We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bocas Inn
Nearby Hotels
Gran Hotel Bahia(Bocas Town)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Jardines Vista del Mar Condos(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bocas Town(Bocas Town)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Isla Chica(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Olas(Bocas Town)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel la Terraza(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
$63
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
53
20
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
20
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspectacular view of the bayby water taxiview from the balconycomfortable stayconvenient locationwaterfrontporchhammockstownislandbocasdockpanamaparadise
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 79 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our first trip to Bocas which we booked through Ancon Expeditions in an online offer for 3 days/two nights. The hotel is a delightful building and, since there was only one other couple checked in, we had a fabulous room on the 2nd floor that opened directly to the balcony with a hammock outside our window. The views were idyllic, the weather magnificent. The voucher provided pick-up from the local water taxi station. Upon arrival, no one was there to meet us so we had to wait, phone again and wait a while longer. It did allow me time to explore the street and take photos but seemed a bit remiss of the staff when they knew the arrival time. The front garden is charming, the lower level deck is set up for restaurant/breakfast/drinks but due to slow season wasn't staffed the majority of the time. The room is fairly utilitarian with a double bed and a single one. Very small bathroom with a large toilet dispenser that is ill-placed causing you to hit various body parts when trying to get to the shower. However, these are minor complaints. I should also note that all the "downtown" hotels are on top of each other. Due to it being the slow season, we didn't suffer from the loud partying known to occur at various times -- so beware if it's peace & quiet you're seeking. Smoking is also prevalent all over the island and you should be cognizant of that as well if it bothers you. The breezes were great though so we weren't bothered by the smells of cigs all around. Orlando, the cook for our morning breakfasts, was terrific. He remembered our favorites on the second morning and cooked us made to order breakfasts along with helping us with our Spanish and entertaining us with his charming humor. Don't ask the manager for restaurant recommendations as we were directed to the most horrid place (Le Pirate) for a lousy meal which I'll review under restaurants. We did find the next evening a sublime place to eat (El Ultimo Refugio) -- highly recommended! I thought it insulting that when leaving and asking for a taxi to return us to the taxi stand we were told that our voucher only provided for one-way transport to the place. The cost is minimal; the hotel should realize that being told you're on your own to get back leaves a bitter taste and is poor practice when there are so many choices to be had on this small island. We will return to Bocas but believe we could find better accommodations and prices the next time. For additional comments, you can e-mail me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Bocas Inn is a beautiful property. It overlooks the water, with a "comidor", balcony, and rooms that are waterfront. The comidor is a wonderful place to eat, read, and relax.

Pros: Location. Staff. The staff were all super helpful and friendly. I don't remember the manager's name, but she was really wonderful. She gave my sister and I lots of advice about things to do around Bocas town. She gave us information on the Ancon tours, but she never pushed us, and was very honest about what they had versus more barebones experiences in town. When we opted for the cheaper in-town option, she wasn't upset at all. Breakfast. It was a great breakfast, buffet style some days depending on how many guests were there. There were scrambled eggs (or made to order if there was not a buffet), fruit (usually pineapple and melon), delicious bread, cheese, etc.

Cons: It's a little pricey for the area, if you are on a budget you could definitely do cheaper. The air conditioner did not work very well, we ended up opening the windows instead most nights.

We had the rooms towards the street, which was definitely less picturesque than the waterfront ones. However, we had wifi access in our rooms, and they didn't, so keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Not 5 star luxury but none the worse for that. 3 night stay. Terrific staff. Great setting on the edge of a tidal river - we got there by boat to their own private landing place. Excellent breakfast - none of that Continental style crap. 2 minutes away from the main drag where there are loads of shops and eating places. Plenty of excursions available. Bloody good laundry about 200 yards away to the right. You can smoke on the verandah outside.

Room Tip: The best ones are those overlooking the river from the upper floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bocas Inn while in Bocas Del Toro for our honeymoon. The staff was friendly, the hotel was beatiful and we couldn't have felt more comfortable. We had one of the standard rooms, and the side door opened up to a balcony overlooking the water with some comfortable chairs and hammocks. The daughter of the manager also couldn't have been sweeter and we really enjoyed some competitive rounds of 'Go Fish' with her!! The food was also delicious, including breakfast every day and a great caribbean dinner!

The hotel is just a few yards from the town festivities, but is nice and quiet if you're just trying to relax. We highly recommend Bocas Inn to other visitors to Bocas Del Toro.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My wife and I were finally on a trip without kids after three years and we loved our stay in Bocas Inn.
We stayed at the hotel as part of a 4 day package tour we organized with Ancon Expedition and we loved the overall trip and Bocas Inn. Ancon organized 4 days packed of activities to maximize our experience, given the short time we had. We loved every minute of it, it was super-organized, safe, reliable and we saw awesome places and met wonderful local people.
The hotel has a very charming caribbean style with hardwood floors and great decks with beautiful views on the water. We had one of the room facing the upstairs deck and we would just walk out of our room to sit on lounge chairs overlooking the ocean and neighborhood Islands. The dinner was served at sunset with a beatiful view on the downstairs deck. The food was simple but very fresh and tasty, based on rice, vegetable and fish.
The staff is very helpful and committed to ensuring we had a good stay.
Ancon Expedition and the hotel organized our daily boat excursions and we also loved the trips they planned for us. Livingston, our boat captain, showed us beautiful sights, taking us to great lunch spots and sharing a lot about the local culture (he lives in the nearby Island in a local village and his primary language is Guari-Guari, a caribbean dialect based on English and Spanish).
Bocas Town has a very mixed offer, in town there are low-end (if not trashy) hostels next door to nicer establishment, and then there are exclusive (and expensive) resorts out of town on private beaches. As a result, the town can be noisy with early twnties surfers having fun and can be dirty/littered.
I think Bocas Inn caters squarely to the middle-upper end of the clientele. It is not a very pretentious hotel but it is very charming and comfortable.
The hotel is set at the outskirts of town and from the moment you cross the gate you walk in a nicely manicured tropical garden that immediately creates a way differnt ambience than the town.
The only cons, which I think is common to any hotel in town, is that it can be noisy at times. We were in Bocas during Argentinians Spring Break and the cheaper hotel next door was full of youngsters playing drinking games on their deck until late at night.
Nothing that a pair of earplugs or air conditioning fan set on high, can't cover though, so overall this didn't spoil the vacation. The good thing was that they were out or sleeping in the mornings or dinnertime, when we were around the hotel, so we enjoyed our quiet at the times important to us.

A great stay, I am looking forward to coming back sometimes soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sea_Man_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews