We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bangalow”
Review of Eclypse de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eclypse de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed 2 nights at honeymoon suite. it was big enouhg and loved bangalow a lot. nice glass bottom window, though water is not vlera enough to see what you expect. No complaints for room. just wonderful. But as others say, noise from town bothered us a lot. If you are iexpecting nice quiet paardise, this definately ruins it. Sorry, No blaim to owners as they were also nice, but I think I shouild point this out to make this site be more real.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Eclypse de Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 342 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had reservations for two nights, Saturday March 13 and the 14th. We arrived at 8:30 AM and were warmly welcomed by Danielle (?) who was very pleasant and showed us around. She explained that power was on from 5 PM to 9 AM and showed us around.

The water went off at 1 PM on the 13th . The power came on at 6PM went off at 10:30PM. By 7 AM on the 14th the toilet was really nasty so I took the small water carafe and used it to get water from the bay to fill the tank (8 carafes to the tank). A bit before 8 AM the staff did figure out that toilets were a problem and brought buckets of water (after only 19 hours). To summarize we were there 23 ½ hours and had power for 4 ½ hours and water for 4 ½ hours

Oh the power was off after 10 so no lights or fan. That obviously wasn't much of a problem as Danielle went to the generator a bit after 7AM hit a switch and the power was right back.

Needless to say by 8AM we were gone.

Other thoughts. This is supposed to be "an Eco-Resort . . . " Other eco-lodges I have seen had solar power; something I was unable to find at Eclypse. All I saw was a large generator.

The septic system was not up to handling toilet paper so used TP was to be deposited in the trash can in the bathroom. As the bathroom had the only trash can I guess we were supposed to put our trash in with used toilet paper. I have a hard time seeing how mixing plastic with feces in the trash is "eco-friendly”

My lunch sandwich (from the restaurant) was basic pre-sliced American cheese and ham lunch meat. We had to take a water taxi to a restaurant because the hotel restaurant was closed due to lack of water. The icing on the cake was that the included breakfast was continental only if you wanted eggs it cost $4 extra. Other place we stayed at a much lower price included the eggs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRLjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Eclyse de Mar is the best place by far in Bocas del Toro, the staff is wonderful, very friendly, the owners take good care of everything, it was the best four days of my vacation. I´m plannig to go back as soon as possible.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank FabianeBorgesscab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Unfortunately, Elclypse de Mar has a noise problem. The night we were there- as well as on other nights we were told by other guests-- a bar in nearby Bastimentos Town blasted music. The sound travels across the water. The owners have desperately tried to stop this, appealing to the Panamanian Government, but so far no luck. We had hoped for a more remote hotel; we hadn't realized there would be a town around about a half mile away, and the neighboring houses, one of which is under construction. Those hoping for crystal clear waters under the hotel will be disappointed, though there are excursions to nearby reefs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank resplendentquetzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclypsedemar, Owner at Eclypse de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2010

Acqua Lodge:
As we are located on a natural resource, we maintain the same philosophy, providing the bungalows and the main house with resources that nature gives us. The Lodge was built totally over the water. Electricity is through solar panels (located on top of the Restaurant roof), whereas the fresh filtered water is from a natural spring located inside the reserve.
We have six bungalows with a privileged view that overlook the extraordinary sunset that the Caribbean sea gives us. We also have 2 extra Rooms located inside the main building, also built over the sea.

We want to clarify some points. It is very important for us to give the correct information about where we are located and what we have around us.
Our Lodge is located in the bay of Bastimentos and close to beautiful reefs. This is a beautiful island with pristine beaches and jungles, and a beautiful local village (afro-caribbean people). An important part of their culture is the music and dance, so sometimes we can hear the music from the town, calypso music, Caribbean music and reagge music.
Few times, when celebrating party dates (Carnavals, Easter, New year, Christmas and Bastiemtnos Boat race on March) during those dates the music could be louder,

If someone would prefer to stay in a remote and distant place we would suggest to consider other destiny. (Eclypse de Mar is located in the middle of the archiphelago and close to everywhere: at 7 minutes from Bocas Town, where the airport is located, also Restaurants, Bars, Shops and the Hospital), but also located at enough distance to feel the nature and tranquility that sorround the Lodge, quite apparted, with its own private Nature Reserve (We have a protected area (6,5 acres) on the back yard where you will find paths and corridors through the forest, lagoons and water gardens, different kinds of tropical flowers and trees, and a lot of different animals like the tiny red frogs (1,5 cm) unique from these islands, birds, butterflies, sloths, iguanas, and caimans), close to the Marine Park and beaches (one of the beaches is Wizard beach, where you can arrive just walking).

Note: There are only a few private houses near the hotel, and one certain day one of our naighbours was fixing his dock (finishing this job three hours later).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The couple that run this place may be very nice but my experience was a living hell. We arrived on the afternoon of Christmas Eve and there was some very lively music playing from the little town nearby and at that time, when I asked how long the music stayed on, I was told around midnight. At that time I recalled reading the other persons review on this very page and dismissing it because it seemed to be the only one. When on holiday we love to go out, have a few drinks and laughs and go to bed anywhere between midnight and 2am so we thought- ok that's fine we can handle music until midnight. When the music was still going full blast thumping base at 2am on Christmas Eve, I started to get grumpy. When it was still going at 9am on Christmas Day full blast I started to get angry. Mid afternoon I started to cry. We had to spend $40 to rent a boat to take us to a quiet beach on another island as the music was deafening. When we returned, the music was still going and I had a breakdown. It was so loud you couldn't relax or read a book. We had earplugs from the plane but that didnt work either. There was no other hotel with availablity in the area to move to and our Christmas and Holiday was ruined from these four days of living hell. I HAD TO DRUG MYSELF WITH SLEEPING PILLS TO SLEEP AT NIGHT. My partner took a boat to the town and it turned out they had a wall of massive speakers pointing directly towards this resort so the people in the town couldn't hear the music and therefore there was no incentive for anyone to turn it off. On 26 December the music finally was turned down a bit during the day but was turned back up at night. Then there was a glorious black out and the lights didnt come back on until 11pm. Then the music came back on. Unless you enjoy listening to island clubbing music 24 hours a day full blast, do not stay here. I do not want anyone to have to go through what we did. I am so sorry we didnt listen to the warning of the other reviewer.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crawj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclypsedemar, owner at Eclypse de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2010

We want to clarify some points. It is very important for us to give the correct information about where we are located and what we have around us.
Our Lodge is located in the bay of Bastimentos and close to beautiful reefs. This is a beautiful island with pristine beaches and jungles, and a beautiful local village (afro-caribbean people). An important part of their culture is the music and dance, so sometimes we can hear the music from the town, calypso music, Caribbean music and reagge music.
Few times, when celebrating party dates (Carnavals, New year, Christmas) of course the music could be louder, (is one of the most important celebration in the whole world).

If someone would prefer to stay in a remote and distant place we would suggest to consider other destiny. (Eclypse de Mar is located in Bastimentos island, in the central area of the archipelago and close to everywhere: at 7 minutes from Bocas Town, where the Airport is located, also Restaurants, Bars, Shops and the Hospital), but also located at enough distance to feel the nature and tranquility that sorround the Lodge, quite apparted, with its own private Nature Reserve (a protected area (6,5 acres) on the back yard with paths and corridors through the forest, lagoons and water gardens, different kinds of tropical flowers and trees, and a lot of different animals like the tiny red frogs (1,5 cm) unique from these islands, birds, butterflies, sloths, iguanas, and caimans), close to the Marine Park and beaches (one of the beaches is Wizard beach, where you can arrive just walking from the hotel).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The friendly women who run this rustic, serene, and fantastic hotel do everything they can to make your stay exquisite. The hotel is very thoughfully run, with lots of amenities; breakfast in bed each morning, chaise lounges and hammocks on each bungalow's private deck, and even floaty chairs for ultimate relaxation in the waters around your bungalow. The rooms are secluded, romantic, and beautiful.

Each day there is an organized boat excursion to nearby islands, beaches, or snorkeling spots but you are not pressured in the slightest to participate. We had a blast with the other people from the hotel when we went on one of these excursions. It's easy to get to and from the hotel by water taxi, and easy to go into town for dinner or to other islands and beaches. We also spent a few days just hanging out on our deck, buying mangoes from three little boys who paddled by in a canoe, drinking rum with lime juice, and going for the occasional swim to the nearby snorkel site.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I own a small INN in NYC and i have to say that Eclypse Del Mar has done an amazing job!!! To build a gorgeous little bungalow, with tiled bathrooms, 2 viewing ports on the floor, an elegant canopy bed and an outdoor patio .... all 500 ft from shore is amazing! We jumped off the patio into the clear caribbean everyday. And the service was just perfect. Elena and her staff knew every step that we anticipated from breakfast to watching the clouds to arranging water taxis in advance........ i'd recommend anyone for a private romantic getaway to chose this spot."

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotWaitingForGodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
2.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
544 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
516 reviews
8.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 18 in Isla Bastimentos
162 reviews
6.6 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclypse de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclypse de Mar

Address: Isla Bastimentos, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: $97 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eclypse de Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Eclypse de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eclypse De Mar Hotel Isla Bastimentos
Eclypse De Mar Panama/Isla Bastimentos, Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing