to the resort where you get out among tropical flowers and trees. A short walk takes you to the balanesian bungalows that you stay in. They are beautiful, hard wood two story bungalows with an outdoor shower and two decks that overlook the gardens. During the day you relax on your front porchin the hammock or steps away you relax on the beach. We took a kayaking trip over to a secluded beach one day to go snorkeling and it was one of the most beautiful remote places I have ever been. After dinner, we jumped in the natural hot tub that was amazing and so relaxing! I can't say more about this place...and of course, Scott, makes you feel right at home! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2009

Red Frog Bungalows is situated on a narrow island surrounded by clear, crystal blue water. A twenty minute, smooth boat ride and a quick walk down a scenic pathway lined with tropical vegetation brought us to the main grounds. Welcoming us at the end of the path were two beautifully crafted bungalows, resting in the midst of a botanist’s paradise.

The front porch of each bungalow housed a table and chairs for privately enjoying a cocktail, and a hammock convenient for fighting off jet lag. On the first floor was a large, comfortable sofa that could easily turn into an extra bed if needed. The bathroom was modern with contemporary toilet, sink and attractive dressing table. It was eco but not to the point of sacrificing cleanliness. The large outdoor shower (my favorite part) was nicely tiled and supplied complete privacy without spoiling the outdoor feel. And yes, the water was always hot!

The double beds were located on the second floor and loft area, easily sleeping five to six people. Off of the bedroom was a deck perfect for sipping our morning coffee and observing the surrounding wildlife. The kitchen area, though not noisy or intrusive, was only a few steps away from the bungalows and included several comfy “chill” spots, hammocks and a fresh spring hot tub for relaxing in the evening. A pool table and DVD projector offered further entertainment. We were unfortunately visiting in between chefs but on our last day, we got to sample the incoming chef's cuisine and our mouths are still watering. Seriously.

The beach was just a two minute walk up a private path from the bungalows and we were offered complementary lounge chairs and the opportunity to seek refuge from the mid-day sun under one of three large thatched-roofed huts. The sand was fine and the water clear and WARM! When we weren't basking on Red Frog beach (which we practically had to ourselves everyday), we were escorted to nearby keys to snorkel. I'm talking white sand, ocean clearer than drinking water, and brightly colored fish busily swimming about masses of coral reef. I should mention that rumor has it there are awesome places to surf as well that Scott is more than happy to show you, but we were more into the sunbathing thing. Apparently Scott is a pretty "killer" surf guide. Oh yeah, and there are free kayaks and boogie boards for use as well.

As for the hospitality, Scott and his staff were amazing, working hard to make sure our stay was safe, clean and enjoyable. Scott was attentive, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about everything this vacation spot has to offer. He knew where to go, when to go, what to see, and took us anywhere we wanted to go himself, practically at the drop of a hat. Note, if you’re itching to get into town for a drink or a good meal, he can recommend a spot and arrange a taxi. There are several quaint dockside places in Bocas that serve refreshing cocktails, fresh fish, and delicious fried plantains.

This is probably the longest review ever written on TripAdvisor but I just couldn't leave anything out. I honestly have never been on a better vacation in my life. This is a haven for surfers but just as enjoyable for those who just want a therapeutic tropical get away to cure the winter blues or the stress of working life. I have to warn Club Med seekers that this is not a pampering, manicure, hot oil treatment kind of place. If you're not into the outdoors and just want a massage, go to Mexico. To all others, you will not regret your stay at RFB, in fact, you'll probably come back for seconds. Thanks to everyone for making our trip “wicked” memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

we've been on sixty international trips and this one is a bit difficult to review.This property is not a resort, more like eco-cabins in an island tropical forest. basic, enviromentally friendly with a great owner and cook, they really take their time to try and share red frog's charms and attractions. if you like a friendly enthusiastic owner showing you a beautiful place and don't mind rustic you'll love it. we had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhobbiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

If you only have a limited time in Panama or want to explore Bocas Red Frog is the place to stay. Easy access to good surf, beautiful beaches, and ultra friendly people. The Bungalows are clean, spacious, and nestled within the rain forest. They offer plenty of amazing excursions as well.
We stayed over a week and were sad to leave the beaches, tranquility and people of Red Frog Bungalows.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFTravl878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I had a great trip in Panama with Red Frog Bungalows. The combination of guided surfing and seclusion make RFB a unique option for staying in Bocas. The places in town are just that – in town. Bocas is kind of busy and turns into a party town at night. RFB is the place to stay if you want some solitude. You can always make a quick boat ride into town if you want.

Scott does an excellent job as a surf guide. You can tell he enjoys surfing with his guests. He rips and is as excited about surfing as someone who is trying it for the first time. Scott got me into some great conditions and we managed to surf a couple times with nobody out. We had several four hour sessions and he always wanted to stay out just as long as I did. Staying at RFB allows you to hit some spots that are too far for the surfers in town. We got some excellent beach break surf with no one in sight. It was unforgettable.

The food at RFB was excellent. Michael put together flavors like nothing I’ve tasted. You have to have his pizza at least one night during your stay. I swear the guy can make anything, just off the top of his head. The bungalows are awesome and you get the feeling that you are staying in a jungle paradise.

One of the things you won’t get from the reviews and websites is that it’s a lot of fun hanging out with the people at RFB. After hours of surfing, Scott and Michael took me into town for a “medical emergency,” which is a code word for a little partying at the Aqua Lounge. Hanging out with Scott and Michael was a blast and we had a good laugh about a potential online business – you’ll have to ask Scott about it if you meet him, you’ll die laughing.

You can trust this review came from a “real" unbiased person.” Check out my site (pics from Panama up soon):

www.myspace.com/fuelinjectedsuicidemachin

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbrown1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Three teenage boys, three dads and a week in February to go surfing. We took a shot in the dark with Red Frog Bungalows and it was awesome. Perched at the edge of the jungle and the coconut tree-lined Carribean coast, the two bungalows are both a relaxing retreat and an exciting launch point for some spectacular surfing.

The first morning, we walked 10 minutes to "backyards" past noisy monkeys in the tree tops, slid into the clear 85 degree water and surfed until breakfast. Leanna and Mike cooked up a scrumptious breakfast and then it was off to the boat for a day of surfing. Or was that the second day? No wait, that was every day.

We surfed stand up barrels, beach breaks, left point breaks, shallow reef breaks, deep reef breaks and even 13-15' monsters at Silverbacks. - all within a 20-minute boat ride. Scott knew just where and when to go for the best surf. No crowds, just clean pumping surf. The surfing and pictures were awesome. Evenings were filled with dinners of local lobster, ping-pong, pool and surf videos all in the covered, outdoor dining area.

The boys are already talking about next year. Its hard to disagree. Scott, Mkie & Leanna, thank you for a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable week. Can't wait until next year!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olddudeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Just off the plane, we were greeted by Scott from Red Frog Bungalows. A short boat ride later through the mangroves we arrived at the site. The service was great the whole trip. The best part of staying at Red Frog was the very friendly atmosphere. The site is beautiful and takes you back from life in the city in a second. Unless you are extremely high maintenance, Red Frog is more than you could ask for in a beautiful jungle atmosphere. The bungalows are very cool. They are three stories and have a very comfortable feeling. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the caribbean ocean crashing on the shore us unbeatable. One of the things that I judge my stay on anywhere in the world is the food. THE FOOD WAS EXCELENT! Mike and Leanna are great chefs. They make a variety different types of food catered to your liking. Breakfast was perfect and made fresh every morning at the time we asked. During our stay we had lobster bisque, lasgna, fish plates, gyros, and more. All of the food was very fresh and filling. I can't say enough about the atmosphere; eating dinner every night outdoors in the warm Panamanian air surrounded by friends and family was the best. If you are coming for the surf, it is fabulous. There are always uncrowded waves. One thing that everyone was worried about going to Red Frog was mosquitos. The mosquitos were NOT an issue. The jungle was very vibrant and full of life. For example, we saw monkeys, parrots, lots of birds, and fish snorkeling. Red Frog Bungalows is a great way to jump into paradise right off the plane.
Thanks Scott, Mike, Leanna, and Chato!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcjkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
538 reviews
0 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
353 reviews
9.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Bungalows

Address: 808 Red Frog Beach, Isla Bastimentos 96779, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $284 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Bungalows in an all-inclusive eco-resort on the world famous Red Frog Beach. Located 15 minutes from Bocas Del Toro, Red Frog Beach is a mile long white sand beach. Red Frog Bungalows are Balinese bungalows rebuilt on this gorgeous beach. Our maximum capacity is 12 guests in 3 units. We are a small resort which allows us to tailor your entire stay. The amenities include private outdoor showers, exotic Balinese furnishings, private chef, beachfront palapa with hammocks and beach chairs, surf board rentals and private professional tours. We have our own guides and boats to make sure all of your tours are safe, informative, and enjoyable. We specialize in making sure you have the most enjoyable vacation of your lives. We offer 3 gourmet meals a day in the tranquility of the Panamanian rain forest, hiking, surfing, beach combing, fishing, Standup Paddle-boarding, and snorkeling. Basically anything that has to do with the ocean. Red Frog Bungalows would love to show you around this beautiful place in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Frog Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Bungalows Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Bungalows Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing