We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind!”
Review of Red Frog Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Bastimentos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Frog Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Absolutely loved this place! If you are visiting Bocas, it's definitely worth the visit. It is located right on the beach and nestled in a beautifully maintained garden where the owner grows all his own herbs and fruits. It was the perfect place to escape reality and relax. All of the meals were included and the hosts were very welcoming and at our service the whole time! The best part is you can decide what you want to do whether its surfing, snorkeling or just relaxing on the beach and they will make sure it's a good experience. You can still take the boat into town for dinner or for a night out and they make all the arrangements for you. We couldn't have asked for anything more! Beach, jungle, activities, wild life and amazing food... perfect way to experience Bocas!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittany-morgan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    5
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
70
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is certainly the place to experience beautiful weather, gorgeous bungalows, excellent beach and surf for all water sports. Scott runs the red frog and the concept of " no worries" certainly applies here. We had the opportunity to snorkel in beautiful waters and fish for an entire day with Scott and Chato. We were able to catch tuna, King Mackerel, and other fish which we returned to the open sea. My son is 15 and he enjoyed the experince and no needs for the internet or tv during the whole week ( u can use as needed if required). I would suggest this place with out reservation.

Mike K.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned from one of the most memorable Central American trips of my life... After a week of spending time in Panama City, myself and some friends were fortunate enough to get linked into Scott and the Red Frog Bungalows to wash away the city vibes and some score some surf. First and foremost I can confidently say that Scott and his crew are the most dialed in, kind and fun staff I've encountered. Secondly, we were constantly in the right place to score the best surf the entire stay, and somehow everyday got better and better. Third the food and accomodations are excellent. Lastly the surrounding nature is a fantasy land, deep in rare species and amazing adventures to be had. I would recommend this journey to anyone looking to relax, surf and enjoy the finer aspects of life in the Caribbean. Happy trails. Chris Del Moro

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

pretty much what mark d said a couple of reviews b4,we had a slight change of plan and got hooked up with scott,he was a great host from the get go and with his crew mikey,justin,chato and mama were very welcoming,we never got to have lunch with mama due to surfing through that time and being so hungry that we ended up doing pit stops at some wonderful cheap locale set ups on the way back,but the guests werent complaining they had more of mamas food to themselves,was really a pleasure being somewhere where u are made to feel at home,scott is very passionate about the well being of everybody there so much so he missed out on some thumping barrels the day we were leaving not sure whether he was scared or really did have to make breakfast for the family of 3 hahha no he is a charger and iam sure he has 3 red bulls b4 heading into the water,anyways i could go on and on but that will give u less time to get on cheaptickets and get yourself down there asap
cheers guys see u soon hopefully
saffa steve

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Scott, Mikey, Justin, Chato, and Mama, did a great job taking care of us at Red Frog. We stayed there for 6 nights, Scott and crew were very accommodating and friendly. Bungalows were awesome, 30 second walk to red frog beach (great beach). Scott has a good knowledge of the area and we found good surf (when there was some). Scott is a pretty good cook too. My only request, stronger coffee next time. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slobadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, null, British Virgin Islands
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My friends and I had a slight change in accommodation and had to find a place in a hurry. Our luck could not have been better to have found the red frog bungalows. A well run, clean and friendly place situated in a pristine jungle. Scott is a fantastic chef, a gracious host and an excellent surfer/guide. Instead of surfing with the sheep we surfed great waves all to ourselves. Thank you to the entire staff at the bungalows for saving our surf trip.
Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

While he may not (yet) be mayor of Bocas del Toro, there could be no better advocate for this islands-paradise and its peoples than Scott Balogh. Coming from our non-surfer, desert-rat perspective, Scott's Red Frog Bungalows provided solace for the soul with gastronomical delights, crystal-clear Caribbean beach waters, and exquisite rainforest gardens -- all reflections of the owner's generous and playful spirit. Set foot where angels tread on this magical, mysterious stairway to heaven -- Red Frog Bungalows.
Kathie Lathan & Steve Cone

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
4.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eclypse de Mar
Eclypse de Mar
#3 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Bungalows

Property: Red Frog Bungalows
Address: 808 Red Frog Beach, Isla Bastimentos 96779, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Bungalows in an all-inclusive eco-resort on the world famous Red Frog Beach. Located 15 minutes from Bocas Del Toro, Red Frog Beach is a mile long white sand beach. Red Frog Bungalows are Balinese bungalows rebuilt on this gorgeous beach. Our maximum capacity is 12 guests in 3 units. We are a small resort which allows us to tailor your entire stay. The amenities include private outdoor showers, exotic Balinese furnishings, private chef, beachfront palapa with hammocks and beach chairs, surf board rentals and private professional tours. We have our own guides and boats to make sure all of your tours are safe, informative, and enjoyable. We specialize in making sure you have the most enjoyable vacation of your lives. We offer 3 gourmet meals a day in the tranquility of the Panamanian rain forest, hiking, surfing, beach combing, fishing, Standup Paddle-boarding, and snorkeling. Basically anything that has to do with the ocean. Red Frog Bungalows would love to show you around this beautiful place in the world! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Frog Bungalows Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Red Frog Bungalows Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing