We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, glad we picked this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience, glad we picked this hotel!”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

At first I reserved at a different hotel and decided to read reviews here and followed people's comments on this one. Glad I changed to this Tropical paradise. It was by far the best choice. This hotel has the best location and accommodation in Isla Colon. The rooms are beautiful and have everything you need, great ocean view, LCD TV, A/C, mini fridge, cups and wine glasses. You have everything at walking distance, a little supermarket, amazing seafood restaurants, a German bakery, an American fun bar (El Toro Loco) and a club (El Barco hundido) where locals and tourists mix to enjoy salsa and ocean view at night. Despite all the music around the town and across the other island, inside the room it was quiet and peaceful.

Upon arrival a lovely member of the staff picked us up from the airport and 5 minutes later we were at the hotel at our beautiful ocean view room. The staff was extremely helpful in finding us things to do and quickly contacted Gerardo who became our private tour guide for our entire stay. He took us to the most amazing islands and ocean spots. Patiently waited until we saw many dolphins swimming in the middle of the ocean and as we sunbathed with the starfish at the crystal clear waters. He also recommended great restaurants in bungalows in the middle of the water. We did many fun activities as well as relaxed.
The bed is hard to get out of in the morning it's so comfy! Don't forget to relax in the bathroom Jacuzzi after a day out. Bring your own bath salts, as these are not included as amenities. You do get makeup remover individual tissues, this was a nice touch and quite helpful as I had forgotten mine. In case you forget a beach towel you can rent one for your stay only $5!

Breakfast was another highlight. Lily's cafe offers various options and it is included. We became friends with Brenda, who served us the most delicious homemade bread. It was such a great experience, we were sad to leave!

If you visit during the week and mid season you can get good deals on excursions and booking online you get up to 25% discount.

If you decide to visit Bocas, this is the best hotel to stay at. Ocean view is worth the extra few bucks as well.

We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inkred20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    129
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
269
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Make sure you request a room with a seaview & balcony. The room was spacious, with a very comfortable king-size bed, great air conditioner. Excellent location,every day we stayed out on the balcony and watched all the activites on the water. Breakfast was included at LuLus, next door to hotel but very slow service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Upon our arrival, we met an amazing and caring staff ...
and also the owner Chip and his wife ...
The hotel is located in the center .. 2 minutes from the dock of the ferry, supermarkets, bars and all the action.
The room is spacious and containing a Jacuzzi and a bathroom,
a kitchen with all necessary tools for preparing food (anyone interested) and the view is spectacular. In our opinion, the most luxurious hotel on the main island of Colon.
Highly recommended for couples who want to indulge in one hand and have personal attention on the other.
We shall return....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

What an amazing place! We went to Bocas and staying in a $20 a night room in the centre of town but it was really noisy and after a month backpacking we felt like treating ourselves - a massive room with a view over the ocean, king sized bed and a jacuzzi bath. The owners and staff were lovely and really helpful - can´t recommend it enough and we wouldn´t have left if we´d had the choice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissa40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I just got married down in Bocas del Toro and my family stayed at Tropical Suites. I had a chance to go inside the hotel and see the rooms and I found it to be a great place! The hotel is located very central to everything in town which makes it easy to take day trips and go out to eat and to bars at night. The rooms are amazing, very clean, huge comfortable beds, as well as big balconies overlooking the water. The management is incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKErbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I just arrived home from 3 nights in Bocas and can’t stop thinking about my beautiful balcony view at Tropical Suites. It was my first time to Bocas, a very belated anniversary celebration, and I knew that I wanted to be at a waterfront hotel that would be a step up/luxurious option for me and my husband. In other words, if I am going to be at the beach all day long and traveling through the country of Panama, I’d like my accommodations to be nice :) Tropical Suites really met and/or exceeded my expectations in almost every category. The hotel location is perfect, right in town but the building is over the Ocean. We booked the Romance Package and were really happy with our experience.

Service - The staff is extremely friendly and seem to just do little things that really can make your stay wonderful. They knew our names (never really experienced that before) and helped with arranging all of our activities during the day. As we arrived from Boquete by air, they picked us up at the airport (free of charge) and shuttled us to the hotel. The owners were waiting to meet us and take us to our room. From catering our requests for food delivery to arranging airlines tickets we were really pleased with the personalized attention!
Rooms - I really liked the style of the condo/suites. We stayed on the second floor in the corner suite. The small kitchen area was nice to have, although we didn't use it as much as we could have (mainly to store drinks and snacks). We were mesmerized by the view of the beach from our room and our balcony. The room was really nice and the beds and sheets were sooo comfortable - It made it easy to sleep late! The light switches in the room were somewhat inconvenient (behind the bed), but that is a small detail and the hotel overall has all the conveniences you would want and a very high standard of cleanliness.

Food – The hotel itself does not have a restaurant on the property (though from what I understand they may have one next year?). However, breakfast is served next door at Lilli’s Restaurant. The breakfast menu is large and the food is really good, especially if you like hot sauce (ask for killing man sauce). Fresh tropical fruit and homemade bread and freshly squeezed OJ is served with every offering.

Yes, you can pay less in Bocas, but if you have a chance to treat yourself, I would highly recommend Tropical Suites.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavannahMechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, California
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My friends and i had a great time at this hotel. The staff is second to none. they bent over backwards for us. The rooms are the best in town when it comes to bang for your buck. Ya you can save 10 dollars down the way, but why, after you stay here you will never leave. i promise!!!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PC550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
4.7 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Property: Tropical Suites Hotel
Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing