We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place for surfers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Frog Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Frog Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for surfers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The jungle setting is beautifully landscaped as are the beaches. The bungalows are very very dark and the screened windows few. There was a distinct smell of septic wafting in our sleeping area - owner shrugged and said it was the composting toilets. Mosquito netting okay except pushed into space and face when ran the fan. Beautful tiled outdoor shower with intermittent hot water.

Beach lovely but relatively crowded. We were told not leave our things unattended, which hampered swimming with a buddy.

We were told not to hike even locally without a quide due to robbery risk. We felt stuck.

There were no posted excursions and with owner away, could not make any plans.

THe owner, is very knowledgeable and affable. This is a great place for the right audience, but not for us and was impossible to discern its actual conditions from the website.

Room Tip: Tent with working attached bathroom actually best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cimprichr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uluman, Owner at Red Frog Bungalows, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Red Frog Bungalows is a small eco-oriented resort that caters to the personal wants and needs of our guests. I appreciate the feedback and we are constantly looking to improve our guests experience. I personally book all of our reservations because I want to make sure it is the right fit for everyone. We specialize in customer service and personalized tours and activities. We have our own boats and guides to make sure every part of your vacation is top shelf!
I never shrug at any of the issues that arise at my resort. I am an owner/operator and take an amazing amount of pride at the services we provide. From the staff, to the food, to the small details that make your experience memorable.

I want to address only the major issues below.
One is the smell of septic. This smell came from a vent that was accidentally left open when we were doing our monthly rounds. Thank you for bringing this to my attention and it was fixed before you left the property.
Second is the issue of theft. There has been theft before in Bocas Del Toro. Petty theft. I am sure this is comes to nobody's no surprise to any of you that have traveled anywhere in the world. I have a guide that does all of our hikes to assure that you have a wonderful experience. He points out animals, knocks down coconuts to keep you hydrated, watches you gear when you jump in crystal clear Caribbean water and makes sure you dont get lost. I provide this guide free of charge to all of our guests!!! Red Frog Beach is the safest beach in Panama. We have beachfront sun chairs under a natural thatch palapas and a gentleman that is on the beach to help you with any questions or problems. All of the belongings are safe. We have never had anything stolen because we take certain precautions. I am very sorry that this group felt trapped because I was up front and told them why we have a local guide. Everyone else over the last 5 years thinks this is an amazing service that we provide free of charge.
The last point is the tours we offer. There is a booklet which states all of the tours we offer. We also have photos in our restaurant of all the activities. We like to talk about tours the night before over dinner. We are very knowledgeable about local weather conditions which is vital to choosing the right tour on the right day. We will not take you snorkeling in 15 foot waves! But we will take you surfing in 15 foot waves.

The demographics for the resort is families and couples ranging from age 18-55. This group was well into their 60's and I take the ultimate blame for booking the reservation. They were not the right fit for our resort. They also wrote the review "Thoughts on our visit" if you had any doubt...Once again I appreciate all of the feedback and this will help us in the future to become better at what we do best......... Create an amazing experience for everyone that steps through our doors!! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    5
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
68
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicaragua, Panama, El Salvador, Indonesia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Amazing jungle lodging and courteous attentive staff. The quiet, peaceful setting is out of a tropical dream. Owner Scott has innate knowledge of the area's many islands and the best times/ conditions to enjoy the excellent surfing, fishing, snorkeling, exploring, etc- that will be the difference that will make this trip probably one of the best of your life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visualnetworking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you like isolated settings, some local adventure, amazing waves, and want to be comfortable and well serviced at the same time, then the Red Frog Bungalows is the place to stay in Bocas Del Toro. Located on a separate island away from the tourists and main population, you will feel like you have completely removed yourself from the everyday common lifestyle, but in reality you are only 15 minutes by boat to the main town and airport so everything is easily accessible and will facilitate everyone's general needs. High season or low season I would not pass up the opportunity to stay with the crew at Red Frog Bungalows, and I am already looking forward to my return!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Red Frog Bungalows were an amazing wonderful experience for our family over the Christmas/New Years Holiday! Situated on Isla Bastimentos, Panama in Bocas del Toro (Caribbean). The bungalows are beautifully crafted and surrounded by a lush carefully landscaped jungle, only a minute walk to the best beach in Bocas del Toro.

Scott took great care of us, even before we got there. He helped us with our itinerary before and after Red Frog Bungalows, so our entire Panama trip was well planned, enjoyable and uniquely suited to our family's desires. Scott saved us more than once! He is a wealth of local info, and always available to help plan what you want to do today.

All of the crew at Red Frog Bungalows know what they're doing and totally reliable. The guides took us hiking, snorkeling, boating, surfing, snorkeling. Bobo cooked delicious meals every day.

We had lazy days at a beautiful sunny beach building sandcastles napping in hammocks, and great surfing / adrenaline pumping days Rope Walking-ZipLining. Whatever you and your group were in the mood for could be had.

We *highly* recommend Red Frog Bungalows as your next vacation destination!

The Barbers

Room Tip: Do bring flashlights as it gets really dark there at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

For what its worth I have travelled all over the world on surf trips, a lot of Mexico and Central America. Over the years I have become more and more critical of places and picky with what I am looking for. I was looking for a place that I could go score waves and not be gone all day looking for the best option just to come back to a pissed off girlfirend cause you stayed out too long waiting for it to get good or you were on a mission trying to find the best wave in the area. At red frog these boys have their operation dialed! Wethere you are on a boys trip looking to score waves and surf your nuts off all day or on a romance trip with your chick and frothing for surf, Scott and Red Frog Bungalows has everything you are going to need/want and more. Scott and his Glass is Half full mentality is uber contagious and makes for some serious bro-down sessions and garuntees fun. I happened to be there when the surf was perfect and playful head to a couple feet over head every day but i am sure if the surf didnt cooperate as much I still would have had a blast. My gf loved the place and fealt super secure and comfortable even after leaving her for 4-5 hours a day for surf, casue she could just chill, read her books, have a few drinks and feel like she is being waited on hand and foot by the staff. Trust me the answer is always Yes when you ask for something or to do something. She likes that. We kept saying to eachother that this place was the perfect blend of adventure and luxury. Didnt have to think about what we were going to eat or what we were going to do with our day and on vacation that is all you really want, to not have to think. AS i told people when I got back to SD, "I dont think i could ever go to Bocas and not stay with Scott." We loved our stay and I am currently trying to figure out how to get back there. Scott, What do you think of my bachelor party boys trip Dec 2014?? Yeeewwwww psyching!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Let me start by saying that, literally, we could not have had a better experience. (Well, except for falling out of the boat, but that was entirely my own fault....). From the moment we contacted Scott via email to book our trip, we received fast, friendly, easy-going service. Booking was simple and straight forward. That trend continued from the minute we arrived. Everyone who works at the resort is awesome - Chato (all around great guy and boat chauffeur), Bobo (best chef in Bocas), Antoine (surf guide extraordinaire!), and Scott (owner and head surfer), as well as the rest of the staff, these are just plain good people who want you to have a great time.

The Bungalow - in the jungle less than a minute walk from the beach, these are the coolest accommodations! You are up high enough to catch the breeze (and the fan(s) help a lot!!!) and the sounds of the waves, jungle and rain on the roof are magical. The completely private outdoor shower is so cool. There are stairs to navigate inside in the dark, so I suggest bringing a small flashlight or headlight. Comes in handy walking to the bar, too! The staff keep everything really clean and neat, both inside the bungalows and around the stunning grounds.

The service - these guys really know how to take care of their guests. We were on our way to surf within maybe 15 minutes of arriving. They were fantastic about taking us in the boat to breaks that we would enjoy (we are longboarders) and letting us surf until we just couldn't paddle any more or the tide shut the surf down. They know their surf, so they don't just take you out at a certain time each day, they judge the surf, tides, etc, and take you when and where it will be worth it. They were also great about helping us get to Bocas town and other places we were doing other activities (scuba).

The food - you'll see this mentioned in most of the reviews and no one is exaggerating. The food rocked! Every meal was stellar. We learned immediately to not ask questions, but to just trust Bobo to create something awesome. He made everything from fish tacos to chicken curry to fried rice. Everything looked pretty simple, but the flavors were incredible.

The location - there is a bar/restaurant down the beach a bit, and another one at the resort next door. We didn't venture much further than that, mostly because we didn't feel we needed to. There are dedicated hammocks and beach chairs on the beach to use, which was perfect for the few minutes we took to actually relax. Also understand there is some very good snorkeling just off the point at the beach, though we didn't get there. It's a stunning beach, good for walking, swimming, lounging...whatever. I would imagine some people, especially if you're not there to surf, might run the risk of getting bored after too long, but seriously, I never would.

Summary - would we go back to Red Frog Bungalows? In a heartbeat. Would we recommend this place to others? Even faster.

What are you waiting for, just go!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Red Frog bungalows are a fantastic escape from a hectic lifestyle. Tropical settings, great beaches, fantastic food, Red Frog bungalows covers it all. Scott and his crew have it down. The best "local" experience without being touristy at all. By the end of our stay we felt like part of the family. Relaxing was priority número uno for us but so was the ability to go explore. Nice balance of amenities and excursions. Fantastic weather the entire time we were there. 80s and sunny. We prayed for rain one night and prayers were answered! Definitely best vacation in a very long time. We will be back for another game of darts (and when I get better at ping pong)...

The Ransom "rainmakers"

Room Tip: Bungalow over tentalow for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Bungalows

Property: Red Frog Bungalows
Address: 808 Red Frog Beach, Isla Bastimentos 96779, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Bungalows in an all-inclusive eco-resort on the world famous Red Frog Beach. Located 15 minutes from Bocas Del Toro, Red Frog Beach is a mile long white sand beach. Red Frog Bungalows are Balinese bungalows rebuilt on this gorgeous beach. Our maximum capacity is 12 guests in 3 units. We are a small resort which allows us to tailor your entire stay. The amenities include private outdoor showers, exotic Balinese furnishings, private chef, beachfront palapa with hammocks and beach chairs, surf board rentals and private professional tours. We have our own guides and boats to make sure all of your tours are safe, informative, and enjoyable. We specialize in making sure you have the most enjoyable vacation of your lives. We offer 3 gourmet meals a day in the tranquility of the Panamanian rain forest, hiking, surfing, beach combing, fishing, Standup Paddle-boarding, and snorkeling. Basically anything that has to do with the ocean. Red Frog Bungalows would love to show you around this beautiful place in the world! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Frog Bungalows Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Bungalows Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing