We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of Red Frog Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Frog Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved listening to the ocean, birds and wind during the day and at night. The bungalows are set slightly off the beach with a sandy walk way to the beach. The gardens are immaculate and serene. We stayed in the tentalow and were very happy- its quite large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    5
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
70
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swainton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Perfect location just steps from the perfect beach. The owner Scott's knowledge of the boca's area was very helpful and his positive energy is very contagious. We surfed the best least crowded waves everyday of our stay. The boat and taxi rides were always on time. The staff rules. Food was great. I couldn't have asked for a better Boca's experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As I sat down to write this review, I contemplated whether or not I was going to give Red Frog Bungalows a disconcerting 1 star review - forever tar-and-feathering it's sterling reputation. Not because it wasn't deserved of 5 starts, but because like all things that are actually too good to be true, we selfishly hope to keep them a secret. Fortunately, this moment was fleeting, and alas my moral judgement caught the best of me - five stars!

Everybody should be entitled to such a kick-[--] vacation as the one I was so privileged to experience, and Red Frog Bungalows is where they will find it.

Scott and his staff are well respected by the locals, and will give you a truly off the beaten path experience (IF... that's what you so desire). Otherwise, feel free to kick back - as another Trip Advisor reviewer so eloquently put it: "Robinson Carusoe" style - and relax. Home cooked meals three times a day. Surfing. Kayaking. Drinking. Relaxing. Whatever your prerogative.

Honestly, you can't go wrong here.

Bring bug repellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not a drop out of place at the bungalows! Scott and crew take care of everything the second you step off the plane. Great food, clean drinking water, hot showers, and top of the line pangas are at your disposal. If you're going for surf, Scott's knowledge of the bocas area is second to none. The most unique and quality accommodations i've ever experienced!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We found RFB via TripAdvisor, and my only regret is that we didn't stay longer! We goofed up our arrangements with Scott and ended up having to get ourselves over to Red Frog's dock in the mangroves; and then -- as with many other places in Panama -- wayfinding signage is minimal, so we ended up trekking through more jungle than was truly necessary...but that actually adds to the RFB experience: everything is built to fit in seamlessly with nature. Our "jungalow" was huge, with everything thoughtfully designed, from the solar power to the recycled rainwater. Red Frog Beach is a super short walk, and absolutely gorgeous. We made use of the lounge chairs reserved for RFB guests. Scott was a great host, and his staff -- especially Chato the boat driver, and Bobo the chef -- were very cool and nice. We didn't know the first thing about surfing, but when Scott picked up on our interest, he immediately booked a lesson for us and encouraged us to quit our lives in Chicago and move to Bastimentos for a life of fun in the sun. We'll think about it!!! :)

Room Tip: Call ahead well in advance so you can get a room that fits your needs and price. Our jungalow was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazenlizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

In a word: EPIC! I recently spent 7 days with Scott and his crew and I have to say it will go down in history as one of the coolest surf trips/ travel experiences I have ever had! Key highlights:

*Bungalows are unreal (Scott had them built in Indonesia, dissembled them, and then rebuilt them in Panama). All wood, two stories, just plain awesome.

* Food is fresh, local and Bobo (the chef) is a the REAL DEAL.

* The guides are knowledgeable, solid surfers and really help you max out your days surfing. We surfed over 6 different spots that I would have never made it to on my own.

* Red Frog Beach is beautiful. I travled all over Bocas and this is definitely the best spot to post up.

*Scott is HANDS DOWN one of the coolest, most genuinely stoked guys I have ever met. Same goes for his whole team.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZackaSwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great staff and beautiful, unique surroundings made our trip truly memorable! My boyfriend and I stayed in the tentalow for our 8 day vacation at Red Frog Bungalows. The owner, Scott, made sure we were always entertained with the many activities available... We snorkeled, scuba dived, surfed, did stand up paddle boarding, went fishing (catching tons of fish on a hand rail) and more. We highly recommend this camping style resort and plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_and_Ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Bungalows

Property: Red Frog Bungalows
Address: 808 Red Frog Beach, Isla Bastimentos 96779, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Bungalows in an all-inclusive eco-resort on the world famous Red Frog Beach. Located 15 minutes from Bocas Del Toro, Red Frog Beach is a mile long white sand beach. Red Frog Bungalows are Balinese bungalows rebuilt on this gorgeous beach. Our maximum capacity is 12 guests in 3 units. We are a small resort which allows us to tailor your entire stay. The amenities include private outdoor showers, exotic Balinese furnishings, private chef, beachfront palapa with hammocks and beach chairs, surf board rentals and private professional tours. We have our own guides and boats to make sure all of your tours are safe, informative, and enjoyable. We specialize in making sure you have the most enjoyable vacation of your lives. We offer 3 gourmet meals a day in the tranquility of the Panamanian rain forest, hiking, surfing, beach combing, fishing, Standup Paddle-boarding, and snorkeling. Basically anything that has to do with the ocean. Red Frog Bungalows would love to show you around this beautiful place in the world! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Frog Bungalows Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Bungalows Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing