We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Variations in quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bocas Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bocas Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Variations in quality”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Bocas Condos offers one a suite with kitchen, air conditioned, satellite TV that includes BBC World, CNN and even Deutsche Welle (DW-TV), plus Internet access, but the actual state of each suite varies somewhat. Compared with other condos that have such facilities it is relatively inexpensive, a value for your buck.

The first suite I was in on the ground floor, suite #3, was on the noisiest side where local neighbors partied a lot in the tradition of what Bocas del Toro is generally like, and around February carnaval times, you can multiply the noise tenfold from blarring sound systems, whips on sticks smashed on pavement that sound like firecrackers, and the real fireworks (besides the holoring that happens anytime). You are just a block from the Simon de Bolivar Park on Calle 4, in the midst of town, so there's no nearby beach, but restaurants and local grocery stores and other all-purpose stores abound. Suite #3 had hardly any kitchen utensils and the cooking ware looked like it came from a refugee camp. One time the airconditioner dripped a lot of water right onto my pillows, so it was sleeping that night without them. I could not use my laptop inside the suite because the WiFi signal was too weak. But you could sit right outside the suite by a table and there it worked fine, esp. when a floor lamp appeared there the second day I was there so I could read the keyboard after dark. It was hot though!

The second suite at 1 level up (the building has 3 levels) was #14, less noisy side facing an empty lot, anbetter equipped, with a breeze coming through from two sides. Kitchen cooking utensils looked okay and there were enough plates, cups, etc for 2. I was impressed how cool it was in this suite without even running the air conditioner and opening the windows. The ventilation at this level plus the concrete structure made it so. Unfortunately not all windows had screens and some blinds lacked the adjuster stick so you got to stretch for exercise to reach the blind adjusting. I felt good about not consuming so much energy, runnig the AC much less often than in #13.

The best thing I can say about Bocas Condos is the person who managed it, Magda, fluently bilingual (English & Spanish), always smilling, within reach by a single cell phone call each time I needed her, and trying to meet all of my needs while child minding several kids. Once, when I lost another habitacion by an unscrupulous owner who simply rented out my paid cabin to another party when I went off on a week-end, Magda offered me comfort and found me a suite at Bocas Condos immediately, which is why I adopted her as my hermana de coracon (sister of the heart).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second or third floor. I experienced several power failures in Bocas, one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
37
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks and really enjoyed our time here. The location is great, just 2 blocks back from Main Street so you dont get any noise from the town. supermarket across the road or at the end of the block, restaurants,tours, everything is a couple of minutes walk away. Magda the manager is very helpfull and nice even though she seems a bit scary at first she is not at all!! We had to stay in 1 apartment for the first night then move to another the next day, both were the same but the one we moved to did not have as much stuff in the kitchen so she let us take whatever we needed from one apartment to the other. As for the apartments, they are a great size(we were in a studio which for 2 people is plenty big enough). they are all modern, well decorated and furnished, with a very comfortable queen bed, lazy boy type arm chairs(which my husband hated to move from), a big kitchen with fridge,oven,hob, coffee machine and all the other bits you need, a lovely bathroom with the hotest water ever that does not run out!! This is not like a hotel, you will not get your room cleaned or bins emptied or any tour advice,etc it is a condo building, but Magda will help if you need anything and change the sheets and towels if you ask. The price was the best bit, its cheaper than any of the hotels and some of the hostels if you are a couple and staying longer than a few days. Do it through the website and its a great weekly price, $250 in peak season is not bad between 2 people!! Supermarkets are everywhere so you can eat in and cook great stuff! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We visited Bocas in September and had a one bedroom condo on the second floor. It is a walk up, so expect that.

The room was decent, all cooking implements we needed were there, as well as linens, etc. There was a pull out couch in the living room, and we had lots of television stations, not that we wanted to stay in the room much. Price was great for a one bedroom suite!

The furnishings and decor were a little strange, but workable. The bathroom was in decent shape and pretty clean. I was a little disappointed that our unit smelled of stale cigarette smoke, but it was fine, we aired it out a bit and it improved a lot.

Something we discovered was almost impossible to find in Bocas is fresh fish to cook! We wouldn't have expected so much trouble on an island with so many fisherman, but that was how it was.

We went on a snorkeling trip that also took us to the Red Frog Beach, for about $10 a person. Just go down to the docks and speak to one of the boys down there, and they should be able to find you something very well priced!

The location of Bocas Condos was great, just a few blocks out of the heart of town. Felt very safe, even walking at night.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lacanadiensita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Bocas Condos for the last 11 days of a year long round the world trip. The studio apartment we had was excellent, plenty big enough for 2 people without feeling crowded, and furnished to a high standard. The location is also perfect, being pretty much exactly in the middle of Bocas Town, making anything and everything less than 5 minutes walk away.

The manager was extremely helpful, and when we rained an issue with a few minor things being broken, they were replaced and repaired very quickly. They also indulged our request for plastic chairs so we could sit outside which they didn't need to do. It's worth mentioning that there seems to be two separate companies each managing some of the flats in the Bocas Condos building, the one we used was Island Property Management at this website:

http://www.bocasvacationrentals.com/

Overall, the entire experience was excellent, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments looked massive, and the studios were perfectly comfortable, so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unfortunately Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Our stay at Bocas Condos was extremely comfortble! The bilingual yet local staff were able to orient us to the best of Bocas that only a local would know. The hospitality left us feeling independent to come and go as we wished, yet was always available to provide guidance or find an extra big pot for my mother in law's almohabanas colombianas in our "apartment kitchen". In Bocas you will appreciate the cool and cleanliness that Bocas Condos offers as many other accomodations have suffered in years of humidity. Bocas Condos is close to everything, just two blocks from John's Bakery (highly recommended) and the grocery store. One more block ahead and you will get to the dock for a water taxi wherever you like. Speak with Magda at Bocas Condos about our fantstic Water Taxi Guide Alvaro Machuca. After Bocas we went on to Costa Rica and I can tell you that Bocas is by far one of the superior spots to visit in Central America both for its natural beauty, the humility of it's people and the ease of travel. I want to thank James and Magda for making our stay feel like home and for the friendship! We wish you much luck and many new visitors. Si dios quiere regresamos algun dia!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsaporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The Condos are very new and very clean. Our stay was good, we felt safe, the rooms were spacious and clean. We stayed for a few nights in one of the bigger condos which was great and had tons of space and the smaller condo later in the week sufficed for two. I would recommend the bocas condos for someone looking for a clean place to stay with a kitchen for a reasonable price. When you book it make sure you go through the owner of the condos, not the woman running it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimeswanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The condos were simple but incredibly comfortable, with air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable tv, a well-equipped kitchen and orthopedic matress. We really enjoyed our stay. The manager was friendly and helpful, and the security on the property made us feel very safe. The condo meant that our time in bocas was comfortable, but it also gave us the opportunity to save money and cook at home if we wanted to. In terms of cost, this was a very good price for what it offered.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Condos

Property: Bocas Condos
Address: Avenue D | Between 4th and 5th Streets, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy real comfort in this brand new modern building amidst the charm of Bocas Town, just steps from restaurants, airport, and water taxis. Close the door and settle in to the quiet comfort of home. Rooms feature queen beds, full kitchens with filtered water, and shared balcony. They are fully furnished with satellite TV and DVD, high speed wireless internet, safe for valuables, and quiet air conditioning. 3-day minimum rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bocas Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Condos Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing