We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
New Haven CT USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

Simple accomodations but extremely clean, very good a/c, the best food on the island, a young couple who Louis and Penny who make the stay as enjoyable, and comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this hotel to those who want a great location, friendly service, and a quiet relaxing place to just forget about all the demands of life.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, hospitality
  • Disliked — rooms are a bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Soleniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

We had done some research on hotels in Bocas and could not decide where we wanted to stay so after arriving we talked to one of the several tour guides at the airport and he suggested a hotel on the island of Carenero. A short three minute taxi ride from the town of Bocas separated us from a busy town to a beautiful quiet setting on a beach. Hotel Dona Mara rooms were clean with A/C and a cozy resturant/bar facing the beach was all we wanted. After an all day tour of dolphin watching/snorkeling/beach combing we returned to the Dona Mara in time for a great seafood dinner. We ordered a whole fish (medium size) and shrimp and rice. The fish was tasty and spicy (Carribean style), the shrimp was very good and plentiful. Desert was the only downside. Breakfast was included with the room price $55 a great bargain! The staff was helpful and friendly and we are looking forward to a return trip to Bocas.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — we liked everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rgarrpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

On our first trip to Bocas del Toro, we decided to wing it with no reservations at any hotels. Our first night we stayed in Bocas at LuLu's B&B. A delightful place. We went for dinner at Buena Vista and noticed an ad in the menu for Dona Mara. We took a quick trip over to the place after dinner. The JamPan boat taxi was right next door and took us there in a matter of minutes. We booked for the next 3 nights and we were not disappointed. Staff was happy and helpful. The food fantastic and the prices very competitive. Rooms were clean, AC, hot water and complimentary coconut oil to keep the sand fleas from eating you alive. They also take Visa/Master Card.

  • Liked — quiet but close
  • Disliked — sand fleas but that isnt the fault of the hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2007

My wife & I and another couple stayed at the Dona Mara and had a great time. We arranged an airport pickup and they were there to meet us. At first glance, your reaction might be "Oh No!! What did I get myself into!" But, the rooms are comfortable, the A/C is nice for those hot days, and the staff is GREAT. The restaurant service was a little slow, but the results were worth the wait -- good food.

We used the safe at the front desk to store our papers, used their computer to do a quick email check and dragged beach chairs into the water to laze and enjoy. The hotel is away from Bocas Town and is quieter than staying in town, yet town is a two minute water taxi ride away.

Would I return there? Without a doubt, yes. If you are looking for a laid-back place with comfortable, clean rooms and good food -- this is a good choice.

  • Liked — Laid back atmosphere, good food, comfortable rooms and great staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costta Rica, Heredia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

I was with a group of 6 American Students. We were there for 4 nights and 5 days. Good Service, maid comes every day. The Hotel crew organize for us, any thing we need, tours, special needs, extra activities, coolers, etc.

Food was delicious, the service was a little slow, but worth it.

I own a outdoor education company in Costa Rica and will take our groups to this Hotel, close to town (one minute boat ride), quiet and safe.

  • Liked — Close to town, but quiet and safe
  • Disliked — Local issues with water, when there is not water in Carenero.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mochilerocostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA,USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

we are a group from 20 to 80 yrs. old. we met Michael at the airport, he was helping folks get their luggage, taxi,etc. we went to hotel referred to us by trip advisor & was disappointed-NO BEACH!! & rooms facing road.

Michael took us to DONA MARA via water taxi & we LOVED the hotel. ocean front rooms, great resturant, quiet , relaxing, & Michael came back & setup tours to see dophins, eat at a resturant in the middle of the ocean, shop in Boca de Toros which is only 3 mins. from DONA MARA on the water taxi which cost $1 per person. the kids went to party in town & hang with surfers we all had a wonderful time.
we would give DONA MARA a 10!!! and YES we will come back.

THANKS MICHAEL!!

  • Liked — ocean view, resturant, relaxing staff, good food.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee,FL
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

My adopted daughter planned a wedding in Bocas del toro. I wanted to surprise her with a party. I contacted Hotel via e-mails. Kelly hotel owner setup everything for me. Pulled off a great party with tropical decorations and great buffet for 28 people. My party of 4 stayed for 4days at Hotel Dona Mara, 2 rooms, Great value for dollar. All our meals were cooked to order and good service. Planning a return trip in the fall.

  • Liked — Great service and location
  • Disliked — Sand nats, but your in the tropics
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Woodduck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast
Address: Isla Carenero, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on breathtaking, tranquil Carenero Island, our hotel is one of very few with rooms right on the beach. Our location is perfect, less than two minutes from Bocas Town, with its shops, restaurants, and nightlife. However, we're just far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. Our bed & breakfast & restaurant provide comfort, tranquility, and a swimming beach without sacrificing easy access to/from Isla Colon. Taste the local flavor at our beachside restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Dona Mara Bocas Town
Hotel Dona Mara Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing