We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ate at the resturant...good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 30 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ate at the resturant...good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I didn't stay at Dona Mara, although after seeing it I would give it a try. But they did make a good breakfast and internet that we could use while we were there. The staff was nice and made sure we had all we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitayaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wiliamsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Yes, the rooms are small, but who wants to stay in the room when vacationing in Bocas del Toro. The staff is absolutely fantastic and caters to your every whim. The restaurant next door is excellent. The food is fresh and prepared to order so just know that you're going to wait. Enjoy an ice cold Balboa in the meantime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taymomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Horrendous experience. No water, fan didn't work, AC on the blink. Rooms( and they are NOT cheap) have all the personality of a bombshelter. STAY in BOCAS!! i.e. Cocomo on the Sea or Lula's

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erewhon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

It wasn´t the plushest hotel we´ve ever stayed at but the staff made our few days there really special. They were lovely! The location was stunning and we would highly recommend Bocas del Toro!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcan, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We arrived at Dona Mara to find that there was no water. We were told there was no water anywhere else so we went ahead and stayed. We were asked to pay upfront for the three days we were staying. By the end of the second day we couldn't take the no water situation so we asked for a refund so we could move to a different hotel. We were denied a refund. The funny thing is we checked out neighboring hotels and they did have water. It was also not good for the price the rooms were a little run down. The other hotels we looked at were the same price but offered allot more for the money!

The good things we will say are that the hotel manager and his wife were very nice. I have nothing to say against them. The food at the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackandwhitecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

My friend and I spent an absolutely amazing time as this fabulous, local hotel! It's right at the beach, on an island 2 minutes by boat from crazy Bocas, where one can party all night long. The hotel manager (Luis), his wife and staff were extremely welcoming and there for us with help and advise as needed. Food and drinks at Dona Mara are absolutely excellent! Try the fresh Pina Colada or Daiquiris for Happy Hour and have locally caught fresh fish for dinner! My friend and I have travelled extensively. Seldomly have we enjoyed our stay as much as at Dona Mara! Don't expect luxury, rather a simple, beautiful, quiet hotel; nice beach, great food, helpful staff and SMILES!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCBelleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We had a fabulous time, everyone there were so nice. Penny and her husband do a wonderful job making you feel welcome. We didn't speak spanish, in fact just english. Their english was pefect.

The staff was very nice, you could eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, very inexpensive and very good. They had a bar and my favorite part was Happy hour.

I even had them to my laundry, for a very small amount.

They helped us with tours, water taxi, suggestions.

The rooms were fancy, but the beds were great.
We walked around and looked at all the other hotels on this Island and felt very luck to stay at the Dona Mara.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast
Address: Isla Carenero, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on breathtaking, tranquil Carenero Island, our hotel is one of very few with rooms right on the beach. Our location is perfect, less than two minutes from Bocas Town, with its shops, restaurants, and nightlife. However, we're just far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. Our bed & breakfast & restaurant provide comfort, tranquility, and a swimming beach without sacrificing easy access to/from Isla Colon. Taste the local flavor at our beachside restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Dona Mara Bed And Breakfast
Hotel Dona Mara Bocas Town
Hotel Dona Mara Bed & Breakfast Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing