We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Bocas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The front desk folks were very helpful with all of our questions! They will assist you with dinner reservations, tours and massages. The rooms are beautiful, well equipped and very clean. We had a waterfront room and loved seeing all of the activity at sea. Would definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveldunrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 544 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have spent two nights at Tropical Suites, it was an excellent hotel in town. Beautiful view from Ocean View suite and quiet room. Good bed and A/C. The room was clean and the bathroom very comfortable, towels were cleaned and good quality.

The service from the hotel team was excellent all the time, very friendly. Location is perfect.

I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were traveling with another family for summer vacation and to study Spanish. Tropical Suites gave us the comforts, security and convenience that we needed. The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating as well as neat in appearance. The rooms were nicely laid out - we stayed in the back of the building overlooking the water as well as in the front of the building. The weekend when there was an all night concert at the bar next door we were glad we were in the front of the building due to the sound from next door. We swam off the dock in the back with the kids and it was convenient to have water taxis pickup and drop off right at the hotel. We booked the trip for the Spanish classes and were a bit surprised that Bocas is so funky. No problem..we just weren't expecting that. We enjoyed access to all the other attractions within close proximity. We were also traveling with 9yo kids and the hotel was perfect for them.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building overlook the street life of Bocas. It's like being on a f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to Bocas and staying at Tropical Suites this time greatly improved the experience. Wish I would have done so the 1st time. Great location, very nice rooms, good breakfast and excellent staff! Definitely pay extra for the ocean-side rooms. If you really want a treat go for the Starfish Suite. Amazing! A glass floor to see the fish right in your room! To me, this is the ONLY place to stay on the main island. I led a group of travelers on this trip. The Managers were extremely helpful in my pre-planning of extra activities and the staff was great in helping us during our stay. The side-trips planned through the hotel were also much better than the ones we did the first time we visited Bocas AND were more affordable. Highly recommend. I won't stay anywhere else when I return!

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for ocean-side room. It is well worth it. If it is a special occasion or you ca...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our fourth year back enjoying Bocas and Tropical Suites. This year we stayed 3 weeks, and besides spending time enjoying both the lovely ocean front views and street view suites, we expanded our horizon to enjoy a few days with an underwater view! Tropical Suites has added a brand new suite called the Starfish Suite, that not only has an ocean front balcony, but also has a window into the sea! The suite itself is has the most beautiful decor, with local artwork, wonderful king bed, microwave, fridge, and a large bathroom with a huge shower that has river rock flooring, and an amazing vanity with a vessel sink that appears to somehow come from the sea. The focal of this suite however is the lovely sitting area, that instead of a coffee table, has a big round window in the floor that looks right down into the Caribbean Sea! That window offers a view of the big starfishes that are common to the Bocas area. If the tropical fish and starfish weren't enough in the sea window however, additionally you wake to an amazing reflection of the sun onto the suite's wall in the morning. ( the suite has sun darkening window coverings, so the sun's reflection onto the water comes up through the sea window and virtually shimmers on the wall.

Tropical Suites continues as the number one hotel in Bocas with good reason. The staff is warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, and accommodating, and the location and facilities are the best in Bocas.The new Starfish Suite is just one more wonderful addition/option that makes TS the place we love to stay every time we are in Bocas.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tybeeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Tropical Suites for five nights. It's a lovely, clean and accommodating hotel in Bocas. The staff is just lovely. Very kind and helpful.

The rooms are spacious and airy. We had an ocean-view room which was very peaceful and serene. The mattresses are very comfortable, and the only thing I would suggest are softer pillows. Rather stiff and small. Aside from that, the place was wonderful, and just far enough off the main drag to not have too much noise in the evenings.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed on a top floor room facing the street for 5 days. The room was very spacious and with newer furnishings. Very comfortable bed. The A/C worked great. WIFI was also great. Front desk staff very helpful with setting up tours, etc. We spend a lot of time in our room because it rain most of the time we were there. Breakfast next door at Lili's cafe was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
184 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Suites Hotel

Address: First Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bocas Town
#3 Family Hotel in Bocas Town
Price Range: $98 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Suites is a modern oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Bocas del Toro. Resting on a tranquil Caribbean shoreline, the property is close to many over the water restaurants, shops and attractions. The hotel's comfortable and spacious suites feature a panoramic view of the Caribbean waters or​ ​the island's ​tropical ​landscape.​ Amenities include private balconies, air conditioning, 24 hour front desk and water access from​ ​the hotel's private dock​. Nearby attractions include beaches, snorkeling, dolphin watching, zip-lining, diving and surfing. Tours and activities may be arranged through the hotel's front reception. Guests may choose to include breakfast with their room rate. The property is a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from the Bocas Town island airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Bocas Town
Tropical Suites Hotel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing