We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocas Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bocas Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family of 6 adults spent 3 days in Bocas, booked through Ancon Expeditions. We went in November, and probably because it was still the rainy season, had the hotel to ourselves. We had rain, but it didn't get in the way of our fun at all. We had a great time! Hercilla, Orlando, Livingston, and Aaron were all wonderful. Orlando fixed us a very memorable Thanksgiving Dinner of red snapper. There's so much to see -- Bastimentos, Sal Creek, Bird Island -- and lots of snorkeling. Truly memorable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A great, little inn close to everything without being downtown. We were there for 4 days in the off-season. There was only one other couple staying there at any time during our stay. Hercilia (the manager), Orlando and Hermito (the chefs), Livingston, and his two sons (our tour guides) were all awesome. The service was great and the food was much better than expected. Originally, we were going to stay at the Hotel Bocas del Toro, but we didn't want to spend that much. I am sooo glad we chose Bocas Inn instead.

Room Tip: Definitely get one of the two ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoosieronthemoove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our first trip to Bocas which we booked through Ancon Expeditions in an online offer for 3 days/two nights. The hotel is a delightful building and, since there was only one other couple checked in, we had a fabulous room on the 2nd floor that opened directly to the balcony with a hammock outside our window. The views were idyllic, the weather magnificent. The voucher provided pick-up from the local water taxi station. Upon arrival, no one was there to meet us so we had to wait, phone again and wait a while longer. It did allow me time to explore the street and take photos but seemed a bit remiss of the staff when they knew the arrival time. The front garden is charming, the lower level deck is set up for restaurant/breakfast/drinks but due to slow season wasn't staffed the majority of the time. The room is fairly utilitarian with a double bed and a single one. Very small bathroom with a large toilet dispenser that is ill-placed causing you to hit various body parts when trying to get to the shower. However, these are minor complaints. I should also note that all the "downtown" hotels are on top of each other. Due to it being the slow season, we didn't suffer from the loud partying known to occur at various times -- so beware if it's peace & quiet you're seeking. Smoking is also prevalent all over the island and you should be cognizant of that as well if it bothers you. The breezes were great though so we weren't bothered by the smells of cigs all around. Orlando, the cook for our morning breakfasts, was terrific. He remembered our favorites on the second morning and cooked us made to order breakfasts along with helping us with our Spanish and entertaining us with his charming humor. Don't ask the manager for restaurant recommendations as we were directed to the most horrid place (Le Pirate) for a lousy meal which I'll review under restaurants. We did find the next evening a sublime place to eat (El Ultimo Refugio) -- highly recommended! I thought it insulting that when leaving and asking for a taxi to return us to the taxi stand we were told that our voucher only provided for one-way transport to the place. The cost is minimal; the hotel should realize that being told you're on your own to get back leaves a bitter taste and is poor practice when there are so many choices to be had on this small island. We will return to Bocas but believe we could find better accommodations and prices the next time. For additional comments, you can e-mail me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Bocas Inn is a beautiful property. It overlooks the water, with a "comidor", balcony, and rooms that are waterfront. The comidor is a wonderful place to eat, read, and relax.

Pros: Location. Staff. The staff were all super helpful and friendly. I don't remember the manager's name, but she was really wonderful. She gave my sister and I lots of advice about things to do around Bocas town. She gave us information on the Ancon tours, but she never pushed us, and was very honest about what they had versus more barebones experiences in town. When we opted for the cheaper in-town option, she wasn't upset at all. Breakfast. It was a great breakfast, buffet style some days depending on how many guests were there. There were scrambled eggs (or made to order if there was not a buffet), fruit (usually pineapple and melon), delicious bread, cheese, etc.

Cons: It's a little pricey for the area, if you are on a budget you could definitely do cheaper. The air conditioner did not work very well, we ended up opening the windows instead most nights.

We had the rooms towards the street, which was definitely less picturesque than the waterfront ones. However, we had wifi access in our rooms, and they didn't, so keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Not 5 star luxury but none the worse for that. 3 night stay. Terrific staff. Great setting on the edge of a tidal river - we got there by boat to their own private landing place. Excellent breakfast - none of that Continental style crap. 2 minutes away from the main drag where there are loads of shops and eating places. Plenty of excursions available. Bloody good laundry about 200 yards away to the right. You can smoke on the verandah outside.

Room Tip: The best ones are those overlooking the river from the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bocas Inn while in Bocas Del Toro for our honeymoon. The staff was friendly, the hotel was beatiful and we couldn't have felt more comfortable. We had one of the standard rooms, and the side door opened up to a balcony overlooking the water with some comfortable chairs and hammocks. The daughter of the manager also couldn't have been sweeter and we really enjoyed some competitive rounds of 'Go Fish' with her!! The food was also delicious, including breakfast every day and a great caribbean dinner!

The hotel is just a few yards from the town festivities, but is nice and quiet if you're just trying to relax. We highly recommend Bocas Inn to other visitors to Bocas Del Toro.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I were finally on a trip without kids after three years and we loved our stay in Bocas Inn.
We stayed at the hotel as part of a 4 day package tour we organized with Ancon Expedition and we loved the overall trip and Bocas Inn. Ancon organized 4 days packed of activities to maximize our experience, given the short time we had. We loved every minute of it, it was super-organized, safe, reliable and we saw awesome places and met wonderful local people.
The hotel has a very charming caribbean style with hardwood floors and great decks with beautiful views on the water. We had one of the room facing the upstairs deck and we would just walk out of our room to sit on lounge chairs overlooking the ocean and neighborhood Islands. The dinner was served at sunset with a beatiful view on the downstairs deck. The food was simple but very fresh and tasty, based on rice, vegetable and fish.
The staff is very helpful and committed to ensuring we had a good stay.
Ancon Expedition and the hotel organized our daily boat excursions and we also loved the trips they planned for us. Livingston, our boat captain, showed us beautiful sights, taking us to great lunch spots and sharing a lot about the local culture (he lives in the nearby Island in a local village and his primary language is Guari-Guari, a caribbean dialect based on English and Spanish).
Bocas Town has a very mixed offer, in town there are low-end (if not trashy) hostels next door to nicer establishment, and then there are exclusive (and expensive) resorts out of town on private beaches. As a result, the town can be noisy with early twnties surfers having fun and can be dirty/littered.
I think Bocas Inn caters squarely to the middle-upper end of the clientele. It is not a very pretentious hotel but it is very charming and comfortable.
The hotel is set at the outskirts of town and from the moment you cross the gate you walk in a nicely manicured tropical garden that immediately creates a way differnt ambience than the town.
The only cons, which I think is common to any hotel in town, is that it can be noisy at times. We were in Bocas during Argentinians Spring Break and the cheaper hotel next door was full of youngsters playing drinking games on their deck until late at night.
Nothing that a pair of earplugs or air conditioning fan set on high, can't cover though, so overall this didn't spoil the vacation. The good thing was that they were out or sleeping in the mornings or dinnertime, when we were around the hotel, so we enjoyed our quiet at the times important to us.

A great stay, I am looking forward to coming back sometimes soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sea_Man_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocas Inn

Property: Bocas Inn
Address: Bocas Town, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bocas Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bocas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bocas Hotel Bocas Town
Bocas Inn Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing