We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i left”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 28 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“i left”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arrived after booking-owner said there was a problem with the booking but said there was another room available which was cheaper downstairs-i took it-there was an odour which the owner said was from the street-believe me it isnt-it is in the room. I left the next morning. I ran into another woman who had encountered the same problem with her booking and she was moved to a hostal. This place was not like other b and B's I stayed in-one of the previous reviewers had noted it was more like a hostel and I agree. There are perfectly good hotels up the road, with sea views, right on the water which were also cheaper and closer to town

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    50
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
123
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My friend Rita and I spent two nights at Lula's in early March and were very pleased with our choice. The manager Eric, made us feel right at home and was always helpful. The room was small but very clean and everything worked. The honor bar on the back porch was a welcome perk. The location was very quiet during the night and only a five minute walk from the middle of town and the noisy nightlife. Breakfast was delicious and in a comfortable dining room/lobby setting. I will definitely be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazorBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very short walk from the bars and restaurants but in a very safe and quiet area. We stayed at the hostel which is right on the water about a half block from the main house where we had good breakfast's. Eric who is the Manager and his wife are friendly, very helpful and overall, extremely welcoming and hospitable. The rooms were bright and clean and the beds were comfortable. We stayed here for five days and that was the right amount of time for us to snorkel, sail, hike and explore other islands and beaches.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in both the main Lula's B&B and Lula's hostel, and I had a great experience at both places. The rooms and facilities were very clean, and there were useful features like a community kitchen / cooking area (in the hostel), and a refrigerator and some basic cooking supplies in the main B&B. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Eric (the manager) went out of his way to help us coordinate our surfing and scuba excursions in Bocas. Brian (the owner of Lula's) was also incredibly nice and hospitable. One thing I loved about the hostel is that it is right on the water and has an amazing deck/dock with hammocks! It was perfect for a lazy afternoon nap or reading. We met some amazing tourists who were also staying at Lula's and we ended up having a great time together. Lula's is really the perfect place to stay in Bocas. I felt very safe there, and I really felt at home. The location is perfect because you are close to everything you need in Bocas Town, yet the B&B and hostel are nested on a more quiet road, so you can get a good night's sleep. I will definitely come back to Lula's when I am in Bocas. This was the perfect B&B and hostel experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Lula's main house for 2 nights, then moved over to the hostel across the road on the water for 3 nights. Both were great! Both are well-maintained with new wood and furnishings.

Main house:
The main house has A/C, and you definitely need it. We had it cranked on full blast when we were in the room. The room is cute, spacious, and has a safe. Breakfast was nothing special. They had eggs both days (which I don't eat), bread that's a cross between an English muffin and bagel, and a tiny bit of fruit. It's nice to eat with other guests, though, and we made friends the first day and hung with them the rest of the trip. We paid $66 US per night for 2 of us with 2 beds.

One addition - 2 sets of keys would be nice, or even 2 gate keys and 1 room key.

Hostel:
The beds are $20 US/ night. There are 4 beds (bunk beds) in 2 rooms (and 4 lockers with pad locks), and a private room with space for 3 that costs more. There were 2 peace corps men in 1 and us 2 girls in the other. It would be really cramped with 4 folks in there, so we were lucky. The kitchen is great and fully equipped! We even had a dinner party with our buds from the main house one night.

The best part of the hostel is the patio. It has 2 hammocks and 4 chairs. It's great for sleeping, reading, cuba libres, and smoothies. I really enjoyed the patio. It's right on the water and you can snorkel there. It's so cool being on the water that we didn't even use the fan or A/C in the hostel!

You can only have Lula's people over to the house, so no "locals". That's a strict rule for the safety of the guests.

Eric and Maria were very nice and helpful. They run Lula's. Bryan is the owner and he was cool. You may wake up and find him in the living room showing the house to prospective guests.

One addition for the hostel: a shelf in the shower would help a lot b/c there's nowhere to set your shampoo.


Both of Lula's properties were great! I ended up liking the hostel better, but probably b/c we were only 4 in the whole house. If it were full, I think it would be too crowded. I recommend both of them and definitely will stay there again if I return to Bocas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This b&b is great value and just 5 mins walk to the main road. Staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful! Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was filling and tasty. In the hot weather, we made great use of the soda bottle honour system. Loved it - we would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A great spot with super friendly owners. Great security, very clean rooms and common areas, tasty breakfasts around a communal table with the other hotel guests is included with the room. Brian (owner) is a wealth of local knowledge and is totally willing to help arrange excursions, water taxis, etc. I booked for 3 days and stayed for 5 more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.4 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
500 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Avenida Norte | Calle 6, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 30116, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lula's Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful and charming place to stay offering exceptional value, comfort and location. The historic home is open and airy, the perfect spot to relax after a day of exploring the area's natural wonders. We are certain you will enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Lula`s Bocas Town
Hotel Lula`s b&b
Hotel Lula's Bed And Breakfast Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing