We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Olas
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We looked into numerous hotels for our family on a budget and this was by far the best value/price on Isla Colón for our family of five ($70 for our room). Most hotels wouldn’t allow our family to be in one room and we would have had to reserve two rooms.
Las Olas provided an extra twin mattress that we put on the floor to accommodate the five of us (besides a double bed and bunk beds). It made things quite tight space-wise but we didn’t spend much time in the room so it didn’t matter to us.

Included in the price is a continental breakfast of coffee, juice and muffins. We really appreciated being able to store milk & a few groceries in their fridge so we could supplement the breakfast with some of our own food.

Some things to consider:
*internet was not consistent in our room but always worked fine out on the veranda
*there seemed to be some confusion over reservations with some guests which caused some obvious frustration (guests saying they thought they had a room reserved/could stay another night but hotel saying they didn’t/couldn’t....this happened with at least two different parties). The check-in/payment is quite informal - no receipts were given and it was a bit unclear to guests if their ‘word’ reserved the room or if they had to pay ahead to confirm they had a room for another night.
*Our first floor bathroom window was about five feet from the house next door and we could hear everything going on and I’m assuming they could do the same for us - not a huge problem and figured it comes with the price range of the hotel.
*The boat tour arranged by the hotel is a great way to spend a day!

We stayed 3 nights and overall, enjoyed our stay and felt it was a decent place for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    112
    49
    36
    43
See reviews for
28
145
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bocas is a paradise. This hotel has a very good accomodation for its price. They owned a boat so you can go to the tours with them for an average rate in Bocas. The food was ok and the staff helped us a lot. For my next trip to Bocas, I'll be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grettel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

the staff was realy helpfull that we could stay there. we went to bocas without knowing that it was carneval and every hotel was booked out.
the rooms are nice and clean.
the breakfast needs to be improved and the matrazes were a little to soft for me but will be alright for averidge people. both will be changed they said.
i would stay at olas again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miguelsastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shebandowan, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

In a place where everybody gets a cut for refering you to a place to stay, and nobody cares about the quality or just helping out, here is a saviour. The manager Ben was the best person i met on my Central American trip. He helped us even find another great place to stay when his hotel was full. Highest recomendation in the area without spending the bank.

Room Tip: The suites with a balcony are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spikelemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice clean room, friendly staff during my stay, breakfast is a little cheap (muffin and chemical juice), really nice common area to watch sunrise and sunset.

Had a room on 3rd floor looking at the sea... was lucky on that one I guess :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zosianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a good time at the Olas Hotel in Bocas del Toro. The rooms are clean and there is warm water. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Sometimes it's a bit loud if you have a room downstairs, they didn't give us the option for a room upstairs.
Breadfast contains a muffin, a coffee and a juice...which unfortunately isn't natural.
From the hotel you can walk in 5min to the airport and in 2min you can reach the "calle principal".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dega18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Nicely located at a calm spot directly on the waterfront and only a couple of minutes from "downtown", this is a nice place to stay. The standard room we had was clean and had AC and TV (both which we did not need). They also organize some tours and other services, but they are not pushed upon you. The bar (which is directly at the water and provides a great view over the carribean) offers cold beers for $1.70 or so as well as other beverages. We didnt try the restaurant because we ate at local sodas, but it seemed ok from what we have seen.

The managing guy (Ben) was very friendly and helpful, plus he had a quite inspiring view on life. He was very new at the place (I think for a couple of weeks), so the reviews telling of unfriendly staff might be outdated. For our backpacking budget it was a bit pricey ($48), but we were happy to find a room on Bocas after all.

If that $48 is on your budget, you can safely stay here for a nice experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olas

Property: Hotel Olas
Address: Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Hotel on the water with great ocean view. Quiet location, 2 minute walk from main street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olas Hotel Bocas Town
Hotel Olas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing