We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Luxury of Bocas del Toro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2007

The Tropical Suites is expensive for Bocas, but you get what you pay for. Bocas is rustic. I didn't want rustic for my two night stay there, and I wasn't disappointed. You are totally comfortable, and
relaxed there. It's a great place to start out your exploration of the area before you go native. The staff is friendly, helpful and the place looked brand new, even though it's been there for 3 years.
The owners know how to keep the place pristine. That was important to me, and I was happy I paid the extra money to be
comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LadyKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 551 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2007

Just returned from an incredible trip to Bocas Del Toro. Paradise on earth.....One can only hope that this beautiful, pristine group of islands will stay as it is! Our stay at the Tropical Suites Hotel was wonderful. Spacious , clean, comfortable suites with kitchens. The Ocean View suites have spectacular views. Hans & Pietrie have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortible as possible & their staff are delightful. When you make the trip to this incredible place, make Tropical Suites your place to stay...

Fred & Liz Scopinich
Donna & Danny Conti
Long Island, NY

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank lizscop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

My wife and I just returned from spending 7 glorious vacation days in the archipelago of Bocas del Toro. I had read an article about this paradise off the coast of Panama dotted with lush jungles, white sand beaches and protected coral reefs. We arrived in Bocas town and we felt quickly embraced in its slow and relaxed pace of life.
Speaking about feeling embraced: We had initially booked two nights at the Tropical Suites Hotel and because of our excellent experience there, stayed another 2 nights. To all you Bocas travelers: Tropical Suites is well-located and is the most upscale hotel in town. Our room was spacious , clean , attractively decorated and faced the street scene with a balcony to hang out on . Other rooms face the water and have a splendid view. We particularly appreciated the air conditioning and the opportunity to swim off the hotel dock.
The rooms are equipped with a full kitchen, (to my knowledge the only hotel in town that has this feature and the initial reason why we chose this hotel). Hans and Petri, the owners, were gracious hosts who succeeded in making us feel very comfortable . They were very informative and helpful to us newcomers about how to navigate in town. So were the desk staff.
All in all, I highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there when we return. Rob and Marilyn, Boston,Mass

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank eefje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

I have been returning to Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon over 8 times in the past 2 years. I have stayed in several waterfront
hotels, but the best for the money is the Tropical Suites. The rooms are large, with a complete kitchette and a sofa bed
for the children. The rooms and hallways are always clean.
The staff is very pleasant and helpful.

The owners Hans and Petri are very accommodating to their guests.

Also, Hans is very knowledgeable on the real estate opportunities on Isla Colon and the surrounding islands, and is very willing to share this information with his guests. At this moment Bocas is an investor’s paradise.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a super vacation in Bocas. I know, as I am going back towards
the end of March-2007 for a month - I wouldn´t be going back if I did not enjoy staying at the Tropical Suites.

Eugene Swereda
05-Feb-2007

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank Haño
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Having traveled extensively we find ourselves being called back to the tropical paradise of Bocas del Toro and the Tropical Suites. On our first visit in 2004 we booked a hotel and were planning a weeks stay. We fell in love with the friendliness of the local people, the wonderful restaurants, the water and land taxis to an assortment of beautiful beaches, the commaradrie of other travelers from around the world and then we discovered the Tropical Suites and extended our stay another month. After studying Spanish at a local school, going on a jungle/rain forest tour, or going out for a day of diving we could return to the comfort of our beautiful suite. Here we had all the comforts of home: A fully equiped kitchen, cable TV, high-speed Internet, air conditioning, and hot water - plenty of hot water. The daily maid service and 24-hour consierge service is an added bonus. This is our 3rd stay and we have equally enjoyed the water view and island view suites. The owners, Hans and Petri go out of their way to welcome you to their home, your tropical home-suite-home.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank jimmyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2007

There is NO question that this is the best hotel in Bocas del Toro (for now) but that isn´t saying much..comparable to your average clean Motel 6 in anywhere USA.

The question is not which hotel in Bocas....the question is "Why Bocas??" This has to be the most overrated place on planet earth.

Bocas del Toro is an open sewer....literally. And this is a very dangerous place for the typical American who rhinks he is going find a piece of paradise at a great value.

So, if you happen to meet people with names like Hans and Petri, Lin and Stephen, Victor and Sombre.....just say hello, smile politely, place your hand firmly on your wallet...and RUN LIKE HELL!!

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank plataprince23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBocasIsland, Owner Manager at Tropical Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2007

Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves
_____________________________________
I was born in the wagon of a travelin' show
My mama used to dance........................ etc.
_____________________________________

This theme song is one of the greatest hits of Cher and it may indeed sum up
the spirit of adventure that brings travelers, investors and retiries to Bocas.
And a lot of these pioneers are making Bocas del Toro their new found home.

Bocas is growing fast as a world class destination and this has nothing to
do with being overrated. It has to do with being a holiday experience like
no other. Bocas has of course growing pains because of its popularity. The
streets are being uprooted in order to be paved. That was long overdue.

One should see this as progress and an opportunity to make even more of
a difference and I know these guests have been trying really hard to buy
their piece of paradise in Bocas, so it seems like a contradiction in terms
or possibly a disappointment not being able to buy at yesterdays prices.

That is a pity though, plataprince stayed with us for a whole month at our
discounted rate (which is actually a very good idea when you are considering
a property purchase) enjoying themselves and looking at several properties
in the process, with the apparent intent to make Bocas part of their future.

Today will be tomorrows yesterday. We all have our experiences and memories
to guide us by when making decisions. Especially lost opportunies are interesting.
Some people compare Bocas with Key West as it was in the old days. Or the
Cayman Islands before it priced itself out of reach of most people. Is Bocas next?

"Wouldn't it be nice" (Song by the Beach Boys) if one could buy at yesterdays prices. Some people did, they were considered pioneers then and very smart heroes today.

"If I had .." (Another popular song by the way) sounds all to familiar to most of us.
Bocas presents a perfect opportunity to start over again with a new life in a
Tropical Paradise. And what a fantastic life it is for the adventurer in all of us.

There will be challenges and rewards, but some of the prior mistakes or indecisions
can mostly be avoided as history will repeat itself. If we would only learn from it.

Last, but not least. It is a great song.

The Management

Tropical Suites Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2006

My husband and I have just spent one month at the Tropical Suites. The owners Hans and Petri were very gracious and accommodating.The staff was very pleasant and helpful as well.
Tropical Suites is centrally located in Bocas within short walking
distance to all activities. We liked having a kitchen, internet ,
safe and laundry facilities. The suite was always clean and the A/C cold. This is definitely the best accommodation on the island.
We look forward to our next stay!! Did I mention the awesome water view?

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank galvb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
187 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: $100 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing