We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“GREAT all things considered!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cristina
Save
You added Hotel Cristina to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
WhiteChocolate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT all things considered!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'm from the USA so I've stayed in all kinds of hotels in North America from Motel 6 & 8 to The Hilton. I've been living in Central America for 4 months. I was very happy to find this hotel and found the price of $30-40/night very reasonable. I was/am so tired of hostels!

My room was clean, the bed was a USA-style bed (ie, "real") and the bed & bath linens were clean, the A/C worked well and cooled the room to "cold" in under 2 hours in the evening. I had a private bathroom in my room. Finally! I also had a TV in my room that had The Discovery Channel in English with Spanish subtitles. Nice! The staff were very polite to me. There was a wardrobe/armoir where I could air out my clothes, a chair, and a desk. No alarm clock. I had to unplug the TV to plug in my cell phone charger.

While I was there, my bathroom did not have hot water as advertised and the TV's speakers were blown so I got a lot of static when the Discovery Channel had background music. However, it was so dang hot and so fun that I didn't mind the cold water or that speakers were blown.

Speaking of music, the village square has GREAT live, loud music from 10pm to 2am--at least on the weekends. But you can hear it from the hotel. If you're not planning to party till 2am and have issues sleeping through loud noise (like me) then I'd find a hotel that is much father away from the plaza. Otherwise, the hotel itself is quiet. But there's a grocery store across the street and a breakfast restaurant nextdoor and they get a lot of traffic early in the mornings. But in my experience, sleeping-in in Central America is impossible for Gringos.

By the way, there is a GREAT restaurant across the street that is owned by French Canadians. It's the BEST food I've had since I got to Central America. The prices were way cheaper than what I'd pay in the USA or Costa Rica for the SAME food and service. My server was a black/Caribbean, so he spoke English and Spanish. Me gusta. The owners are tri-lingual.

Room Tip: During the Holidays (Nov, Dec, & Jan) and the summer, make reservations in advance. Ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteCh0c0late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to pay a bit more just to have a more comfortable stay, but I was wrong. The receptionist were so rude and seemed like they did not want my business. When I got into the room, I found a dead cockroach in one of the corners, the bed sheets were stained. Horrible stay, place was filfthy, not worth it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyVedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bocas Town hotels

Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We got to Bocas del Toro without a reservation and after checking a few hotels that were booked finally came across this one. The price per night was very affordable, the hotel is nothing fancy and the bathroom smelled a little bit but for the price it was more than fine since we were just looking for a place to sleep. The location is good and there is a convenient little market on the bottom floor. Wifi was horrible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleyaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been there jan 5-7th, the hotel is just "ok" if you're just looking for a place to sleep.
During that time we didn't have hot water in the room (we had 2 rooms) so take in mind that it may happen.
The location is great, and it feels pretty safe - my friends left money in the room and nothing happened, the staff are there 24 hours and cameras are all over the building.
Bed and pillows - uncomfortable :/

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#7 of 12 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#11 of 22 in Isla Colon
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristina

Property: Hotel Cristina
Address: 3ra Isla Colon, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cristina with an excelent location to make you enjoy your visit. we offer rooms for couple, double o triple, rooms for four and five people. we offer you good service and low prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristina Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing