We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tips..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Olas
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tips..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Great location-around the corner from the Main Street but easy to walk anywhere! Rooms are clean, big, with air con & wifi. Breakfast is muffin & juice/coffee. Good value for
money-would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    112
    47
    36
    42
See reviews for
28
143
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portumna, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

*Nicely laid out hotel. Relaxing on one of the decks or in one of the hammocks as the sun is setting with hummingbirds buzzing around you is a pretty nice experience.

*Ben, the manager, is a very friendly helpful (english speaking) person.

*The complimentary breakfast is very basic but for a small fee I would recommend the shakshooka (eggs poached in a tomato based sauce).

*The snorkelling directly beneath the hotel is surprisingly good.

*Wifi is difficult to pick up on the 2nd and 3rd floors.

*The air-con didn't work in our room, but it wasn't a problem as we were given a different room immediately when we brought it to the attention of the staff.

*The hotel is pretty dated and as other reviewers have said, you will find little critters like geckos running around the walls of your room at night... but that comes with the territory when you're in the Caribbean and, in my opinion, it just adds to the experience.

*Although I can't give Hotel Olas a high score for things like 'cleanliness' and 'wi-fi availability throughout the hotel' all in all I enjoyed my time there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

nice place i have stayed here two times now .Management very nice and helpful. Price was great and i would stay there again for sure .the back deck is awesome right on the water and the best place to eat diner Refugios is just a few doors down .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panamajay38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

At a quiet place in town this sea-Side hotel is run by a friendly israelian guy named Ben and therefor a popular hangout place for travelers. Rooms are clean but walls are thin, combined with an loud aircon u may wanna bring earplugs.
Breakfast is included but is limited to a muffin, juice and coffee. The snorkling tour was worth it! Overall a good experience

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wieland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Great place and great value for your money. Located on a quiet side of town. It has a great ocean deck to watch the most beautiful sunset. You can borrow bikes and ride around town or just walk a few blocks to find lots of restaurants and shops. Grocery store nearby too. You can also book your tours right at the hotel. Rooms are average, but was great with friends. Continental breakfast was included. I would definitely stay here again. Had a great time and the staff were very nice and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOLITA015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel Las olas is the best place to stay while you are visiting Bocas del Toro. Great Staff and great services.
Perfect location to rest after our longs days full of activities and party. Hotel Las Olas also provide us ideas for our tours and tour guide to make sure that you are Safe and enjoy every single tour around bocas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioCostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here...the price was reasonable and the staff was so friendly!! The room were very clean and the location was quiet, but very close to stores and great eating. Ben was an excellent host as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delano V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olas

Property: Hotel Olas
Address: Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Hotel on the water with great ocean view. Quiet location, 2 minute walk from main street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olas Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Olas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing